shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Sat Sep 21, 2019 9:14 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1963 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 62, 63, 64, 65, 66
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:58 am 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2018
Posts: 885
BNC is objectively a superior connector, as it is impedance controlled unlike RCA

dealwithit.jpg


Last edited by maxtherabbit on Wed Jul 31, 2019 1:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 1:01 am 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2018
Posts: 885
bobrocks95 wrote:
Guspaz wrote:
The people who prefer component over HDMI are probably going to be enthusiasts, who are more likely to want to connect to an extron crosspoint or PVM or some other device using BNC. At the same time, RCA bullet adapters can turn a BNC connector into an RCA connector easily enough.


If I'm not mistaken, I believe component output will provide a higher quality for GBI + OSSC setups, right? The 4:2:2 output lets GBI do some sort of interpolation trick?

GBIHF does a 2x nearest neighbor scale, repeating every pixel twice - when combined with a DAC that upsamples the chroma data using a zero order hold that results in a full 4:4:4 output

(because each luma sample is repeated, ensuring that for every unique luma sample there is a unique chroma sample pair)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 10:15 am 



Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 139
I have a 480p plasma and PAL gcvideo GCN running Swiss and I want to know if there’s a way to force Swiss to stretch 448p games like F-Zero GX to use the full 480p resolution on the TV. At the moment I get a letterboxed (16 lines above and below) and pillar boxed (desired) image with incorrect AR instead of just a pillar boxed one. I have been using my Extron 301 HD to adjust the AR but it’s a pain in the ass to keep doing every time I switch between games. Is that possible to do with Swiss?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 11:10 am 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 2043
Are the Wii and GameCube 60Hz or 59.94Hz consoles?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 1:36 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 370
strayan wrote:
Is that possible to do with Swiss?

It'd have to be a linear interpolation on the framebuffer to have any kind of reasonable compatibility. Are you sure you want that?
The aspect ratio should be correct regardless, unless it's presenting it as square pixels for some reason.
Lawfer wrote:
Are the Wii and GameCube 60Hz or 59.94Hz consoles?

480i/p is 27000000/858/525, or 60/1.001.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 2:05 pm 



Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 139
Extrems wrote:
strayan wrote:
Is that possible to do with Swiss?

The aspect ratio should be correct regardless, unless it's presenting it as square pixels for some reason.


This guy seems to be experiencing a similiar thing: https://www.gc-forever.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1242

F-Zero looks exactly like it does in his screenshot here (slightly squished, most obvious when displaying circles I find): http://i.imgur.com/vcRJVUu.png

Here's mine (the first photo is Waverace, I just wanted to see what would happen with a 640x480 game (it's still slightly off but I'm getting perfect 1:1 mapping which is obvious from the GCvideo overlay [CRISP!]):

https://imgur.com/a/KEPvNbf

Chain is gcvideo -> extron 301 HD -> DVI input on TV.


Last edited by strayan on Sun Sep 08, 2019 2:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 2:30 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 370
This is what it should look like on a standards-compliant display:


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 2:34 pm 



Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 139
Extrems wrote:
This is what it should look like on a standards-compliant display:


Yeah, I'm getting 10:7.

The Swiss GUI fills the total 480 lines as it should (if that's useful info).

GBA games launched with GBI are displayed at the correct 3:2 AR filling the total 480 lines at 3x zoom.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 4:57 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 370
More work is needed to get this working, but it would look like this:

Image
strayan wrote:
The Swiss GUI fills the total 480 lines as it should (if that's useful info).

The resolution is meaningless, but Swiss' GUI is designed with square pixels (not my decision).
strayan wrote:
GBA games launched with GBI are displayed at the correct 3:2 AR filling the total 480 lines at 3x zoom.

You mean with GBI set for a 3:2 DAR (which means 1:1 SAR in 480p)?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 10:10 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 2043
Extrems wrote:
strayan wrote:
Is that possible to do with Swiss?

It'd have to be a linear interpolation on the framebuffer to have any kind of reasonable compatibility. Are you sure you want that?
The aspect ratio should be correct regardless, unless it's presenting it as square pixels for some reason.
Lawfer wrote:
Are the Wii and GameCube 60Hz or 59.94Hz consoles?

480i/p is 27000000/858/525, or 60/1.001.


So it's not 59.94Hz? Just wondering because the OSSC reports 59.87Hz, the 301 at one area reports 60Hz, while in another area it reports 59.93Hz.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 10:24 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 2279
Location: Kentucky
Lawfer wrote:
Extrems wrote:
strayan wrote:
Is that possible to do with Swiss?

It'd have to be a linear interpolation on the framebuffer to have any kind of reasonable compatibility. Are you sure you want that?
The aspect ratio should be correct regardless, unless it's presenting it as square pixels for some reason.
Lawfer wrote:
Are the Wii and GameCube 60Hz or 59.94Hz consoles?

480i/p is 27000000/858/525, or 60/1.001.


So it's not 59.94Hz? Just wondering because the OSSC reports 59.87Hz, the 301 at one area reports 60Hz, while in another area it reports 59.93Hz.


Hint: try dividing 60 by 1.001 and see what you get.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 10:36 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 370
Lawfer wrote:
Just wondering because the OSSC reports 59.87Hz, the 301 at one area reports 60Hz, while in another area it reports 59.93Hz.

Those reports are approximations.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2019 12:33 am 



Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 139
Extrems wrote:
More work is needed to get this working, but it would look like this:

Image
strayan wrote:
The Swiss GUI fills the total 480 lines as it should (if that's useful info).

The resolution is meaningless, but Swiss' GUI is designed with square pixels (not my decision).
strayan wrote:
GBA games launched with GBI are displayed at the correct 3:2 AR filling the total 480 lines at 3x zoom.

You mean with GBI set for a 3:2 DAR (which means 1:1 SAR in 480p)?


Yes GBI set at 3:2.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1963 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 62, 63, 64, 65, 66

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DirkSwizzler, highzeth, Konsolkongen and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group