shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Wed Nov 21, 2018 2:44 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1755 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 55, 56, 57, 58, 59  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2018 3:15 am 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 2017
Posts: 1001
Location: Australia
Could use a 3.5mm video jack. It's only 4 wires for flashing tight? Nice easy neat hole..

Or even just leaving some ribbon floating inside the console so you just have to take the top off instead of a million screws to get to the bottom.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2018 4:07 am 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 764
citrus3000psi wrote:
Extrems wrote:
I wouldn't be so sure.


Clearly it’s possible more updates could happen. But they will be probably be few and far between (that’s assuming there will be some) and I don’t think it warrants a update cable hanging out the console .

Assuming this isn't already the case, would it warrant a Mini/Micro USB port on the board, so you'd only have to take off the console's shell and connect a cable to perform an update?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2018 5:14 am 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 2017
Posts: 1001
Location: Australia
Lol. Suggesting a pcb rework and adding a usb header for the 2-3 potential updates is not gonna happen.

It's a good bet it'll be flashed with a usb blaster which is a 10 pin plug anyway.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2018 4:23 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2017
Posts: 122
Syntax wrote:
Lol. Suggesting a pcb rework and adding a usb header for the 2-3 potential updates is not gonna happen.

It's a good bet it'll be flashed with a usb blaster which is a 10 pin plug anyway.


SPI which is 6 pin I believe
_________________
Visit Tinkerplunk for mods, repairs, and custom PCBs!
Twitter: @arithmaldor


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 7:50 am 



Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Posts: 118
Location: Austria
I also got a NTSC gamecube with the gcdual mod now directly from citrus300psi and I am really happy with it. the HDMI mod is really great. perfect Image Quality. Like the Image more than the rgb scart Image with my pal gamecube over the Framemeister.

This a more academic question because I do not see a real reason to go back to RGB scart, but in case I want to that, which RGB Scart cable would be needed for that matter? My old RGB Scart cable made for a Pal System is not working on the NTSC cube. Are there some RGB Scart cable out there that are working on a NTSC cube or this impossible and if I want a analog option I Need to go S-Video?

If I am not mistaking ntsc cubes only ouput S-Video and and only the pal models have RGB but maybe some smart People found ways to Bypass that problem or is that impossible?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 9:33 am 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Jul 2017
Posts: 308
If you have a GCDual installed then you can use an NTSC SNES CSYNC cable for RGB, assuming JP2 is shorted on the mod board.

I'm not sure what citrus3000psi's standard install is so he may need to chime in on this, but I would guess it's configured to work with the standard SNES cable (like the ones he recommends here).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 10:43 am 



Joined: 21 Aug 2016
Posts: 352
That's what I'm using. Works great and supports 480p :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 1:08 pm 



Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Posts: 118
Location: Austria
Ok good to know. Thanks a lot for the information :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 6:47 am 



Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 28
FBX wrote:
Current HDMI solutions for the Gamecube are incapable of this level of clarity on GBI playback of GBA games (or so I'm told anyway). Indeed when I tried the new driver on EON GCHD, it ended up looking completely smeared. Very interesting how it ends up improving the PQ on the OSSC, yet makes it worse on HDMI output.


Have there been any updates or new HDMI solutions that address this issue, anyone know?

Maybe https://insurrectionindustries.com/prod ... -preorder/ ???

Edit: ah it looks like it’s a gcvideo dvi issue.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 2:41 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Dec 2013
Posts: 564
Location: Indiana
strayan wrote:
FBX wrote:
Current HDMI solutions for the Gamecube are incapable of this level of clarity on GBI playback of GBA games (or so I'm told anyway). Indeed when I tried the new driver on EON GCHD, it ended up looking completely smeared. Very interesting how it ends up improving the PQ on the OSSC, yet makes it worse on HDMI output.


Have there been any updates or new HDMI solutions that address this issue, anyone know?

Maybe https://insurrectionindustries.com/prod ... -preorder/ ???

Edit: ah it looks like it’s a gcvideo dvi issue.



So, there are a few problems going on so I will try to explain them the best I can. The GBA has a strange resolution that doesn't play nice with 240p/480p. So to get the best image quality available GBI was written using some "off spec" resolutions ie 320p etc. GC-Video DVI was incompatible as it was only setup to use 240p/480p etc signals. Unseen said at one point he had no intentions of making these off spec resoltions. As Gamecube games worked and that was his goal.

Now with GCVideo 2.5 I'm not sure if this problem (If you want to call it that) will be addressed. The chroma issue will be fixed though.

I have not checked out the most recent GBI, but the smearness I'm guessing is from the upscaling the GBI software is using to be able to get GC-Video to play nice.


Now there is fork of gc-video that chriz2600 and I have worked on. This allows for a Direct YPbPr mode, that dumps the signal off before the DVI reblanking happens. So the custom GBI resolutions work (Assuming your TV will accept them) and the chroma bug isn't an issue in the direct mode, as the YPbPr to RGB conversion never happens.

But clearly, this will not work over HDMI, just any dual output supported GC-Video device.

https://github.com/citrus3000psi/gcvideo


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 3:16 pm 



Joined: 21 Aug 2016
Posts: 352
citrus3000psi wrote:
strayan wrote:
FBX wrote:
Current HDMI solutions for the Gamecube are incapable of this level of clarity on GBI playback of GBA games (or so I'm told anyway). Indeed when I tried the new driver on EON GCHD, it ended up looking completely smeared. Very interesting how it ends up improving the PQ on the OSSC, yet makes it worse on HDMI output.


Have there been any updates or new HDMI solutions that address this issue, anyone know?

Maybe https://insurrectionindustries.com/prod ... -preorder/ ???

Edit: ah it looks like it’s a gcvideo dvi issue.



So, there are a few problems going on so I will try to explain them the best I can. The GBA has a strange resolution that doesn't play nice with 240p/480p. So to get the best image quality available GBI was written using some "off spec" resolutions ie 320p etc. GC-Video DVI was incompatible as it was only setup to use 240p/480p etc signals. Unseen said at one point he had no intentions of making these off spec resoltions. As Gamecube games worked and that was his goal.

Now with GCVideo 2.5 I'm not sure if this problem (If you want to call it that) will be addressed. The chroma issue will be fixed though.

I have not checked out the most recent GBI, but the smearness I'm guessing is from the upscaling the GBI software is using to be able to get GC-Video to play nice.


Now there is fork of gc-video that chriz2600 and I have worked on. This allows for a Direct YPbPr mode, that dumps the signal off before the DVI reblanking happens. So the custom GBI resolutions work (Assuming your TV will accept them) and the chroma bug isn't an issue in the direct mode, as the YPbPr to RGB conversion never happens.

But clearly, this will not work over HDMI, just any dual output supported GC-Video device.

https://github.com/citrus3000psi/gcvideo


What's the status on that, by the way? Looking forward to updating my GCVideo when it's done :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 3:55 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 218
You think I made those resolutions just for GBI?

https://files.extremscorner.org/gamecube/screenshots/grab001917.png

That's captured with the pickiest capture device ever, the Blackmagic Intensity Shuttle.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 6:58 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Dec 2013
Posts: 564
Location: Indiana
thebigcheese wrote:

What's the status on that, by the way? Looking forward to updating my GCVideo when it's done :)


I'm somewhat waiting for unseen to release 2.5. I'm not sure what is in store for us. That's why I'm not pushing the fork on my git. As my fixes are bandaids. Not proper.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:19 am 



Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 28
citrus3000psi wrote:
strayan wrote:
FBX wrote:
Current HDMI solutions for the Gamecube are incapable of this level of clarity on GBI playback of GBA games (or so I'm told anyway). Indeed when I tried the new driver on EON GCHD, it ended up looking completely smeared. Very interesting how it ends up improving the PQ on the OSSC, yet makes it worse on HDMI output.


Have there been any updates or new HDMI solutions that address this issue, anyone know?

Maybe https://insurrectionindustries.com/prod ... -preorder/ ???

Edit: ah it looks like it’s a gcvideo dvi issue.



So, there are a few problems going on so I will try to explain them the best I can. The GBA has a strange resolution that doesn't play nice with 240p/480p. So to get the best image quality available GBI was written using some "off spec" resolutions ie 320p etc. GC-Video DVI was incompatible as it was only setup to use 240p/480p etc signals. Unseen said at one point he had no intentions of making these off spec resoltions. As Gamecube games worked and that was his goal.

Now with GCVideo 2.5 I'm not sure if this problem (If you want to call it that) will be addressed. The chroma issue will be fixed though.

I have not checked out the most recent GBI, but the smearness I'm guessing is from the upscaling the GBI software is using to be able to get GC-Video to play nice.


Now there is fork of gc-video that chriz2600 and I have worked on. This allows for a Direct YPbPr mode, that dumps the signal off before the DVI reblanking happens. So the custom GBI resolutions work (Assuming your TV will accept them) and the chroma bug isn't an issue in the direct mode, as the YPbPr to RGB conversion never happens.

But clearly, this will not work over HDMI, just any dual output supported GC-Video device.

https://github.com/citrus3000psi/gcvideo


Cool thanks for such a comprehensive answer. Does the chroma issue affect any regular gamecube games or just gba?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:24 am 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 218
It affects everything.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:41 am 



Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 28
Extrems wrote:
It affects everything.


Unacceptable! :P


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 4:18 am 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 2170
Location: Kentucky
As I understand it the chroma "issue" is just that GCVideo converts YCbCr to RGB, rather than your display doing it? I get that it can mess with some custom resolution stuff, but is it really that big of a deal for Gamecube games?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 4:56 am 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 218
The real issue is the timing bug in said conversion.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:17 am 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 2170
Location: Kentucky
Ah, did not know there was a bug in the conversion. That's definitely an issue, sorry.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:27 am 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 218
Er, it was pinpointed in the last page and confirmed by Unseen.

See https://www.gc-forever.com/wiki/index.php?title=Game_Boy_Interface/High-Fidelity_Edition#Video_quality for a clearer comparison (these are thumbnails).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 12:48 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Dec 2013
Posts: 564
Location: Indiana
Just to be clear, on the GCDual when using YPbPr works fine (no chroma bug). The YCbCr to RGB conversion happens at the very end the datapipe and YCbCr is dumped out before the conversion.


I just adapted GC-Video lite (doesn't have the chroma bug) YUV->RGB conversion to GC-Video DVI. And it compiled I will test later on real hardware. One negative to this is that limited RGB range is no longer an option. So I'm trying to add that back in. I'm very much an amateur at VHDL.


Last edited by citrus3000psi on Fri Sep 14, 2018 3:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 3:50 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 2170
Location: Kentucky
Extrems wrote:
Er, it was pinpointed in the last page and confirmed by Unseen.

See https://www.gc-forever.com/wiki/index.php?title=Game_Boy_Interface/High-Fidelity_Edition#Video_quality for a clearer comparison (these are thumbnails).


I had forgotten about that- last page, which I should have checked, but also back in June to be fair.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:53 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 May 2014
Posts: 433
Since I can't seem to find enough time to finish 2.5 any time soon, I've uploaded 2.4b with a single change: The 1-pixel-shift of the green color channel is fixed.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 7:11 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 218
Thank you.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 7:21 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 1691
Unseen wrote:
The 1-pixel-shift of the green color channel is fixed.


Never heard of this issue, what was it?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 7:31 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 2170
Location: Kentucky
Lawfer wrote:
Unseen wrote:
The 1-pixel-shift of the green color channel is fixed.


Never heard of this issue, what was it?


https://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?p=1323030#p1323030
Or
https://www.gc-forever.com/wiki/index.php?title=Game_Boy_Interface/High-Fidelity_Edition#Video_quality

As Extrems already pointed out to me.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 9:07 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2018
Posts: 299
Unseen wrote:
Since I can't seem to find enough time to finish 2.5 any time soon, I've uploaded 2.4b with a single change: The 1-pixel-shift of the green color channel is fixed.

Outstanding


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 3:48 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 218
Updated comparisons with new firmware simulation.

If you have a RGB 4:4:4 capture device, you can now bypass the interpolation in GBIHF by dropping every other column.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:31 am 


User avatar

Joined: 11 Dec 2016
Posts: 26
Location: Ontario, Canada
So... I screwed up. I'd done my own OSSC build and NESRGB installation, so I thought I'd be up to the task of building my own GCMax. I had the three copies of the PCB from OSHPark, so I had three tries at building it... all of which ended in failure. At this point I've just got to admit defeat. I do still have the 3D-printed cases/plugs and remaining PCI slots to cannibalize for pins, so if anyone more experienced wants to take a shot at this, I could send them over for the cost of shipping.

On that note, is there anyone building GCMax adapters for sale? It still seems to be the only non-invasive option to get a quality analog signal without buying official cables.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:20 pm 



Joined: 26 Sep 2017
Posts: 3
Has anyone manage to build it in Project Navigator? Not sure how to define targetconsole and firmware in it. Trying to update a cube with a xc3s200a chip, but it seems to have a different pinout than the shurikens or pluto.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1755 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 55, 56, 57, 58, 59  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cr4zymanz0r, Sargon, thetallguy24 and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group