shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Wed Jan 20, 2021 10:17 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5376 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, 177, 178 ... 180  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2020 2:17 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Jan 2005
Posts: 1109
Location: Finland
superg wrote:
MJR wrote:
C128D goes into gscartw with SCART cable, which I assume has to be S-video.
From the gscartw I use the 2nd output with SCART<>RCA connector in output mode, and I use the yellow connector (in tv front). This gives grey image. Black connector/audio works ok as expected.

So that's pretty much explains it. You're sending S-Video signal on input but trying to get composite signal on output. The switch doesn't transcode the signal, I mentioned this before - no conversions between composite<->component<->s-video<->RGBS. In order to get composite signal working on your TV, you have to supply composite signal on input.


Ahh, ok, I'm sorry, I must have been confused by all this. I don't have a connector for C64/c128D that would output composite signal. I don't even know if such things exist. But that's fine, I can play c64/c128 on aerial cable anyway.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2020 2:26 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 1466
Location: US, MI
MJR wrote:
Ahh, ok, I'm sorry, I must have been confused by all this. I don't have a connector for C64/c128D that would output composite signal. I don't even know if such things exist. But that's fine, I can play c64/c128 on aerial cable anyway.

I guess something like this:
https://www.8bitclassics.com/product/c64-svideo/
and this:
https://www.amazon.com/Female-Adapter-C ... ics&sr=1-1
will work for you.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2020 4:42 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 1466
Location: US, MI
mcole24 wrote:
One possibility that I have thought about was getting a second gcompsw. I can connect composite systems to the second gcompsw, run that composite output through the Koryuu transcoder, and then connect that to the first gcompsw. However, I am wondering if that might not cause the same issue I'm experiencing with the OSSC. In other words, if the Koryuu is always on, would that cause the first gcompsw to think it's always getting an input and cause issues switching?

You're right, if you go with the second gcompsw and connect Koryuu transcoder to one of it's inputs, it will instantly lock on it's sync so that won't solve the problem.
Unfortunately I don't see a solution to this as is. I googled a bit about Koryuu, seems like a nice open source project, maybe you can contact the author so he can try to change the firmware so it doesn't output sync if nothing is connected. Of course if that is even possible, I'm not familiar with their hardware design.
The potential other solution would be to mod your composite consoles so they output component or RGBS but that would be a big task.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2020 5:53 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Jan 2005
Posts: 1109
Location: Finland
superg wrote:
MJR wrote:
Ahh, ok, I'm sorry, I must have been confused by all this. I don't have a connector for C64/c128D that would output composite signal. I don't even know if such things exist. But that's fine, I can play c64/c128 on aerial cable anyway.

I guess something like this:
https://www.8bitclassics.com/product/c64-svideo/
and this:
https://www.amazon.com/Female-Adapter-C ... ics&sr=1-1
will work for you.


Thank you, ordered :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2020 6:46 pm 



Joined: 01 Mar 2018
Posts: 614
superg wrote:
mcole24 wrote:
One possibility that I have thought about was getting a second gcompsw. I can connect composite systems to the second gcompsw, run that composite output through the Koryuu transcoder, and then connect that to the first gcompsw. However, I am wondering if that might not cause the same issue I'm experiencing with the OSSC. In other words, if the Koryuu is always on, would that cause the first gcompsw to think it's always getting an input and cause issues switching?

You're right, if you go with the second gcompsw and connect Koryuu transcoder to one of it's inputs, it will instantly lock on it's sync so that won't solve the problem.
Unfortunately I don't see a solution to this as is. I googled a bit about Koryuu, seems like a nice open source project, maybe you can contact the author so he can try to change the firmware so it doesn't output sync if nothing is connected. Of course if that is even possible, I'm not familiar with their hardware design.
The potential other solution would be to mod your composite consoles so they output component or RGBS but that would be a big task.


It's pretty much the same with any always outputting device, no? Don't the Retrotink devices suffer from this as well? But we had a discussion in the Koryuu thread about this fix. The designer released a new firmware, but upgrading isn't as easy as with the OSSC! Check it out here:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=65602&start=90


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2020 7:05 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 1466
Location: US, MI
ldeveraux wrote:
It's pretty much the same with any always outputting device, no? Don't the Retrotink devices suffer from this as well? But we had a discussion in the Koryuu thread about this fix. The designer released a new firmware, but upgrading isn't as easy as with the OSSC! Check it out here:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=65602&start=90

RetroTink is fine, it's just keeps sync line high when it's off and that shows artifacts when nothing is turned on, but this is minor.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 6:51 pm 



Joined: 01 Sep 2020
Posts: 2
superg wrote:
First time I hear this, what exactly is misaligned? All panels are precisely laser cut. Sometimes you have to fiddle with the SCART connectors a bit to get all of them inside the plexi openings. I have some spare panels but they are all the same. If you bent something installing the bumper case maybe you didn't do it right.


The openings are the correct size, but getting one set of openings inside leaves the other set slightly off. Should I try loosening the bolts holding in the SCART connectors, then?

https://photos.app.goo.gl/cZWvaeXzvFxxPbCR7

https://photos.app.goo.gl/gHHxT23UiUUTvzRx9


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 10:10 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 1466
Location: US, MI
Bonus Lizard wrote:
superg wrote:
First time I hear this, what exactly is misaligned? All panels are precisely laser cut. Sometimes you have to fiddle with the SCART connectors a bit to get all of them inside the plexi openings. I have some spare panels but they are all the same. If you bent something installing the bumper case maybe you didn't do it right.


The openings are the correct size, but getting one set of openings inside leaves the other set slightly off. Should I try loosening the bolts holding in the SCART connectors, then?

https://photos.app.goo.gl/cZWvaeXzvFxxPbCR7

https://photos.app.goo.gl/gHHxT23UiUUTvzRx9

That is generally easy to overcome by lining them one by one starting from the connector which doesn't fit.
You can either use your fingers to force the connector in place or insert any SCART cable into the connector and use it as leverage - that will make it easier.
Loosening the screws is not required but might help a bit, when I assemble cases here I first tighten the screws and put the top panel last.
Try whichever works for you.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2020 9:22 am 



Joined: 29 Jul 2020
Posts: 1
So I've been thinking about adding my Genesis and Ps1 to my Gcomp via composite despite using them already with RGB through my Gscart, for those few games where I prefer dithering to be blurred. Will I need a separate composite male2male cable on the 2nd output of my Gcomp, or can I output composite through the Component Male2Male cable I already have in output1?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Sat Sep 12, 2020 6:01 pm 



Joined: 05 Mar 2017
Posts: 446
Location: Woodinville, WA
Is there a recommended short SCART cable to connect switches? I'd ask Retro Access to make one, but the earliest that will be is likely ~December.

The KabelDirekt ones from Amazon have worked well for me, but the shortest one they have is 6ft - I'd prefer something closer to 1ft.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Sat Sep 12, 2020 6:33 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 1466
Location: US, MI
strygo wrote:
Is there a recommended short SCART cable to connect switches? I'd ask Retro Access to make one, but the earliest that will be is likely ~December.

The KabelDirekt ones from Amazon have worked well for me, but the shortest one they have is 6ft - I'd prefer something closer to 1ft.

Mine is 1ft from retro access. KabelDirekt is not bad but yeah, 6ft.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Sat Sep 12, 2020 9:10 pm 



Joined: 01 Mar 2018
Posts: 614
superg wrote:
strygo wrote:
Is there a recommended short SCART cable to connect switches? I'd ask Retro Access to make one, but the earliest that will be is likely ~December.

The KabelDirekt ones from Amazon have worked well for me, but the shortest one they have is 6ft - I'd prefer something closer to 1ft.

Mine is 1ft from retro access. KabelDirekt is not bad but yeah, 6ft.


Haven't you (maybe it was someone else? ) tested those kabeldirect 6 footers and they were fine? Once you get over 6ft it's lossy, but this was fine I thought


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Sat Sep 12, 2020 9:38 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 1466
Location: US, MI
ldeveraux wrote:
Haven't you (maybe it was someone else? ) tested those kabeldirect 6 footers and they were fine? Once you get over 6ft it's lossy, but this was fine I thought

I have one here and I am using it for switch testing, but I didn't really compare the quality. Somebody told me that longer run of KabelDirect is problematic but that was a long time ago.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2020 1:52 am 



Joined: 01 Mar 2018
Posts: 614
superg wrote:
ldeveraux wrote:
Haven't you (maybe it was someone else? ) tested those kabeldirect 6 footers and they were fine? Once you get over 6ft it's lossy, but this was fine I thought

I have one here and I am using it for switch testing, but I didn't really compare the quality. Somebody told me that longer run of KabelDirect is problematic but that was a long time ago.
I remember the same, I feel like it was Fudoh or someone else reputable.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2020 4:29 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 1466
Location: US, MI
Demonboyjr wrote:
So I've been thinking about adding my Genesis and Ps1 to my Gcomp via composite despite using them already with RGB through my Gscart, for those few games where I prefer dithering to be blurred. Will I need a separate composite male2male cable on the 2nd output of my Gcomp, or can I output composite through the Component Male2Male cable I already have in output1?

That will physically go through yellow output RCA, if your component cable have an additional yellow plug, you can use that. But that also depends on how your audio is routed.
In any case, the cleaner setup would be to get another composite + stereo audio RCA male to male cable.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2020 4:30 pm 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 1904
ldeveraux wrote:
superg wrote:
ldeveraux wrote:
Haven't you (maybe it was someone else? ) tested those kabeldirect 6 footers and they were fine? Once you get over 6ft it's lossy, but this was fine I thought

I have one here and I am using it for switch testing, but I didn't really compare the quality. Somebody told me that longer run of KabelDirect is problematic but that was a long time ago.
I remember the same, I feel like it was Fudoh or someone else reputable.

Prior to installing a DCHDMI in my Dreamcast, I used a 10ft Kabeldirekt SCART cable (They were about half the price of the 6ft ones at the time) to connecto my Toro to my OSSC, and I didn't notice any signal loss; though I suppose your mileage may vary.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2020 1:19 am 


User avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2007
Posts: 5800
Location: Where the fish lives, WV
So, is it still looking like the composite switch will be back in stock late September or early October? Any delays on the horizon, due to world events?
_________________
My Collection: http://www.rfgeneration.com/cgi-bin/col ... Collection


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2020 1:31 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 1466
Location: US, MI
evil_ash_xero wrote:
So, is it still looking like the composite switch will be back in stock late September or early October? Any delays on the horizon, due to world events?

So far everything is on track, it's being manufactured.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2020 1:36 am 


User avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2007
Posts: 5800
Location: Where the fish lives, WV
superg wrote:
evil_ash_xero wrote:
So, is it still looking like the composite switch will be back in stock late September or early October? Any delays on the horizon, due to world events?

So far everything is on track, it's being manufactured.


Awesome. Thanks for the update.
_________________
My Collection: http://www.rfgeneration.com/cgi-bin/col ... Collection


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2020 11:03 am 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Jan 2005
Posts: 1109
Location: Finland
superg wrote:
MJR wrote:
Ahh, ok, I'm sorry, I must have been confused by all this. I don't have a connector for C64/c128D that would output composite signal. I don't even know if such things exist. But that's fine, I can play c64/c128 on aerial cable anyway.

I guess something like this:
https://www.8bitclassics.com/product/c64-svideo/
and this:
https://www.amazon.com/Female-Adapter-C ... ics&sr=1-1
will work for you.


I finally received both, and tried them. I still was not able to get the signal through gscartw, but the funny thing was that there was no need to. What I did instead was that I took the C64>RCA cable and plugged it straight onto my TV's RCA ports, and voila, much better image. And since it's on different AV channel anyway, there was no need to use gscartw on that purpose. I now have one additional free slot on my gscartw in the case I wish to plug my N64 (or some other machine) in :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2020 6:31 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 1466
Location: US, MI
MJR wrote:
I finally received both, and tried them. I still was not able to get the signal through gscartw, but the funny thing was that there was no need to. What I did instead was that I took the C64>RCA cable and plugged it straight onto my TV's RCA ports, and voila, much better image. And since it's on different AV channel anyway, there was no need to use gscartw on that purpose. I now have one additional free slot on my gscartw in the case I wish to plug my N64 (or some other machine) in :)

Hmm, there is no way to test all possible RCA SCART adapters for sure but usually such a configuration works. Glad you got at least something that works.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2020 1:52 am 



Joined: 13 Dec 2015
Posts: 158
Will the next batch of gscartsw go back to the barrel power plug?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2020 12:45 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 1466
Location: US, MI
mario64 wrote:
Will the next batch of gscartsw go back to the barrel power plug?

gscartsw switches from this batch will have reinforced usb connectors with through hole mount points. In addition to that, there is a much better audio overvoltage protection.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2020 2:06 pm 



Joined: 13 Dec 2015
Posts: 158
superg wrote:
mario64 wrote:
Will the next batch of gscartsw go back to the barrel power plug?

gscartsw switches from this batch will have reinforced usb connectors with through hole mount points. In addition to that, there is a much better audio overvoltage protection.

Excellent thank you!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 2:54 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 1466
Location: US, MI
Status update: Manufacturer is having a holiday until October 11th, the big batch will be shipped to me on October 12th so hopefully I will start shipping all orders on October 15-20.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 2:58 pm 



Joined: 13 Dec 2015
Posts: 158
superg wrote:
Status update: Manufacturer is having a holiday until October 11th, the big batch will be shipped to me on October 12th so hopefully I will start shipping all orders on October 15-20.

Would an order placed today make it in this batch?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 3:02 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 1466
Location: US, MI
mario64 wrote:
superg wrote:
Status update: Manufacturer is having a holiday until October 11th, the big batch will be shipped to me on October 12th so hopefully I will start shipping all orders on October 15-20.

Would an order placed today make it in this batch?

Yes.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 3:06 pm 



Joined: 13 Dec 2015
Posts: 158
superg wrote:
mario64 wrote:
superg wrote:
Status update: Manufacturer is having a holiday until October 11th, the big batch will be shipped to me on October 12th so hopefully I will start shipping all orders on October 15-20.

Would an order placed today make it in this batch?

Yes.
Ordered :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thread
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2020 2:01 am 



Joined: 14 Oct 2020
Posts: 3
Hi, can the gscartsw still be order as of today 10/15/2020 for the next batch?

Thank you.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gscartsw / gscartsw_lite / gcompsw switches support thre
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2020 8:44 am 


User avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2007
Posts: 5800
Location: Where the fish lives, WV
Have the component switches arrived? It still says you're out of stock, on your page.
_________________
My Collection: http://www.rfgeneration.com/cgi-bin/col ... Collection


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5376 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, 177, 178 ... 180  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group