shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Mon Apr 19, 2021 6:43 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 613 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 17, 18, 19, 20, 21  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2020 6:40 pm 



Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Posts: 164
Syntax is absolutely correct. There’s this guy on Ebay called fidde_se. He makes custom PC Engine/Turbo Grafx RGB Scart cables. He made me two different ones. One for my single Sony 20L4E PVM and one for my other PVM (also 20L4E) and OSSC combo. That second has a switch for switching between Sync on Composite and Composite Sync (CSYNC). Absolutely wonderful cables. See the link below.

https://www.ebay.com/sch//i.html?_nkw=& ... bcfffe0343


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2020 7:09 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 2017
Posts: 1494
Location: Australia
Thats pretty cool, I semi expected it to use a sync stripper on composite video but it looks like it takes csync straight from the ext port.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2020 8:21 am 



Joined: 23 Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Location: Netherlands
Thanks for all the info in this topic! After reading all the posts I bought a MX4000 (sw 3.1) in good condition and after a fews days of tweaking I'm really happy with the result as you can see:

Image

First when I hooked up the Dreamcast the image was a little bit washed out with RGB. I've basically read and viewed all the topics and videos on the internet about the MX.
Eventually I cranked both colour and brightness to max in service mode and in normal picture mode adjusted contrast to 62 and brilliance down to 12.

When I finally hooked up the Sega Saturn I was blown away. Really crisp 240P image:

Image

I'm using a RGB scart cable from thefoo.83 on Ebay.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2020 10:48 pm 



Joined: 15 Feb 2020
Posts: 2
Hello, can anyone help with my MX 4000. I can access to Menu. I have Beo 4 remote. When i press menu it switch small lcd screen from tv to light. On the screen of MX 4000 i see the setup, but it will no enter. I think that the only button to work on remote is the 3 row of button (tv, light, sat, vtape...) list, menu exit, volume up down. It's seem that the go button and around doesn't respond to the command. I heard of some Hotel mode and some jumper maybe inside the MX 4000. Any idea how to solve that?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2020 8:30 pm 



Joined: 15 Feb 2020
Posts: 2
I buy another remote beo4, now i have some more function but i don't have in the menu pictures (contrast, brightness...) and sound options, only program list and setup. I read somewhere since it's a old model i need to buy another remote beolink 1000. Will try this.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2020 9:04 pm 



Joined: 06 Mar 2020
Posts: 2
Hello there,

Lurked a long time and bought a MX8000 yesterday. The picture quality is amazing. My Mister FPGA is awesome on this screen. But my PS2 is giving me troubles. Maybe you can help me?

I am using scart. Settings in PS2 firmware is display set to Full (or 4:3 with same result). The screen is only used for the upper 2/3 part of the screen. The rest is a black border. When I open the menu I can see the picture fill the complete screen. When closing the menu it goes back to 2/3.

Regards,
muppets4


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2020 8:50 am 



Joined: 04 Sep 2010
Posts: 1856
Location: Denmark
Sounds like your PS2 SCART connection cable has voltage connected to the pin that tells the TV it is receiving a 16:9 signal. You should be able to override it using an option on the remote. Can’t remember which button. Try googling it. Either that or fix the cable, or get a better one as I think this is a problem with cheap cables.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2020 11:12 am 



Joined: 04 Nov 2015
Posts: 6
Lalalala


Last edited by unehed on Mon Mar 30, 2020 10:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2020 3:19 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 16 May 2005
Posts: 184
Location: London England
muppets4 wrote:
Hello there,

Lurked a long time and bought a MX8000 yesterday. The picture quality is amazing. My Mister FPGA is awesome on this screen. But my PS2 is giving me troubles. Maybe you can help me?

I am using scart. Settings in PS2 firmware is display set to Full (or 4:3 with same result). The screen is only used for the upper 2/3 part of the screen. The rest is a black border. When I open the menu I can see the picture fill the complete screen. When closing the menu it goes back to 2/3.

Regards,
muppets4


I have the similar thing using a US SNES on my MX4200, you need to change format to 2 on the remote, you have two options 1 and 2 one is 4:3, the other 16:9.

Alternatively you disconnect the cable on pin 8 of your Scart lead.
_________________
Fight war not wars


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2020 4:45 pm 



Joined: 06 Mar 2020
Posts: 2
thegreathopper wrote:
muppets4 wrote:
Hello there,

Lurked a long time and bought a MX8000 yesterday. The picture quality is amazing. My Mister FPGA is awesome on this screen. But my PS2 is giving me troubles. Maybe you can help me?

I am using scart. Settings in PS2 firmware is display set to Full (or 4:3 with same result). The screen is only used for the upper 2/3 part of the screen. The rest is a black border. When I open the menu I can see the picture fill the complete screen. When closing the menu it goes back to 2/3.

Regards,
muppets4


I have the similar thing using a US SNES on my MX4200, you need to change format to 2 on the remote, you have two options 1 and 2 one is 4:3, the other 16:9.

Alternatively you disconnect the cable on pin 8 of your Scart lead.


Thanks. I only had a non official remote and the settings for that were missing. I ordered an original one. It arrived, but I had not time to fiddle with it yet.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2020 1:19 pm 



Joined: 09 Sep 2013
Posts: 5
Location: Germany
Does anyone have a Beovision 1 or can tell me more about it's retro gaming capabilities because I can barely find any information on the internet about it. Even here, most people seem to talk about the MX series.

The thing is, someone here (about 10 minutes with the car) is selling a Beovision 1 with the Beo4 remote control for around 85€. I know they don't seem to be as good as Sony PVMs/BVMs but those go for 200€ (for the small models) around here usually. And I don't want to spend that kind of money for an old CRT (not for anything smaller than 14" anyway). I would play PS1/2 and SFC with it and wonder if it's worth it or is this model missing something that the MX ones have/are better at?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2020 9:42 pm 



Joined: 04 Sep 2010
Posts: 1856
Location: Denmark
I have both the MX and 1. They are pretty much the same TV in different form factors. Work well for retro gaming.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2020 1:10 pm 



Joined: 20 Sep 2008
Posts: 100
Location: UK
I recently bought an MX7000, it's an old one - Software 2.0. I wanted to be able to view the consoles image whilst tweaking the geometry settings. After going through this mega helpful thread and viewing videos by futurematt5 too (thanks for those!) I found the answer regarding setting AV2 to decoder. Except the menus on my MX7000 were different and seems to be missing stuff (due to the older software I guess). I remembered I had the actual printed manual though, so I actually RTFM and here's how I set TV to decoder, just in case someone else comes along trying to figure it out.

Plug console into AV2 and switch it on.
On the remote (beo4 - I don't think it'll make a difference if it's a 1000 though), press...
- TV (if not already on, this will switch the TV on and put it on the TV input)
- Menu
Scroll down to...
- Setup
Then use the right arrows to go down to...
-AV2
Using the Up/Down arrows to select..
- Decoder
- Press GO - this saves this setting

That much pretty much matched what I'd read elsewhere, except I didn't have a Sockets section in the Menu like I'd read.

- Then on the remote, keep pressing List until you get to V.Setup and press GO.
- My first item in the V.Setup options is Tune, so I pressed GO again.
- Press the Green button, this will switch Decoder (Dec on the screen) to ON and will now display the console image :-)
- Keep pressing List, looking at the remote for it to say Store, then press GO.
- It prompts what channel, I was already on CH1 (see earlier) so I left it on this.
- I think at this stage it prompted me to name it too, I went with the name AV2 which made sense.
- Press Go (twice I think it was) to save this and then Exit.

I hope that helps someone else :-)

Out of curiosity - I would like to try the 480i conversion to non-interlaced mode that I saw on some videos, but I'm unsure if Software 2.0 supports it as it's missing the Picture menu that it looks like you have to be in before you press Shift (whilst pointing the remote away from the screen) and then 7 (remote pointing back at the screen). Has anyone got any tips on experimenting with this?

ta
Pete
_________________
http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 3:09 am 



Joined: 09 Jan 2019
Posts: 23
I got an MX6000 in mint condition BUT it comes with S.W 2.0! apparently with the BEO4 I cannot config any picture settings! I want just play with contrast and blrightness , still I do not know how or where those option are accessible. On menu I have only two option: "program list" and "setup" there is not a "picture" as reported on MX6000 manual. Have you any advice?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 7:24 am 



Joined: 20 Sep 2008
Posts: 100
Location: UK
Ignore that this video says mx7000 and software 1.1, but this is the shortest video to answer your question


https://youtu.be/9xWQamCN7ow

There’s other tutorials where a switch is the installed to make getting to the menu easier. Look at faginrs500 videos
_________________
http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 9:12 am 



Joined: 20 Sep 2008
Posts: 100
Location: UK
Sorry, misread your question. I think you need to keep pressing LIST to get to V.SETUP, and then you’ll get the options you want.

Note to self - don’t reply when just woken up!
_________________
http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 12:12 pm 



Joined: 09 Jan 2019
Posts: 23
I still need some clarifications about official remote controller, I received my tvset with BEO4 but on some videos the same tv appear to have another remote controller without the tiny lcd screen I think its a beo link1000, may I know if BEO4 is ok for my tv? (MX6000 28" S.W 2.0)?


You can see exactly my issue by looking at this video, basically I have the tv on the right side and as you can see there isn't the options "picture" on screen menu: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S9LYa1UY4zk


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 1:25 pm 



Joined: 20 Sep 2008
Posts: 100
Location: UK
On the beo4, keep pressing the LIST button until on the LCD it says V.SETUP, then press GO (I think - this is from memory as I don’t have my beo4 with me right now). Then you get the option on the TV screen to change some picture options.

If that doesn’t work, I’ll find my manual again and confirm.

Pete
_________________
http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2020 11:18 pm 



Joined: 02 Sep 2020
Posts: 1
Hello guys! Im lucky to have MX 4002 with new SW revision, so I can easy get access to adjustments and menu.
The bad thing was that I didnt notice that the right speaker of my TV is not working. Its only left speaker is working, so I have a mono ahahaha. too bad.
I bought the special cable RCA-B&O link, which take stereo audio signal from the TV , so I can connect the external active speakers directly through rca audio plugs, But I didnt tested this yet, cuz I still dont have speaker system.

the tv picture is great. I use 2 consoles - RGB modded AV famicom and Sega Megadrive (japanese version) console.
and as with many of you guys, I have the same problem with picture geometry. I was trying to correct it as max as I could, but it still not perfect, and this dont work in AV mode. Even if I set console to SCART2 (av2 mode) and set it as decoder, then turn decoder to ON, then go menu- 1+1+OK, the game picture turns BLACK, so I still dont see horizontal and vertical edges((( too bad.
Another problem is that different games on AV famicom have different horizontal resolution I guess. for example I used for correction the image ROCKMAN5 game. And after that I turned On "castlevania 3", and that game was moved to the left already!!! so i should correct it again for the another game. As you understand sega megadrive games have the same thing - it should be corrected anyway again and again. I think the only one thing is just to NOTE all these data on the shit, so its will be easier to restore digits on my menu adjustments (such as HAM/VAM/VsH etc and other.

can you please tell me - why other TVs such as sony trinitrons dont need to be corrected each time? I guess its corrected automatically with the image resolution.? isnt it?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2020 12:02 pm 



Joined: 29 Jul 2017
Posts: 13
Is the mx 3500 a good terminal ? I can choose between an mx 5500 and a 3500, still need to see them "live", I'd rather go for the smaller version if it's decent enough.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2020 11:22 pm 



Joined: 17 Sep 2018
Posts: 52
Hi Guys,

I have just recently made a mini review and setup guide video with a load of info on the MX8000...

Check it out!

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2020 9:51 pm 



Joined: 15 Nov 2020
Posts: 1
Hi!

I have some questions. I got two B&W Mx4000
- MX4000 SW 4.5
- MX4000 SW 4.7

- Is there any real improvement between these 2 versions ?

My 4.7 has the second port defect I think... When I connect a composite signal, I have only the audio. When a connect RGB signal, it's all black with some white horizontal lignes.
- Is it a common issue with a caps or a dry joint ?

- Both have a problem with the geometry. But I can't change the settings when the mode is RGB., the menu disappears. Lots of people are complaining about this. Is there any solution ?

I noticed a difference between both TV.
When connecting my switchless Super Famicom (switched 50Hz or 60Hz, same problem) to the TV 4.5 with a composite video cable, the image is black and white.
With the TV 4.7, the image is colored.
What is the problem ? The TV 4.5 works fine with my PAL Gamecube with composite signal but not with my SFC in 50Hz.

Thank you


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2020 11:27 am 



Joined: 23 Oct 2014
Posts: 23
So I am looking to add a Subwoofer to my MX8000 setup.

Has anyone tried with a non-B&O woofer before?
I assumed I would only need a DIN5 to phono adapter for the physical connection.
In the manual it states then to choose the speaker setup via Beo4 remote:
Press List until 'Speaker' is displayed, select a speaker setup (1-3) and Exit.
Tried this a couple of times, but no luck...

Any advice?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2020 11:57 am 



Joined: 16 Dec 2020
Posts: 2
PLIXX HALP!

I am an idot and I screwed up my geometry on my MX6000 (SW 2.0).
I kinda started adjusting values without writing down the settings. Now I'm not sure what to do to recover the situation.

Does anybody have an MX6000 (there is a philips tube in mine) that can post their geometry values?
Perhaps I can at least get back to some kind of default settings.

Look at this disaster!

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2020 5:46 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 1105
Location: Denmark
So I'm having a weird problem and I can't find answers anywhere, so I'll try here.

Today I bought a MX6000 (software MX 4.30). It came with an older Beo4 remote as it doesn't have a 'shift' or 'DVD' button. The strange part is when I hook up my PAL NES the picture is Black and White? I use it all the time on my MX4000 and here it's fine in color?

I hook up the NES with RCA Cables (White, Red, Yellow) and a RCA to SCART adapter. I'm only using the Yellow and Red cable as that's the output on the NES.

Can someone explain to me why I don't get color on the MX6000 but do on the MX4000? On both I've used AV1 = V.Tape
_________________
Image
[Twitter] - 1upDK
[Twitch.tv] - 1_upp
[YouTube] - Jacob"1up"Spring


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2020 9:01 pm 



Joined: 16 Dec 2020
Posts: 2
Eekay wrote:
PLIXX HALP!

I am an idot and I screwed up my geometry on my MX6000 (SW 2.0).
I kinda started adjusting values without writing down the settings. Now I'm not sure what to do to recover the situation.

Does anybody have an MX6000 (there is a philips tube in mine) that can post their geometry values?
Perhaps I can at least get back to some kind of default settings.

Look at this disaster!

Image


So I managed to sort the geometry pretty well, but I have a problem still. The picture is "bulged" in the center and the squares in my grid are not as wide on the sides as they are in the center. I've tried changing values for trapezoid and parabola values and also the S-correction but it seems they stay narrow on the edges no matter what I do.
Perhaps this is a condensator issue rather than a settings issue and this is the best I can do on this TV set? Anyone have had the same issue?

Link to pic of my grid:
https://empire.eekay.net/index.php/s/jl1fzPtuRDrekec


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2020 12:07 am 



Joined: 06 Mar 2017
Posts: 103
Eekay wrote:
Eekay wrote:
PLIXX HALP!

I am an idot and I screwed up my geometry on my MX6000 (SW 2.0).
I kinda started adjusting values without writing down the settings. Now I'm not sure what to do to recover the situation.

Does anybody have an MX6000 (there is a philips tube in mine) that can post their geometry values?
Perhaps I can at least get back to some kind of default settings.

Look at this disaster!

Image


So I managed to sort the geometry pretty well, but I have a problem still. The picture is "bulged" in the center and the squares in my grid are not as wide on the sides as they are in the center. I've tried changing values for trapezoid and parabola values and also the S-correction but it seems they stay narrow on the edges no matter what I do.
Perhaps this is a condensator issue rather than a settings issue and this is the best I can do on this TV set? Anyone have had the same issue?

Link to pic of my grid:
https://empire.eekay.net/index.php/s/jl1fzPtuRDrekec


It doesn't look too bad. Your horizontal linearity looks pretty good at least. Fiddling more with the settings will not get your picture any better at any rate.
You could try replacing C100 on PCB 4, which is pretty standard in repairs of this set. C102 to C106 are related to deflection, might want to check/replace those. Also check coil L3 for dry joints. Naturally I only suggest doing this if you are familiar with crt repairs.
While it doesn't hurt to replace caps, I doubt you are going to get a better picture than that though. Might just want to get used to it. No CRT is perfect and in my experience, after a while you really don't notice the imperfections anymore.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2021 5:40 pm 



Joined: 17 Dec 2020
Posts: 2
This is insane. I've had a Beovision 1 for a few weeks and wobbly picture with NTSC and perfect picture in PAL. Turned it upside down for a few minutes, tightened all the screws I could find as well. To my disbelief the picture was PERFECT in NTSC after this manoeuvre. Thanks for the tips!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2021 10:22 am 



Joined: 05 Jan 2015
Posts: 24
Hi guys,

I've just recently won a MX4000 on eBay with a SW version of 4.7. Does anybody know if this allows for (when using RGB) colour adjustments? I've read that this is only possible with the MX4002?

Thanks


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: B&O MX4/6/7000 - troubleshooting and general information
PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2021 3:25 pm 



Joined: 27 Apr 2019
Posts: 16
Fcking finally! Scored a B&O MX8000 here the other day! Will get my hands on it in a few weeks...finally!!!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 613 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 17, 18, 19, 20, 21  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bahamutfan64, Google [Bot] and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group