shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Thu Nov 14, 2019 11:47 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7305 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 239, 240, 241, 242, 243, 244  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2019 6:58 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 1368
GeneraLight wrote:
Does a 120hz, 144hz or 240hz refresh rate make 60hz content look any smoother? Does it reduce display lag?


Should look smoother if you use "soap opera effect" interpolation, but that adds lag and artifacts. I wouldn't use it.

Even lagless frame rate multiplication will not decrease lag with a fixed 60Hz source. (Most frame rate conversion will add lag, though.) You can't see your input change the game state until: the game machine *actually* sends out a frame that reflects a game state change--and those frames are only happening 60 times a second in this situation.
_________________
We apologize for the inconvenience


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2019 9:16 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 3110
Location: UK
I have a Multisync CRT monitor (Mitsubishi Megaview).

It's a low line count display so tends to perform much better at lower resolutions but, when I play interlace content on it, specifically from a PS2, my eyes/brain/something does weird things... it's as if.. for a second or so I can see the scanlines, or more accurately, I can see blank lines between lines that are drawn, as with 240p, then I can't....then I can again..etc

It has been years since I owned a CRT so I genuinely can't remember, is this normal? Would a CRT television set be better for 480i?
_________________
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2019 11:28 pm 



Joined: 14 Aug 2017
Posts: 659
BuckoA51 wrote:
It has been years since I owned a CRT so I genuinely can't remember, is this normal? Would a CRT television set be better for 480i?


It's normal. It may look different on a TV set by mere virtue of it being less sharp. But interlace flicker was always a thing, which is why video gear and some consoles implemented deflickering tricks. On the other hand, I think we didn't sit too close to the TVs during the SD days as to notice it, and it was the norm so our brains were really used to it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2019 11:50 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 1368
BuckoA51 wrote:
I have a Multisync CRT monitor (Mitsubishi Megaview).

It's a low line count display so tends to perform much better at lower resolutions but, when I play interlace content on it, specifically from a PS2, my eyes/brain/something does weird things... it's as if.. for a second or so I can see the scanlines, or more accurately, I can see blank lines between lines that are drawn, as with 240p, then I can't....then I can again..etc

It has been years since I owned a CRT so I genuinely can't remember, is this normal? Would a CRT television set be better for 480i?


I played some games on a pair of large Sanyo televisions here:
http://www.hyperspace80s.com/index.html

PS2 looked really amazing. Just like what I remember.

Their website is unfortunately not very descriptive and I know you aren't in the states, just adding it for those that are nearby.

Anyhow, the flicker wasn't anything like what I see on my Trinitrons or my little PVM. They weren't as sharp with 240p, but they were huge tvs. I wanted to take one home.
_________________
We apologize for the inconvenience


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2019 11:06 am 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 2303
Location: Kentucky
fernan1234 wrote:
BuckoA51 wrote:
It has been years since I owned a CRT so I genuinely can't remember, is this normal? Would a CRT television set be better for 480i?


It's normal. It may look different on a TV set by mere virtue of it being less sharp. But interlace flicker was always a thing, which is why video gear and some consoles implemented deflickering tricks. On the other hand, I think we didn't sit too close to the TVs during the SD days as to notice it, and it was the norm so our brains were really used to it.


Might also be a quicker phosphor decay vs. consumer sets, which would make flicker more apparent.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2019 5:04 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Nov 2013
Posts: 331
Can i get an Arcade streaming setup going with an emulation PC outputting through a VGA splitter?

My current setup is:
PC Running Groovymame -> VGA Cable -> Connected to New Net City Cab Displaying 15Khz

Can i do something like this?
PC Running Groovymame ->
VGA Splitter -> Connected to New Net City Cab Displaying 15Khz
VGA Splitter -> Connected to OSSC -> HDMI Cable ->Connected to Epiphan DVI2USB -> To Streaming PC

Will the splitter degrade the image?
If it does, should i go for a specific splitter? Any recommendations?
On groovymame, i'm using the super resolutions option, will the OSSC grab this?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2019 5:12 pm 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 1541
Mantrox wrote:
Can i get an Arcade streaming setup going with an emulation PC outputting through a VGA splitter?

My current setup is:
PC Running Groovymame -> VGA Cable -> Connected to New Net City Cab Displaying 15Khz

Can i do something like this?
PC Running Groovymame ->
VGA Splitter -> Connected to New Net City Cab Displaying 15Khz
VGA Splitter -> Connected to OSSC -> HDMI Cable ->Connected to Epiphan DVI2USB -> To Streaming PC

Will the splitter degrade the image?
If it does, should i go for a specific splitter? Any recommendations?
On groovymame, i'm using the super resolutions option, will the OSSC grab this?

You sure can. I think most will recommend an Extron Crosspoint, but you should be able to find an Extron VGA matrix switcher which will accomplish the same task with DE-15 ports instead of BNC (negating the need for BNC cables/adapters) and with a far smaller footprint. Just hook up your source to, for example, input 1, and then map input 1 to outputs 1 and 2.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2019 9:41 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 3110
Location: UK
Quote:
But interlace flicker was always a thing


I remember interlace flicker from using the Amiga Workbench in 480i. You never did that for long, that's for sure... this is definitely different.. like I say I seem to see the image as if it was 240p with blank scanlines for an instant, then not, then I see them again..etc.
_________________
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2019 9:53 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11918
Location: Germany
Quote:
like I say I seem to see the image as if it was 240p with blank scanlines for an instant, then not, then I see them again..etc.

should be linked to your eye movement.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:57 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Nov 2013
Posts: 331
nmalinoski wrote:
Mantrox wrote:
Can i get an Arcade streaming setup going with an emulation PC outputting through a VGA splitter?

My current setup is:
PC Running Groovymame -> VGA Cable -> Connected to New Net City Cab Displaying 15Khz

Can i do something like this?
PC Running Groovymame ->
VGA Splitter -> Connected to New Net City Cab Displaying 15Khz
VGA Splitter -> Connected to OSSC -> HDMI Cable ->Connected to Epiphan DVI2USB -> To Streaming PC

Will the splitter degrade the image?
If it does, should i go for a specific splitter? Any recommendations?
On groovymame, i'm using the super resolutions option, will the OSSC grab this?

You sure can. I think most will recommend an Extron Crosspoint, but you should be able to find an Extron VGA matrix switcher which will accomplish the same task with DE-15 ports instead of BNC (negating the need for BNC cables/adapters) and with a far smaller footprint. Just hook up your source to, for example, input 1, and then map input 1 to outputs 1 and 2.

Can't i achieve the same with a simple, cheaper vga splitter?

Edit: Nevermind that, found a pretty cheap extron splitter, perfect for this purpose.
For anyone wondering it's the Extron p/2 da2 plus, cost me 20 bucks.
Image


Last edited by Mantrox on Tue Oct 15, 2019 4:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2019 4:04 pm 



Joined: 22 Sep 2017
Posts: 61
Is the Noctua fan mod worth it for a stock Dreamcast (as in, one with a GD-ROM drive and not a GDEMU)?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2019 4:53 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2018
Posts: 950
GojiFan90 wrote:
Is the Noctua fan mod worth it for a stock Dreamcast (as in, one with a GD-ROM drive and not a GDEMU)?

it still cuts the noise by at least 1/3 to 1/2, the fan is just about as loud as the disc drive when the drive is not seeking


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2019 6:39 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 1368
Mantrox wrote:
nmalinoski wrote:
Mantrox wrote:
Can i get an Arcade streaming setup going with an emulation PC outputting through a VGA splitter?

My current setup is:
PC Running Groovymame -> VGA Cable -> Connected to New Net City Cab Displaying 15Khz

Can i do something like this?
PC Running Groovymame ->
VGA Splitter -> Connected to New Net City Cab Displaying 15Khz
VGA Splitter -> Connected to OSSC -> HDMI Cable ->Connected to Epiphan DVI2USB -> To Streaming PC

Will the splitter degrade the image?
If it does, should i go for a specific splitter? Any recommendations?
On groovymame, i'm using the super resolutions option, will the OSSC grab this?

You sure can. I think most will recommend an Extron Crosspoint, but you should be able to find an Extron VGA matrix switcher which will accomplish the same task with DE-15 ports instead of BNC (negating the need for BNC cables/adapters) and with a far smaller footprint. Just hook up your source to, for example, input 1, and then map input 1 to outputs 1 and 2.

Can't i achieve the same with a simple, cheaper vga splitter?

Edit: Nevermind that, found a pretty cheap extron splitter, perfect for this purpose.
For anyone wondering it's the Extron p/2 da2 plus, cost me 20 bucks.
Image


Kramer distribution amplifiers are generally newer, more compact, fairly inexpensive, more effective, readily available, and dependable. The fairly new "Kramer Tools" units are a better buy than that ancient Extron unit in the photo.
_________________
We apologize for the inconvenience


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 9:33 am 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Nov 2013
Posts: 331
orange808 wrote:
more effective, readily available, and dependable

I couldn't find any kramer models at the same price as this one (i'm in Portugal).
I only really care that it works for the purpose i want it for, and that's about it. I very much doubt there is a huge quality/reliability disparity between Kramer and Extron, as they are both professional grade equipment companies that have been around for ages.

But if you have plenty of newer Kramer stuff around your area, hey, why not.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 10:44 am 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 1368
Mantrox wrote:
orange808 wrote:
more effective, readily available, and dependable

I couldn't find any kramer models at the same price as this one (i'm in Portugal).
I only really care that it works for the purpose i want it for, and that's about it. I very much doubt there is a huge quality/reliability disparity between Kramer and Extron, as they are both professional grade equipment companies that have been around for ages.

But if you have plenty of newer Kramer stuff around your area, hey, why not.


It's not the brand name, it's the age of the unit. The little Kramer Tools units are newer machines. They also use less power and run cooler; due to a newer design.
_________________
We apologize for the inconvenience


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 11:50 am 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Nov 2013
Posts: 331
orange808 wrote:
Mantrox wrote:
orange808 wrote:
more effective, readily available, and dependable

I couldn't find any kramer models at the same price as this one (i'm in Portugal).
I only really care that it works for the purpose i want it for, and that's about it. I very much doubt there is a huge quality/reliability disparity between Kramer and Extron, as they are both professional grade equipment companies that have been around for ages.

But if you have plenty of newer Kramer stuff around your area, hey, why not.


It's not the brand name, it's the age of the unit. The little Kramer Tools units are newer machines. They also use less power and run cooler; due to a newer design.

Oh i see. Yeah it would be cool to have, i just don't have anywhere to buy it for cheap. The only units on ebay were 40€+
I'll report back if i have any problems with this unit though.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 9:52 am 


User avatar

Joined: 21 Aug 2005
Posts: 1798
Location: Liverpool
I don't suppose anyone knows where to pick up a Brook PS3/4 to 360 adapter these days? I want one for one of my sticks, but although I can find pretty much every other permutation of their adapters, the PS3>360 kind seems to have completely disappeared. Thanks!

(If there are other reliable adapters that could perform the same function, I'd love to hear about them!)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 11:08 am 



Joined: 01 Feb 2016
Posts: 64
Location: Tokyo
I use the Cronus Max Plus, it works great but it was a bit expensive and a PITA to configure for 360 (PS3 to PS4 was pretty much plug and play), plus you need a USB hub with an actual 360 controller attached in order to fool the 360 security.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 11:16 am 


User avatar

Joined: 21 Aug 2005
Posts: 1798
Location: Liverpool
Ah thanks, I'll keep that in mind! It does sound expensive and fiddly, but it's a solution. Maybe I need to go beyond replacing buttons and levers, and mod the stick with a universal PCB...


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 8:51 pm 



Joined: 31 Dec 2013
Posts: 20
Location: New York
So I posted a thread with this question and it's gotten 29 views but no responses - thought maybe I should be posting it in here instead. If anyone can help, replying to either is fine by me - I hope I didn't waste a thread with the question!

Hey all..

I have a Toshiba TIMM MM20E45 that was gifted to me by a friend and I wanted to use it since it supports so many formats. The problem is.. the vertical deflection is shot. Very rarely, I can get the monitor to display an image before collapsing into a single horizontal line. I looked up the service manual here: https://www.manualslib.com/manual/71277 ... =45#manual and found the section on the vertical deflection circuit. I checked the area on the chassis but did not see any bulging capacitors or anything, so after watching a few YouTube videos I saw a method of restoring the image by replacing the vertical deflection IC. After looking in the service manual, I saw this diagram:

Image

I assumed it was IC301 that needed to be replaced (the TA8427K). I replaced it and I still have the same problem. I am just now rereading this manual and wondering if the other chip, IC302 (TA8859AP), was what really needed to be replaced. According to the manual it is the vertical deflection sawtooth wave generator and amplifier. Before I delve any deeper into this, I wanted to reach out and see if anyone had any helping advice. I can take a picture of the area of the PCB where these chips are located when I get a chance.

Thanks
_________________
maxtherabbit wrote:
Imagine toggle switch OSD modding a TV in 2019


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 6:59 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Oct 2016
Posts: 441
Location: n/america
goldendark007 wrote:

I have a Toshiba TIMM MM20E45 that was gifted to me by a friend and I wanted to use it since it supports so many formats. The problem is.. the vertical deflection is shot. Very rarely, I can get the monitor to display an image before collapsing into a single horizontal line.


Check for cold solder joints and blown caps for sure. check this out as well. https://www.arcaderepairtips.com/2011/0 ... se-issues/


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 7:01 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Oct 2016
Posts: 441
Location: n/america
Does anyone know who manufactured the CRTs for Apple's final Studio Displays?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 7:57 pm 



Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Posts: 1010
vol.2 wrote:
Does anyone know who manufactured the CRTs for Apple's final Studio Displays?


The clear ADC 17" one is Mitsubishi Diamondtron I believe. That was the last CRT model they ever made (which you can't use unless you have a Mac of that era with ADC).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 9:08 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Oct 2016
Posts: 441
Location: n/america
Dochartaigh wrote:
vol.2 wrote:
Does anyone know who manufactured the CRTs for Apple's final Studio Displays?


The clear ADC 17" one is Mitsubishi Diamondtron I believe. That was the last CRT model they ever made (which you can't use unless you have a Mac of that era with ADC).


Thanks! Yeah, I remember how annoying that was. We had one of the 32" IPS cinema displays at work in like 2002 or whenever they came out and I remember being annoyed that I couldn't buy one for myself unless I wanted to get a mac.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 11:19 pm 



Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Posts: 1010
vol.2 wrote:
Dochartaigh wrote:
vol.2 wrote:
Does anyone know who manufactured the CRTs for Apple's final Studio Displays?


The clear ADC 17" one is Mitsubishi Diamondtron I believe. That was the last CRT model they ever made (which you can't use unless you have a Mac of that era with ADC).


Thanks! Yeah, I remember how annoying that was. We had one of the 32" IPS cinema displays at work in like 2002 or whenever they came out and I remember being annoyed that I couldn't buy one for myself unless I wanted to get a mac.


These are worse believe it or not. When a monitor has thunderbolt or whatever mac connector there's usually always an adapter for them (even if it takes some time for them to come out). That clear apple monitor has NO adapter ever made for it, and they discontinued the computer with that ADC video card like the next ~year or whatnot, so you literally had a super expensive 'premium' Apple monitor that you could only ever use on older hardware - that's beyond stupid and screwed over a lot of people.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 2:50 am 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Oct 2016
Posts: 441
Location: n/america
Dochartaigh wrote:
These are worse believe it or not. When a monitor has thunderbolt or whatever mac connector there's usually always an adapter for them (even if it takes some time for them to come out). That clear apple monitor has NO adapter ever made for it, and they discontinued the computer with that ADC video card like the next ~year or whatnot, so you literally had a super expensive 'premium' Apple monitor that you could only ever use on older hardware - that's beyond stupid and screwed over a lot of people.


Yeeeeeeck. That's awful. This kind of thing is why i never bought mac stuff; exclusivity always came with balance-tipping compromise. For me, it was mostly software selection.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2019 8:09 pm 



Joined: 22 Sep 2017
Posts: 61
Does anyone recognize this (N64 RGB) amp? It was installed in a pre-modded console I purchased and I'm curious as to what kind of amp it is.
Spoiler: show
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2019 8:20 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Jul 2017
Posts: 470
The amp is the little 8 pin chip.. looks like a 7314/6 but I can't quite make it out. Most of the PCB isn't being used, just the amp and some resistors on the output. Looks very similar to something like this:
https://www.retrorgb.com/thsamps.html


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2019 1:14 am 



Joined: 22 Sep 2017
Posts: 61
Kez wrote:
The amp is the little 8 pin chip.. looks like a 7314/6 but I can't quite make it out. Most of the PCB isn't being used, just the amp and some resistors on the output. Looks very similar to something like this:
https://www.retrorgb.com/thsamps.html


You were right--upon closer inspection, it is a TI 7314. Thanks!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 1:46 pm 



Joined: 01 Jul 2015
Posts: 147
im trying to use an ATI card which goes DVI -> VGA to my PVM using a VGA to BNC breakout. the bnc breakout has 2 cables for sync though. same with my component to rgb transcoder, the transcoder comes out as vga with two sync cables. so i cant get either working at all (i either get black and white visuals and the typical movement you see when ext sync is off). to remedy this, all I really need is a bnc y cable to merge the two syncs into one right? no specially powered device inbetween to combine the sync?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7305 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 239, 240, 241, 242, 243, 244  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Leoraider, Ms. Tea and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group