shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Tue Aug 20, 2019 6:10 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7007 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 230, 231, 232, 233, 234
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:32 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 1188
Unseen wrote:
I would guess 25MHz (on the wire) because that is the minimum TMDS clock for DVI and HDMI. Even if the scaler can go lower, the receiver would need to support it too.


I don't know the minimums, but that sounds reasonable.

The 301 HD does have a "DVI" mode that I tried hoping to get better compatibility. Some other video processors and displays are a bit more forgiving with signals marked as DVI.

I don't have general display compatibility concerns when I test downscaling. My DAC doesn't mind the standards and gladly converts just about anything to RGB. I also have a projector hooked up that is very accommodating and accepts just about anything that I can input.

Unseen wrote:
The correct way to fix it would be to use pixel replication and flagging it as such in the HDMI metadata. The relevant CEA standard specifies pixel doubling for 720x240p/480i/288p/576i for an effective horizontal resolution of 1440 pixels, but it also defines a few special modes with 2880 horizontal pixels and up to 10x pixel replication to support pixel-exact output of content from low-resolution game systems.


That sort of makes sense if I planned to feed a standard digital display, but I can't think of a use case for downscaling doubled vertical lines while doubling color clocks on a modern display. Additionally, once I start feeding 1440 color clocks with only 240 lines, I've already abandoned the standards and picky displays wouldn't accept it, anyway.

I find that the best timings for the horizontal color clocks are system specific, but I chose 1920 as a convenient starting point. Standards don't really matter much here, because the goal would be to feed a CRT through a DAC (that gladly accepts off spec signals). Naturally, a CRT has no concept of horizontal resolution, so I only have to remain within the mechanical abilities of the display. (All academic, of course, because I have no use for super resolution and it's much easier--and more practical--to use a Corio2 for custom timings.)
_________________
We apologize for the inconvenience


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 2:24 pm 



Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 114
orange808 wrote:
Wow. Importing custom output timings on 301 HD is a real pain in arse! Making .bin files to import EDIDs isn't user friendly.


Is there a guide for this somewhere?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 9:22 pm 



Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Posts: 100
I recently got a free SNES Jr that's not working. After troubleshooting it's clear the vias connecting the voltage regulator are damaged and won't properly connect. Does anyone if there are alternative connecting vias where I can route the legs of the 7805 voltage regulator to? Otherwise perhaps I can scrape away some of the board to expose the traces but I don't know where to scrape if possible. Any help will be greatly appreciated.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 8:30 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Oct 2016
Posts: 387
Location: n/america
H6rdc0re wrote:
I recently got a free SNES Jr that's not working. After troubleshooting it's clear the vias connecting the voltage regulator are damaged and won't properly connect. Does anyone if there are alternative connecting vias where I can route the legs of the 7805 voltage regulator to? Otherwise perhaps I can scrape away some of the board to expose the traces but I don't know where to scrape if possible. Any help will be greatly appreciated.


You'll need the revision #. If you input the model into google, you should come up with the schematics. They are widely published on the internet.

Here is a link to a schematic PDF it should be more or less correct: https://gamesx.com/wiki/lib/exe/fetch.p ... iagram.pdf

If that particular VR is you issue, then you should be able to figure out a way to route it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 10:13 pm 



Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Posts: 900
H6rdc0re wrote:
After troubleshooting it's clear the vias connecting the voltage regulator are damaged and won't properly connect.


You may want to investigate further (after fixing this) to find out what could have caused this problem.
It's very unusual to have the 7805 disconnect from its vias, unless there was some serious charge going through it, or possibly a bodged repair.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2019 10:22 am 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 1167
What should I be looking for in the cheap but serviceable RGB Scart to HDMI converters? Some lag is fine as it would just be for group saturn bomberman messing around mostly.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:39 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Oct 2016
Posts: 387
Location: n/america
Einzelherz wrote:
What should I be looking for in the cheap but serviceable RGB Scart to HDMI converters? Some lag is fine as it would just be for group saturn bomberman messing around mostly.


My understanding is that the cheap ones tend to fail after awhile, but they "do the job" until that happens. There's a $40 one on Amazon that would probably fit the bill. If you're looking for something that will last, I think you have to open your wallet a little wider.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2019 7:49 am 



Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Posts: 149
Location: Austria
Are the orignal RGB Scart cables issued with the pal Saturn back then in the 90s compatible with NTSC Units as well?


I have got two Sega Saturn in my Collection. A pal unit and a NTSC J unit. I had to buy a rgb scart cable for the japanese Saturn. Unfornately it was a rather cheap one that spoiled now.

The cable for the pal Unit is still working properly and even has a cleaner Signal than the cheap one. I have already read that under some cirumstances a pal cable might destroy a NTSC unit. But it seems to be possible to make a cable that can be used on Pal and NTSC Units. Retro gaming cables uk makes such a cable for example.

Do you guys know if the orignal Saturn cables were build the same way like the Retro gaming cables one or would it be dangerous to use them a NTSC unit? I do not want to endanger my Saturn or my framemeister, that's why i am asking.


Last edited by Revolver Ocelot on Fri Aug 16, 2019 8:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2019 8:23 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11773
Location: Germany
original SEGA cables from the 90s use composite video for sync, so they work on both PAL and NTSC machines.

If you buy a new cable and you want one that works on both machine regions, get one that uses luma as sync. Less interference than the original cables and no worries about PAL machines not providing a clean C-sync signal.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2019 8:42 am 



Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Posts: 149
Location: Austria
Fudoh wrote:
original SEGA cables from the 90s use composite video for sync, so they work on both PAL and NTSC machines.

If you buy a new cable and you want one that works on both machine regions, get one that uses luma as sync. Less interference than the original cables and no worries about PAL machines not providing a clean C-sync signal.


Ok perfect. Thanks a lot for your help.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2019 5:11 pm 



Joined: 17 Apr 2019
Posts: 20
Location: Illinois, United States
I have a couple questions about using the Gameboy Interface on a 480i CRT. First off, I am using a Gameboy Player with Action Replay/SD Memory card adapter to boot GBI on my 480i Trinitron thru Swiss. I have it hooked up with HDRV Wii component cables plugged into a GCHD Mk II. Now I CAN get GBI working fine in 240p when I use the speedrunner build of GBI but it doesn't appear to have near the options that the "normal" GBI has, it works fine but is kinda barebones. I however CANNOT get GBI to run on my tv when I try to load up the "normal" version, the picture is badly distorted and unusable. Is it not possible to run the standard GBI on a CRT that only does 480i? If that is the case is there a way I can zoom the picture in when playing games on the speedrunning version of GBI, it's super easy to do on the standard version but like I mentioned I can't get that version to work on my CRT.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2019 5:31 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Jul 2017
Posts: 452
You're probably putting out 480p, it's been a while but I think if you load up a GC game, hold B on boot and say NO when it asks about progressive scan, the game will load in 480i.. GBI should then load in 480i as well. You will also need to set the GCHD Mk II to NOT linedouble 480i.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2019 5:48 pm 



Joined: 17 Apr 2019
Posts: 20
Location: Illinois, United States
Kez wrote:
You're probably putting out 480p, it's been a while but I think if you load up a GC game, hold B on boot and say NO when it asks about progressive scan, the game will load in 480i.. GBI should then load in 480i as well. You will also need to set the GCHD Mk II to NOT linedouble 480i.


Yeah I changed the Mk II to not linedouble, that was giving me trouble intially but I figured that one out. I just am confused on why the GBI would be putting out 480p, I change the resolution to 240p60 in the GBI options but it still won't work right, it's confusing. I feel like maybe I'm missing something fairly obvious...


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2019 7:36 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Oct 2016
Posts: 387
Location: n/america
AceFan84 wrote:
I feel like maybe I'm missing something fairly obvious...



Not sure if you got the fact that you need to set the GC itself to 480i. I think what Kez wrote " if you load up a GC game, hold B on boot and say NO when it asks about progressive scan, the game will load in 480i.. GBI should then load in 480i as well."


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2019 8:28 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 363
In the GCHD's menu, set "Mode Select" to dYUV.

https://www.gc-forever.com/wiki/index.php?title=Game_Boy_Interface/Standard_Edition#Why_is_my_picture_cut_or_off-center.3F


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2019 11:10 pm 



Joined: 17 Apr 2019
Posts: 20
Location: Illinois, United States
Extrems wrote:


This worked, thank you so much!!! It makes things a lot easier when you get help from the master himself!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 4:58 pm 



Joined: 17 Apr 2019
Posts: 20
Location: Illinois, United States
I've got one more Gameboy Interface question, how do I backup my game saves onto the sd card, I believe it's possible to do correct? I tried holding down the Start and Z (select) buttons on my Gamecube controller when booting a GBA game but I haven't had any luck yet, it just boots into the game like normal.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7007 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 230, 231, 232, 233, 234

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], RocketBelt and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group