shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Thu Jul 19, 2018 5:32 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6089 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 197, 198, 199, 200, 201, 202, 203  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 10:15 pm 



Joined: 15 Oct 2017
Posts: 125
Looking online, there doesn't appear to be any official SCART cable for the PS3.

Do we know if capacitors should or shouldn't be inside the cable then? Have a PS1 and PS2 cable, just looking to get the best/safest RGB output from the PS3.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 6:00 am 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 431
ross wrote:
Looking online, there doesn't appear to be any official SCART cable for the PS3.

Do we know if capacitors should or shouldn't be inside the cable then? Have a PS1 and PS2 cable, just looking to get the best/safest RGB output from the PS3.

My understanding is that the PS3's multiout is identical in functionality to the PS2, so you should get a straight cable with no capacitors. That said, I'm not sure you'll be able to get progressive video out of a PS3 over SCART. (Only because I haven't tried myself.)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 1:27 pm 



Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Posts: 540
nmalinoski wrote:
ross wrote:
Looking online, there doesn't appear to be any official SCART cable for the PS3.

Do we know if capacitors should or shouldn't be inside the cable then? Have a PS1 and PS2 cable, just looking to get the best/safest RGB output from the PS3.

My understanding is that the PS3's multiout is identical in functionality to the PS2, so you should get a straight cable with no capacitors. That said, I'm not sure you'll be able to get progressive video out of a PS3 over SCART. (Only because I haven't tried myself.)


If it's truly identical in functionality to the PS2 I see no reason why you can't. If my memory serves you can output 480p RGsB from the SCART on a PS2 - used to do this all the time (as it saved me from having to switch from SCART to Component cables when everything in my setup is zip tied down like a mofo lol).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 2:12 pm 



Joined: 15 Oct 2017
Posts: 125
According to the official manual, it's possible to get 480p/576p over SCART.

Some discussion on it here.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:28 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Jul 2017
Posts: 239
I have a PAL Mega Drive that I modded to 60hz, including replacing the PAL crystal oscillator with an NTSC one. That all works fine, but recently I added a 32X which is also PAL, but I added the region mod switch where you short out an empty resistor pad.

However, when I play 60hz 32X games I noticed that the image is shaky on the screen, like juddering left and right. I also noticed that in same games (e.g. Knuckles Chaotix), the background does not judder but the sprites do. I'm thinking in these games the Mega Drive is rendering the background and the 32X the sprites, so only what is coming from the 32X is juddering?

Could this be because my "PAL" Mega Drive now has an NTSC oscillator, but the "PAL" 32X still has its original oscillator? I had a look at it and it is a 4.4336 Mhz (i.e. PAL subcarrier), would getting a 3.579545 MHz crystal help? I'm assuming that is the crystal found in an NTSC 32X - is anyone able to confirm this?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 3:23 am 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Feb 2015
Posts: 2046
Location: DFW area, Texas
Kez wrote:
I have a PAL Mega Drive that I modded to 60hz, including replacing the PAL crystal oscillator with an NTSC one. That all works fine, but recently I added a 32X which is also PAL, but I added the region mod switch where you short out an empty resistor pad.

However, when I play 60hz 32X games I noticed that the image is shaky on the screen, like juddering left and right. I also noticed that in same games (e.g. Knuckles Chaotix), the background does not judder but the sprites do. I'm thinking in these games the Mega Drive is rendering the background and the 32X the sprites, so only what is coming from the 32X is juddering?

Could this be because my "PAL" Mega Drive now has an NTSC oscillator, but the "PAL" 32X still has its original oscillator? I had a look at it and it is a 4.4336 Mhz (i.e. PAL subcarrier), would getting a 3.579545 MHz crystal help? I'm assuming that is the crystal found in an NTSC 32X - is anyone able to confirm this?


Yeah, some games the 32X shared rendering duty with the Genesis, so if you want everything stable, both clocks need to be the same speed.
_________________
Framemeister profiles: http://www.firebrandx.com/framemeisterprofiles.html

NES NTSC Palettes: http://www.firebrandx.com/nespalette.html

SNES Serial DB: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1HYLy_TTDop_FzuX6qnxuQI43upg4raXfno582taO744/pubhtml


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 5:29 am 



Joined: 01 Feb 2016
Posts: 39
Dochartaigh wrote:
DejahThoris wrote:
Does the Sony BVM-D14H5U support medium res?


As in 24khz? No Sony PVM/BVM does that which I know of. Just 240p, 480i, 480p, 720p, and 1080i (and all their PAL equivalents).


I wasn't able to get 576p (PAL disc on Oppo DVD player > VP50Pro HDMI output > HDFury2 component output > PVM) working on my 20L5, but it's not something I really need to use on my PVM.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 11:00 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Posts: 675
Location: Italy
^^ You know that the VP50 has analog out right?

Question: do Extron RGB interfaces require a TTL level sync signal? Been looking them up on the Extron website and all of them list the following as compatible input sync level:
Quote:
2.0 V to 5.5 Vp-p with ±0.2 VDC offset (max.)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:19 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Jul 2017
Posts: 239
FBX wrote:
Yeah, some games the 32X shared rendering duty with the Genesis, so if you want everything stable, both clocks need to be the same speed.


Cool thanks, I have ordered some NTSC oscillators so I'll swap them over and see what happens.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 1:23 pm 



Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Posts: 540
Xer Xian wrote:
Question: do Extron RGB interfaces require a TTL level sync signal? Been looking them up on the Extron website and all of them list the following as compatible input sync level:
Quote:
2.0 V to 5.5 Vp-p with ±0.2 VDC offset (max.)


I'm going from memory here as I'm not home to test, but I'm pretty positive these two scenarios show the Extron RGB can take regular level sync:

I've run my TurboGrafx-16 with SSDS3 through my Extron RGB 203 Rxi with the SERR dipswitch set to "on" to try to clean-up the sync for my BVM-D14 (which is picky with sync on that one system), and I was still able to display that signal (properly) on other monitors which tells me the Extron RGB takes non-TTL level sync.

I also run my Xbox and Wii through YPbPr to RGBS converters (one of which, the Extron CVC 200) says it's output is "RGB: 0.4 V to 1.0 Vp-p" (i.e. non-TTL level sync I believe), then run that RGBS signal through the Extron RGB with no ill effects.


***EDIT*** actually, everything I run (and/or loop back in and out) through my Extron Crosspoint which automatically jacks the sync up to TTL levels if it's plugged in through the H or V BNC ports on the back, right? So I honestly don't know...


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 1:33 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 773
Xer Xian wrote:
^^ You know that the VP50 has analog out right?

Question: do Extron RGB interfaces require a TTL level sync signal? Been looking them up on the Extron website and all of them list the following as compatible input sync level:
Quote:
2.0 V to 5.5 Vp-p with ±0.2 VDC offset (max.)


Chaining clean SCART RGBS directly through it has always worked very well.

SCART > sync cleaner > RGB unit > line doubler > display
_________________
We apologize for the inconvenience


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:40 pm 



Joined: 24 Dec 2017
Posts: 10
Location: United States
I have a Genesis model 2 that has a semi-broken controller port: the down arrow doesn't work unless I very lightly tilt the controller plug upward in my direction, after which it works for 2-10 minutes. I've tried 2 controllers and it's the exact same for both.

I already reflowed the solder on the pins; what could be the issue?

I already installed a Mega Amp so I'm not going to just get another system.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:53 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Dec 2017
Posts: 111
What is the highest PROGRESSIVE resolution that a standard-definition CRT can support? Anything higher than 240 lines?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 11:14 pm 



Joined: 24 Dec 2017
Posts: 10
Location: United States
Logan Jones wrote:
What is the highest PROGRESSIVE resolution that a standard-definition CRT can support? Anything higher than 240 lines?

At least 288; that's what PAL supports. Though it's a lower frame rate.

You could probably do like 2400p at 6 Hz, and even higher resolutions at lower frame rates.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 1:14 am 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Dec 2017
Posts: 111
EthicalShooter wrote:
Logan Jones wrote:
What is the highest PROGRESSIVE resolution that a standard-definition CRT can support? Anything higher than 240 lines?

At least 288; that's what PAL supports. Though it's a lower frame rate.

You could probably do like 2400p at 6 Hz, and even higher resolutions at lower frame rates.

Okay, how about for specifically NTSC 60hz?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 1:17 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11156
Location: Germany
it's simple math. If the display can only do 15khz, then you get 240p at 60Hz and 288p at 50Hz. Nothing else. If you want to raise the resolution you have to drop the refresh rate.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 7:02 am 



Joined: 01 Feb 2016
Posts: 39
Xer Xian wrote:
^^ You know that the VP50 has analog out right?

Of course. But it doesn't work with HDMI sources.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:26 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Posts: 675
Location: Italy
I guess your source enforces HCDP - otherwise the analog out should be available.

About 2400p@6Hz - lol? No CRT would ever display that, and even if it did, the actual resolving power would be a fraction of that, especially if we're considering a generic SD CRT..


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:41 pm 



Joined: 10 Jun 2018
Posts: 4
Hello all! I have been using LG 42WS10 display as PC monitor but now I would like to hook Xbox 360 and PS2 into it via component cable and passthrough it into my capture card so it would look like this:

Xbox 360/PS2 -> monitor -> capture card

The problem is VGA sockets that passthroughs PC signal without any issues. But the problem is it uses same sockets for AV/RGB and component. What kind of cable/adapter is required to use component with this? And would it be possible to use RGB Scart with it too?

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:57 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Posts: 675
Location: Italy
You can use a component to vga adapter (it's actually 3 RCA to HD-15, but the proper name is rarely used). Female to male of course.
You can then have a standard vga cable go into the capture card - if it has a vga input from which it accepts both RGB and Component YPbPr. Otherwise another vga to component cable (male to male).

For RGB scart it's a bit more complicated, since your monitor is unlikely to accept SD, possibly with no clean sync too.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:32 pm 



Joined: 10 Jun 2018
Posts: 4
Never heard of 3 rca to hd-15 adapters. That should do it then!

According to manual it accepts SD at least with component and I assume with composite too. So I might as well try with Scart but not sure if scart-vga adapter does the trick.

thanks!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:14 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Posts: 675
Location: Italy
Use 'component to vga adapter' as a keyword, it's likely to give more results.

Scart to vga adapter aren't really a thing, you'd have to use a scart to bnc breakout chained to a bnc to vga adapter. But first make sure that your monitor can take whatever sync type your RGB source outputs.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 11:32 pm 



Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Posts: 540
Most of those adapters are wired the same way as the more common 5x BNC to VGA, and you can use any (compatible) signal on them. So I would just grab one of those. Many of my units do Composite, S-Video, RGBS, and YPbPr all through the same exact 5x BNC to VGA adapter, even if I'm only using 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 of those BNC's for the signal.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:42 am 



Joined: 30 Jul 2017
Posts: 33
Quick question - Can the PAL Wii which is capable of outputting RGB with SCART also output 480p+ with RGB SCART? Similar to the PS2 which can output 480p+ with RGB SCART over RGsB. I assume not but would like to know. Thanks in advance.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:51 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11156
Location: Germany
Displayport to HDMI works great within the HDMI 1.4 specs (4K30, 1440p60 etc).

Is the same true for HDMI 2.0 inputs when the DP output supports 4K60 ?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 9:44 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 2017
Posts: 834
Location: Australia
Sefirosu789 wrote:
Quick question - Can the PAL Wii which is capable of outputting RGB with SCART also output 480p+ with RGB SCART? Similar to the PS2 which can output 480p+ with RGB SCART over RGsB. I assume not but would like to know. Thanks in advance.


No. Your RGB cable grounds pins in the Wii to put it in RGB mode. When in this mode 480p option is greyed out on every Wii revision.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:32 pm 



Joined: 15 Oct 2017
Posts: 125
Is there any scaling done on the horizontal axis when the PS3's set to 480i/p analog output?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 3:02 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Jul 2017
Posts: 239
Kez wrote:
FBX wrote:
Yeah, some games the 32X shared rendering duty with the Genesis, so if you want everything stable, both clocks need to be the same speed.


Cool thanks, I have ordered some NTSC oscillators so I'll swap them over and see what happens.


Okay so that didn't seem to work. Is anyone with an NTSC 32X able to pop it open and let me know what the frequency on the oscillator is? I can't find the information online. I would be very grateful!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 8:44 am 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 2017
Posts: 834
Location: Australia
Does anyone have an Extron Inside account I can borrow to download firmware for my SMX series matrix?
I've tried signing up with 3 different email accounts over 2 weeks now with no response from Extron :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 6:56 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 1066
Does anyone know if a modded/chipped PAL PS2 would play Japanese games *exactly* the same as on a Jap console? I want to play Sega rally championship bonus disc and Outrun 2 SP - both Jap only.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6089 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 197, 198, 199, 200, 201, 202, 203  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DirkSwizzler and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group