shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Thu Jul 19, 2018 1:57 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6089 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 187, 188, 189, 190, 191, 192, 193 ... 203  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 7:09 pm 



Joined: 22 Sep 2017
Posts: 31
I need to finally bite the bullet and get my Dreamcast hooked up to my Framemeister but I'm torn between the Akura and the Toro. Which is preferable and why? Does the Toro have any advantage over the Akura? There is only a $5 difference in price.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 8:22 pm 



Joined: 07 Jan 2018
Posts: 11
So I learned that using PAL consoles to output 60Hz leads to an off-spec 59-60Hz that's actually about one percent slower and this can cause problems. I was wondering, are all PAL consoles that are capable of 480p60 free from these issues? They must be equipped with a crystal that can perfectly reproduce 60Hz? Will that crystal only be used for 31kHz resolutions?

I'm European and my pre-480p era consoles are NTSC for this reason, but will my PS2, NGC and Wii be fine?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 8:44 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11156
Location: Germany
Quote:
I need to finally bite the bullet and get my Dreamcast hooked up to my Framemeister

why? Your TV will most definitely doing a better job upscaling the DC's 480p output than the FM does.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 9:10 pm 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 431
GojiFan90 wrote:
I need to finally bite the bullet and get my Dreamcast hooked up to my Framemeister but I'm torn between the Akura and the Toro. Which is preferable and why? Does the Toro have any advantage over the Akura? There is only a $5 difference in price.

The biggest problem with the Akura is that it enables VGA mode full-time, which prevents unpatched 480i-only games from booting. At least with the Toro, you have a switch that you can use to trick most of these games into booting in progressive mode.

Personally, I prefer the Toro (I bought one over the Akura) because it's overall more versatile; not only can I play the 480i-only games, I can choose what I use for the analog-to-digital conversion. Right now, I'm using an OSSC, but I can always switch to a Framemeister, or a generic SCART or VGA upscaler.

On the plus side for the Akura, it's cheaper to get going; you'd only need an HDMI cable, which you can get anywhere; whereas, with the Toro, you'd need either an HD15 to SCART adapter or a fully shielded SCART cable, and then a SCART to miniDIN for connecting to the Framemeister (assuming you don't already have one), which can add another, what, $50 to $60 USD on top of the Toro?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 9:12 pm 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 431
kazaakas@hotmail.com wrote:
So I learned that using PAL consoles to output 60Hz leads to an off-spec 59-60Hz that's actually about one percent slower and this can cause problems. I was wondering, are all PAL consoles that are capable of 480p60 free from these issues? They must be equipped with a crystal that can perfectly reproduce 60Hz? Will that crystal only be used for 31kHz resolutions?

I'm European and my pre-480p era consoles are NTSC for this reason, but will my PS2, NGC and Wii be fine?

Are you referring to the ability of these PAL consoles to run NTSC games correctly, or their ability to run PAL60 games correctly?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 9:15 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 773
nmalinoski wrote:
GojiFan90 wrote:
I need to finally bite the bullet and get my Dreamcast hooked up to my Framemeister but I'm torn between the Akura and the Toro. Which is preferable and why? Does the Toro have any advantage over the Akura? There is only a $5 difference in price.

The biggest problem with the Akura is that it enables VGA mode full-time, which prevents unpatched 480i-only games from booting. At least with the Toro, you have a switch that you can use to trick most of these games into booting in progressive mode.

Personally, I prefer the Toro (I bought one over the Akura) because it's overall more versatile; not only can I play the 480i-only games, I can choose what I use for the analog-to-digital conversion. Right now, I'm using an OSSC, but I can always switch to a Framemeister, or a generic SCART or VGA upscaler.

On the plus side for the Akura, it's cheaper to get going; you'd only need an HDMI cable, which you can get anywhere; whereas, with the Toro, you'd need either an HD15 to SCART adapter or a fully shielded SCART cable, and then a SCART to miniDIN for connecting to the Framemeister (assuming you don't already have one), which can add another, what, $50 to $60 USD on top of the Toro?


Why would anybody want to use anything but the OSSC? Aspect ratio will be wrong without it.
_________________
We apologize for the inconvenience


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 9:25 pm 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 431
orange808 wrote:
nmalinoski wrote:
The biggest problem with the Akura is that it enables VGA mode full-time, which prevents unpatched 480i-only games from booting. At least with the Toro, you have a switch that you can use to trick most of these games into booting in progressive mode.

Personally, I prefer the Toro (I bought one over the Akura) because it's overall more versatile; not only can I play the 480i-only games, I can choose what I use for the analog-to-digital conversion. Right now, I'm using an OSSC, but I can always switch to a Framemeister, or a generic SCART or VGA upscaler.

On the plus side for the Akura, it's cheaper to get going; you'd only need an HDMI cable, which you can get anywhere; whereas, with the Toro, you'd need either an HD15 to SCART adapter or a fully shielded SCART cable, and then a SCART to miniDIN for connecting to the Framemeister (assuming you don't already have one), which can add another, what, $50 to $60 USD on top of the Toro?


Why would anybody want to use anything but the OSSC? Aspect ratio will be wrong without it.

I may be inclined to bring my Dreamcast to a friend's or relative's house, but I'm not going to bother ripping my OSSC out of my setup to bring it, too. :P

Can't the Framemeister be configured to accept and properly display the 720x480 frame size from the Dreamcast?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 9:47 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11156
Location: Germany
Quote:
Can't the Framemeister be configured to accept and properly display the 720x480 frame size from the Dreamcast?

on the FM you can set any aspect ratoi you like. The problem is simply that the FM's upscaling on 480p sources isn't particularly great.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2018 1:28 am 



Joined: 22 Sep 2017
Posts: 31
Fudoh wrote:
Quote:
I need to finally bite the bullet and get my Dreamcast hooked up to my Framemeister

why? Your TV will most definitely doing a better job upscaling the DC's 480p output than the FM does.


My television doesn't have VGA input so I have no way of playing VGA compatible games on my Plasma.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2018 1:34 am 



Joined: 22 Sep 2017
Posts: 31
orange808 wrote:
nmalinoski wrote:
GojiFan90 wrote:
I need to finally bite the bullet and get my Dreamcast hooked up to my Framemeister but I'm torn between the Akura and the Toro. Which is preferable and why? Does the Toro have any advantage over the Akura? There is only a $5 difference in price.

The biggest problem with the Akura is that it enables VGA mode full-time, which prevents unpatched 480i-only games from booting. At least with the Toro, you have a switch that you can use to trick most of these games into booting in progressive mode.

Personally, I prefer the Toro (I bought one over the Akura) because it's overall more versatile; not only can I play the 480i-only games, I can choose what I use for the analog-to-digital conversion. Right now, I'm using an OSSC, but I can always switch to a Framemeister, or a generic SCART or VGA upscaler.

On the plus side for the Akura, it's cheaper to get going; you'd only need an HDMI cable, which you can get anywhere; whereas, with the Toro, you'd need either an HD15 to SCART adapter or a fully shielded SCART cable, and then a SCART to miniDIN for connecting to the Framemeister (assuming you don't already have one), which can add another, what, $50 to $60 USD on top of the Toro?


Why would anybody want to use anything but the OSSC? Aspect ratio will be wrong without it.


Sorry for the double-post (not sure how to multi-quote). I only have access to a Framemeister ATM. Bought it before OSSC was really a thing, and I don't currently have the funds for an OSSC as well. I have the SCART to mini-DIN adapter already, so aside from a Toro, all I would need to buy is a M to M SCART cable. Can anyone recommend where to get an inexpensive, properly shielded cable (that ships to the US)?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2018 4:31 am 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 2017
Posts: 481
Location: Outer Heaven
GojiFan90 wrote:
Fudoh wrote:
Quote:
I need to finally bite the bullet and get my Dreamcast hooked up to my Framemeister

why? Your TV will most definitely doing a better job upscaling the DC's 480p output than the FM does.


My television doesn't have VGA input so I have no way of playing VGA compatible games on my Plasma.


You can transcode it to ypbpr. Probably the better option. Or just wait for retrovision's Dreamcast ypbpr cable. IT'S COMING.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2018 4:37 am 



Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Posts: 540
orange808 wrote:
Why would anybody want to use anything but the OSSC? Aspect ratio will be wrong without it.


Because the OSSC doesn't work on all TV's, where the FM does for the most part. OSSC also hates SNES for some mysterious reason (at least 2 of mine...).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2018 5:04 am 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 431
Dochartaigh wrote:
OSSC also hates SNES for some mysterious reason (at least 2 of mine...).

You may want to check out this thread about NES and SNES video jitter: https://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=61285


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2018 1:41 pm 



Joined: 22 Sep 2017
Posts: 31
Steamflogger Boss wrote:
You can transcode it to ypbpr. Probably the better option. Or just wait for retrovision's Dreamcast ypbpr cable. IT'S COMING.


Ah, OK I didn't even think to do that! Can you recommend a good VGA to YPbPr transcoder? I've had bad experiences with the cheaply made video converters from China that you see floating around on eBay.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2018 1:51 pm 



Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Posts: 540
nmalinoski wrote:
You may want to check out this thread about NES and SNES video jitter: https://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=61285


Thank you for the link... but that's really ok...when a topic starts with "NES and SNES are known to use slightly inconsistent scanline timing in their 240p output signals. 2C02 PPU in NTSC NES / Famicom nominally outputs 262 scanlines, each consisting of 1364 MCLK cycles which equals 341 PPU cycles (MCLK is divided by 4). However, length of the pre-render scanline (#14 after vsync) is 4 MCLK cycles shorter in certain circumstances".....I kinda immediately close the page. No offense meant, but I'm already on my 3rd occupation....really don't have the need in learning how to become an amateur electrical engineer in my spare time - I just want to play video games!


Last edited by Dochartaigh on Wed Feb 28, 2018 2:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2018 2:08 pm 



Joined: 26 Feb 2018
Posts: 15
Hi everybody. This is my first post here as an active member of the forum. A read A LOT and learned so much!

Very short and straight question:

Does the Front Loader NES (NES 001), when installing the NESRGB mod, really need the external voltage regulator connected or not?
I see some people installed it and some other just uses the voltage regulator the NES already has and is not using the supplied one on the kit.

I'm going to install the kit on the next days so, I want to be sure about this matter.


Thanks!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 10:13 am 



Joined: 07 Jan 2018
Posts: 11
nmalinoski wrote:
kazaakas@hotmail.com wrote:
So I learned that using PAL consoles to output 60Hz leads to an off-spec 59-60Hz that's actually about one percent slower and this can cause problems. I was wondering, are all PAL consoles that are capable of 480p60 free from these issues? They must be equipped with a crystal that can perfectly reproduce 60Hz? Will that crystal only be used for 31kHz resolutions?

I'm European and my pre-480p era consoles are NTSC for this reason, but will my PS2, NGC and Wii be fine?

Are you referring to the ability of these PAL consoles to run NTSC games correctly, or their ability to run PAL60 games correctly?


I always like to use NTSC ROMs with my consoles, so I was wondering if I would get a 60Hz refresh rate out of those that's not out of spec.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:51 am 



Joined: 06 Mar 2017
Posts: 68
Mendion wrote:
Hi everybody. This is my first post here as an active member of the forum. A read A LOT and learned so much!

Very short and straight question:

Does the Front Loader NES (NES 001), when installing the NESRGB mod, really need the external voltage regulator connected or not?
I see some people installed it and some other just uses the voltage regulator the NES already has and is not using the supplied one on the kit.

I'm going to install the kit on the next days so, I want to be sure about this matter.


Thanks!


It doesn't strictly need it, but it's advisable that you install it. The increased load on the 7805 could cause it to overheat. Also, the heat of the 7805 causes problems with the adjacent capacitors. They often fail because they are so near the regulator. None of this might happen of course, but why take chances?

It's not that much work to install it anyway.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 1:38 pm 



Joined: 26 Feb 2018
Posts: 15
Makinx wrote:
Mendion wrote:
Hi everybody. This is my first post here as an active member of the forum. A read A LOT and learned so much!

Very short and straight question:

Does the Front Loader NES (NES 001), when installing the NESRGB mod, really need the external voltage regulator connected or not?
I see some people installed it and some other just uses the voltage regulator the NES already has and is not using the supplied one on the kit.

I'm going to install the kit on the next days so, I want to be sure about this matter.


Thanks!


It doesn't strictly need it, but it's advisable that you install it. The increased load on the 7805 could cause it to overheat. Also, the heat of the 7805 causes problems with the adjacent capacitors. They often fail because they are so near the regulator. None of this might happen of course, but why take chances?

It's not that much work to install it anyway.


Great.

I have another one:

I'm not quite sure about the purpose of connecting +5V to the video out connector. I saw some mods with it and some without it.
I'm going to use a SNES multiout connector with RetroGamingCables SNES CSYNC cable (this one: https://www.retrogamingcables.co.uk/nin ... -wire-cord).

Can someone enlighten me?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:21 pm 



Joined: 06 Mar 2017
Posts: 68
Mendion wrote:
Makinx wrote:
Mendion wrote:
Hi everybody. This is my first post here as an active member of the forum. A read A LOT and learned so much!

Very short and straight question:

Does the Front Loader NES (NES 001), when installing the NESRGB mod, really need the external voltage regulator connected or not?
I see some people installed it and some other just uses the voltage regulator the NES already has and is not using the supplied one on the kit.

I'm going to install the kit on the next days so, I want to be sure about this matter.


Thanks!


It doesn't strictly need it, but it's advisable that you install it. The increased load on the 7805 could cause it to overheat. Also, the heat of the 7805 causes problems with the adjacent capacitors. They often fail because they are so near the regulator. None of this might happen of course, but why take chances?

It's not that much work to install it anyway.


Great.

I have another one:

I'm not quite sure about the purpose of connecting +5V to the video out connector. I saw some mods with it and some without it.
I'm going to use a SNES multiout connector with RetroGamingCables SNES CSYNC cable (this one: https://www.retrogamingcables.co.uk/nin ... -wire-cord).

Can someone enlighten me?


European consumer televisions require a 1-3V voltage to SCART pin 16 to detect RGB signals. With no voltage, the tv will display composite signal (or nothing if this is not connected). So it depends on how and to what you intend to hook up your NES whether you really need it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:19 pm 



Joined: 26 Feb 2018
Posts: 15
Makinx wrote:
Mendion wrote:
Makinx wrote:
It doesn't strictly need it, but it's advisable that you install it. The increased load on the 7805 could cause it to overheat. Also, the heat of the 7805 causes problems with the adjacent capacitors. They often fail because they are so near the regulator. None of this might happen of course, but why take chances?

It's not that much work to install it anyway.


Great.

I have another one:

I'm not quite sure about the purpose of connecting +5V to the video out connector. I saw some mods with it and some without it.
I'm going to use a SNES multiout connector with RetroGamingCables SNES CSYNC cable (this one: https://www.retrogamingcables.co.uk/nin ... -wire-cord).

Can someone enlighten me?


European consumer televisions require a 1-3V voltage to SCART pin 16 to detect RGB signals. With no voltage, the tv will display composite signal (or nothing if this is not connected). So it depends on how and to what you intend to hook up your NES whether you really need it.


I want to hook up the NES to 2 things:

- A 14" Sony PVM that has BNC inputs. I already have the female SCART to BNC's cable.
- A gscartwsw_lite (that one is its way to my home right now). Then, after the gscartwsw_lite, 1 output going to my Framemeister and the other output going to a SCART to Component converter (a Shinybow SB-2840)


Last edited by Mendion on Fri Mar 02, 2018 12:16 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:37 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11156
Location: Germany
Neither the PVM nor the GScartSw require the switching voltage on pin 16. The PVM wouldn't see it anyway when using a Scart to BNC adapter and the GScartSw uses the sync signal signal (on pin 21) to detect signals and switch ports, not the signaling on pin 16.

It's meant for consumer TVs.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2018 12:14 am 



Joined: 26 Feb 2018
Posts: 15
Fudoh wrote:
Neither the PVM nor the GScartSw require the switching voltage on pin 16. The PVM wouldn't see it anyway when using a Scart to BNC adapter and the GScartSw uses the sync signal signal (on pin 21) to detect signals and switch ports, not the signaling on pin 16.

It's meant for consumer TVs.

That is very helpful. Thanks for clearing that up for me!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2018 9:53 am 


User avatar

Joined: 03 Jul 2014
Posts: 431
Location: Australia
Is it possible to use any region power supply on any region slim PS2? For some reason I thought I had read this but a quick google on my phone and I couldn't find the answer.

For example I want to use an Aus power supply with a JPN slim PS2.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2018 11:14 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Posts: 675
Location: Italy
Slim PS2s require 8.5V center positive, if your Asus PSU outputs that you should be fine. If it's slighlty above or below (+/-0.5V) it might be ok too, but don't take my word for it.

Superslims have internal PSU, which should be multivoltage. I have a JPN Superslim that I've never hooked up, I'll have to take the risk someday.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2018 7:38 pm 



Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 1153
Does anyone know if you can disable the idle timer and announcer voices in Mario Kart Arcade GP 1 and 2? Google yields no results.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2018 9:27 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Feb 2015
Posts: 2046
Location: DFW area, Texas
Fudoh wrote:
Quote:
Can't the Framemeister be configured to accept and properly display the 720x480 frame size from the Dreamcast?

on the FM you can set any aspect ratoi you like. The problem is simply that the FM's upscaling on 480p sources isn't particularly great.


Yep, however, you can combine the OSSC into the FM to effectively 'upgrade' the FM's upscaling of 480 (960) content. In the image below, I show the result of FM directly trying to upscale 480p versus having the OSSC line double first before going into the FM (which I programmed to scale the OSSC feed 1:1 onto a 1920x1080p footprint):

Image

This was done purely for the novelty because you'd certainly want to use the OSSC exclusively. But say your TV doesn't like 960 feed from the OSSC, this is a way to get around that by using the FM.
_________________
Framemeister profiles: http://www.firebrandx.com/framemeisterprofiles.html

NES NTSC Palettes: http://www.firebrandx.com/nespalette.html

SNES Serial DB: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1HYLy_TTDop_FzuX6qnxuQI43upg4raXfno582taO744/pubhtml


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 2:47 pm 



Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 1153
Would converting the digital HDMI signal from the Hi-Def NES, Ultra HDMI N64, GCVideo GameCube/Wii, etc. to analog for use on a CRT give me a better picture than just using the NES RGB, N64 RGB, GameCube Component Cables and Wii Component Cables?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:35 pm 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 431
I'm in the US and need a couple male-to-male SCART cables; one for connecting my Dreamcast's Toro box to a SCART switch, and another for connecting said switch to my OSSC. Right now, I'm looking at the $20 USD 1m Sony-branded cables from Behar Bros and the ~$30 USD 1.5m Packapunch cables from RGC.

As far as I can tell, both are double-shielded and use quality components and metal SCART heads; so would it be a safe assumption that there would be minimal difference in performance between the two?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:57 pm 



Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Posts: 540
USA, Amazon, Prime, 10' or 15' same price $6.39. Don't think they use coax but give me a beautiful clear picture on my PVM's (I use them as extension cables, and for my Raspberry Pi 3 with Pi2SCART RGB board).

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01DY ... UTF8&psc=1


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6089 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 187, 188, 189, 190, 191, 192, 193 ... 203  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: crispytreat, NoAffinity, Pikkon and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group