shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Tue Jun 22, 2021 2:16 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8483 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 278, 279, 280, 281, 282, 283  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2021 9:33 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 170
Location: TX
FinalBaton wrote:
Is there still someone making quality S-video cables for consoles?

I know Retro Access made some for a while but I don't see any on their site now...


You can get good S-Video cables for SNES/64/GC from Insurrection Industries:
https://insurrectionindustries.com/prod ... o-s-video/

Playstation official S-Video are easy to find because they made them for so long. Hit up eBay.

Dreamcast can get good Svideo from VGA boxes, and Saturn you pretty much have to roll your own.

Or... , buy this crazy cable from Canada and tell us how it works out. Seller claims that you can have PSX, Dreamcast, SNES, and Saturn hooked up all at once with good quality. Let us know how that works! Probably not well... I don't think that there is a proper way to wire up a four tail and such

https://www.ebay.com/itm/193606817434?h ... 8&LH_BIN=1


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2021 11:13 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2015
Posts: 4434
Location: Québec City
I actually already took a chance on the crazy multi cable built in China and sold through that canadian seller. Lol! I'm sure it'll be terrible. I'll report back

The Insurection Industries one has ''out of stock'' written on its page.

Yeah I had already ordered an official ps3 one 2 years ago. Gave it to a buddy. Now I ordered another one. $40 is a bit more than I wanted to pay but... Oh well.
_________________
-FM Synth & Black Metal-


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2021 8:11 am 


User avatar

Joined: 03 Jul 2016
Posts: 11
You think Analogue will ever make a cheaper variation of the Nt Mini kind of like how the Super Nt was cheaper?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2021 2:28 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 170
Location: TX
DragonQuarter wrote:
You think Analogue will ever make a cheaper variation of the Nt Mini kind of like how the Super Nt was cheaper?


Lol, no, never.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2021 3:01 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Oct 2016
Posts: 1542
Location: bmore
I'm not so sure about that. I would think they will continue to release FPGA NES clones into the future, but not with the fit and finish of the original. They have already said that they won't ever release the expensive milled aluminum housing versions of the NT/Mini ever again, so the next logical step is a cost reduced version. They are a company that exists to make money and support themselves, so it makes sense to me that they would do it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2021 10:07 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 2682
Location: Montréal, Canada
Analogue registered a trademark for "Analogue 8" at the same time they registered "Analogue Pocket", which had lead us to believe that they were planning a new lower-cost 8-bit console at their new typical $200 pricepoint. The Analogue Pocket eventually was announced, but they abandoned the application for the Analogue 8 trademark, so it's now defunct. You can see a list of all their trademarks here: https://www.trademarkia.com/company-ana ... 0-page-1-2

This doesn't mean that they've given up on the idea. My understanding (which is very limited) is that in order to get a trademark registered, you need to file a statement of use showing that you're using the trademark. The lack of this is why they lost the 8 trademark, though I'm not sure if it's lost or just stalled. My guess is that they decided to follow the Pocket up with the Analogue Duo instead of the 8, and thus couldn't complete the registration on 8. This doesn't mean they won't follow the Duo with the 8 or that concept under a different name.

I think that Analogue is all-in on the strategy of "We can make a lot more profit at the $200 pricepoint than the $500 pricepoint because we'll sell a ton more units", so I think it's inevitable that they'll do a $200 8-bit console.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2021 10:53 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Oct 2016
Posts: 1542
Location: bmore
Yes, I totally agree. I work at a company that makes stuff and I can confirm that, once you hit a certain level of market saturation, scaling down to fit a price is really the only way to continue to sell stuff.

Basically, with the really expensive product, you are only guaranteed to sell a limited number, and once those people buy them, that's it, they don't ever need another one. You have to work the price down to a point where it's a insta-buy for a larger range of people, and buying a new one with more features isn't a problem in the future. It's a lot harder of a sell to push multiple $500 NES clones on a single buyer with the justification of slight feature improvements. Even if you say that there are still a number of people who might buy an expensive NT, that's going to hit a hard limit pretty quickly and then Analog is left holding their gonads in their hands. In order to keep sales going and stay afloat, you have to predict and shift before that happens (especially if there are any investors to please).

I mean, neither of us work there, but it's not too hard to see the writing on the wall. Either they come up with a lower price point device to sell, or they won't really be viable anymore.

AFA the delays on the 8 device or whatever, the chip shortages have impacted many projects of all scales.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2021 10:58 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 2599
Location: Kentucky
Has anyone ever done temperature readings for a Dreamcast VA0 console? You will read all over that "some say it runs hotter than a VA1, so that's why it has the heatpipe" but that sounds exactly like one of those internet things that somebody said once and then everybody else parroted for the next decade.

Knowing Sega's history with hardware revisions I would suspect off-hand that it's much more likely they simplified cooling to cut costs and the VA0's cooling was just overkill.

I ask because I'm trying out a low-noise fan adapter (ie resistor on the voltage line) in my VA0 and the noise is much, much better but the console is a bit warm to the touch. I unfortunately lack a proper digital thermometer or thermal camera to get proper scientific readings on the before and after. For anyone unaware, the Noctua fan mod does not work in a VA0.

EDIT: Noise test were before I put the top of the case back on... The majority of the noise from the stock VA0 fan is coming from the sound of air blowing through the plastic grille on the side of the case. Maybe I can get an aftermarket lid and modify it and see how it sounds?


Last edited by bobrocks95 on Sun May 30, 2021 12:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2021 11:04 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 2682
Location: Montréal, Canada
vol.2 wrote:
AFA the delays on the 8 device or whatever, the chip shortages have impacted many projects of all scales.


The thing is, they didn't delay the 8, they announced the Duo instead. So a new product was announced regardless.

Of course, the potential market for an FPGA Duo is much smaller than the potential market for an FPGA NES/SMS/everything else 8-bit.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2021 2:36 am 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 170
Location: TX
Guspaz wrote:
vol.2 wrote:
AFA the delays on the 8 device or whatever, the chip shortages have impacted many projects of all scales.


The thing is, they didn't delay the 8, they announced the Duo instead. So a new product was announced regardless.

Of course, the potential market for an FPGA Duo is much smaller than the potential market for an FPGA NES/SMS/everything else 8-bit.


That Duo is one hot number. I think I'm going to get one mostly for its looks! Also because real Duos are seemingly quite unreliable. My white one came with RGB and I think it was recapped and I have never had an issue, but if it broke I would have a hard time justifying a genuine NEC replacement. I got a deal on this one.

What would be amazing is a NeoGeo system from Analogue. It could use MVS carts and CDs. NeoDuo.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2021 3:28 am 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 2599
Location: Kentucky
SCARTicus wrote:
Guspaz wrote:
vol.2 wrote:
AFA the delays on the 8 device or whatever, the chip shortages have impacted many projects of all scales.


The thing is, they didn't delay the 8, they announced the Duo instead. So a new product was announced regardless.

Of course, the potential market for an FPGA Duo is much smaller than the potential market for an FPGA NES/SMS/everything else 8-bit.


That Duo is one hot number. I think I'm going to get one mostly for its looks! Also because real Duos are seemingly quite unreliable. My white one came with RGB and I think it was recapped and I have never had an issue, but if it broke I would have a hard time justifying a genuine NEC replacement. I got a deal on this one.

What would be amazing is a NeoGeo system from Analogue. It could use MVS carts and CDs. NeoDuo.


The Duo was the first Analogue product that I thought was really significantly cheaper than what it was replacing. I don't have much use for a $200 NES or SNES when I already have an OSSC for other consoles and can get a real one for less. But a PC Engine Duo-R cost me around $200 for just the console, before I had to replace the disc drive and pay for an RGB mod. And I would assume the Analogue Duo plays all region HuCards too, I can't play US ones without a very destructive and convoluted mod. So it has more functionality for much less than I paid (unless they're still charging an arm and a leg for shipping of course :P )


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2021 7:53 am 



Joined: 21 Jul 2014
Posts: 99
Location: UK
bobrocks95 wrote:
The Duo was the first Analogue product that I thought was really significantly cheaper than what it was replacing. I don't have much use for a $200 NES or SNES when I already have an OSSC for other consoles and can get a real one for less. But a PC Engine Duo-R cost me around $200 for just the console, before I had to replace the disc drive and pay for an RGB mod. And I would assume the Analogue Duo plays all region HuCards too, I can't play US ones without a very destructive and convoluted mod. So it has more functionality for much less than I paid (unless they're still charging an arm and a leg for shipping of course :P )


It also plays SuperGrafx games which makes it tempting to me even though I have a nice, RBG modded and recapped Duo R.

I hope it’ll have larger, more robust and reliable memory for saves, I believe original hardware uses a large capacitor to retain saves similar to a MegaCD. I have a Tennokoe bank card, but it’s a pain to use and also relies on a battery.

I imagine shipping will be about $50…


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2021 4:36 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 170
Location: TX
Also the Analogue Pocket will play HuCards and TurboChips


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2021 11:41 pm 



Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Posts: 170
Does anyone know if it's possible to play games on the Mister FPGA @120Hz and if so how to do it? On my LG CX I can get the menu sort of stable @120Hz running custom resolutions 1152x1080 and 1280x1080 both CVT with reduced blanking but games still run @60Hz.

Also why do I never see anyone talking about the OLED motion pro on the high setting? Sure OLED motion pro on the low and medium setting is pretty terrible in terms of motion clarity but high is amazing. Yes it's dim and can flicker @60Hz but it has CRT like motion and when running @120Hz it's bright enough and there's no flicker. Seriously I welcome any LG CX/GX or C1/G1 owner to try it out.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2021 12:10 am 



Joined: 01 Mar 2018
Posts: 764
I disassembled my TurboGrafx CD Dock thing because I was checking if it needed a recap job. It looked fine so i reassembled it but now it doesn't work. I confirmed the TG16 itself works with my RGB cable, so it clearly gets power. I tested the communication pins in the rear by using my pin to RCA adapter. I think the CD player still works, but didn't confirm (also didn't touch the CD). I don't think the dock is being powered. The RGB port is on the TG16 itself and doesn't work when I plug it into the dock but power it from the dock. Anyone have a suggesting how to fix this? Docks on eBay are absurdly expensive now for some reason.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2021 5:44 am 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 2599
Location: Kentucky
Does anyone know if the RGB color LUT for the PC Engine was ever discussed RE native hardware? I read that the missing colors vs composite were fixed for Mister, but I think that was it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2021 11:23 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2009
Posts: 297
Location: Canada
Capacitor question. Monitor (audio) is making awful sounds and I happen to have the caps to replace, but what this orange substance between them? Is it just an adhesive, or does it have thermal properties? Any guesses, as I don't have any of whatever that is...

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2021 2:08 am 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Oct 2016
Posts: 1542
Location: bmore
HDgaming42 wrote:
Is it just an adhesive, or does it have thermal properties? Any guesses, as I don't have any of whatever that is...

Spoiler: show
Image


Yes. It is hot glue.

I have some doubts if replacing the caps will fix the issue (unless you have detectived it to that point). If you want help figuring out what is wrong with it you should post more thorough information.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2021 12:16 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 12758
Location: Germany
Can somebody give me an idea which tools to use to transfer a PS1 save game from an original memory card and convert it into a file which I can use with retroarch?

I have the original hardware on hand as well as a PS3 mem card reader and a PS1 mem card pro (using micro sd cards).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2021 12:55 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Oct 2016
Posts: 1542
Location: bmore
Fudoh wrote:
Can somebody give me an idea which tools to use to transfer a PS1 save game from an original memory card and convert it into a file which I can use with retroarch?

I have the original hardware on hand as well as a PS3 mem card reader and a PS1 mem card pro (using micro sd cards).


The way I do it is to use a PS2 loaded with FMCB and transfer the savegame files from the memory card directly to a usb stick. The stick has to be FAT32.

The savegame files have different filename structures for different games, but they are pretty similar to each other and often have a code like "BASLUS" in them followed by a string.

There are also various memory card management frontends for PSX/2 savegames with editors you can find online, but I've never used any of those. I just keep everything on a stick. It's very important to backup those saves if you care about them. I've had at least 3 PS1 memory cards fail on me, and it's not hard to pooch the data if you are going between a PS1 and PS2.

Trying to use a PS3, I'm not famailar with as I've never owned one.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2021 3:50 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 756
Location: Bellingham, WA
What device can some one reccomend going from RGBHV to DVI-D?

My goal is to chain an OSSC into an Extron RXI 203 to a DVI-D port

INPUT SIGNAL>OSSC>TENDAK DAC HDMI to RGBHV>DSUB CABLE>EXTRON RXI 203>BNC TO DSUB CABLE> ?? > DVI D INPUT ON CRT.

Any input would be helpful. I have all these devices and cables minus a recommended Vga to DVI..
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2021 4:47 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 12758
Location: Germany
that doesn't make too much sense. What's the 203's purpose in this case?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2021 7:23 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 756
Location: Bellingham, WA
Peak and level control as well as ease of centering.

I saw one in action so I bought one for my Mitsubishi XC3725C and I want to use it on a HDCRT 540p Trinitron and it requires me to use the DVI-D for lowest input lag.

Any recommendations Fudoh?
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2021 10:28 pm 



Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 503
Hoagtech wrote:
I saw one in action so I bought one for my Mitsubishi XC3725C and I want to use it on a HDCRT 540p Trinitron and it requires me to use the DVI-D for lowest input lag.


Are you sure about that? viewtopic.php?p=1424904#p1424904


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2021 10:56 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 756
Location: Bellingham, WA
strayan wrote:
Hoagtech wrote:
I saw one in action so I bought one for my Mitsubishi XC3725C and I want to use it on a HDCRT 540p Trinitron and it requires me to use the DVI-D for lowest input lag.


Are you sure about that? viewtopic.php?p=1424904#p1424904


According to original article I was referenced to the input lag is much worse on 480p component than DVI on the lag test.

Granted the DVI is converted to YPBPR but the lag test shows otherwise.


2nd Update:

I went ahead and checked how much delay feeding the TV non 1080i resolutions after changing the above service menu setting would cause and here are my results:
{SNIP}
Component:

480i 50ms

480p: 30ms

720p: 14ms

DVI:

480p: 14ms

720p: 16ms
{/END SNIP}


Regardless of the tech. I recently sold my Audio Authority VGA to Component for cheap and I don’t want to buy it for more from Fleabay.

Can someone recommend a good VGA to DVI adapter for ANY purpose that doesn’t introduce input lag?

I would love to know what people are using for their VGA to DVI purposes.
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2021 11:08 pm 



Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 503
Ah, I thought you were targeting lag free 540p.

You know you can just use a VGA to HDMI transcoder and HDMI to DVI cable right?

They should all be lag free.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2021 12:17 am 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 756
Location: Bellingham, WA
strayan wrote:
Ah, I thought you were targeting lag free 540p.

You know you can just use a VGA to HDMI transcoder and HDMI to DVI cable right?

They should all be lag free.


I will eventually when the modern scalers are both readily available and implement a 480p res in a 540p window.

For now I have this and have no idea about it’s lag or quality as I noticed some DAC’s have scaling, black crush, and jitter.

I was hoping for recommendation and understanding of the ADC.

Image
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2021 4:14 am 



Joined: 22 Mar 2020
Posts: 10
My CRT is RGB modded with a VGA connector input (with pinouts to RGB and csync). I have a NESRGB with SNES multiout A/V connector output. I don't have a multiout to vga cable. Does such a cable exist? If not, what do you recommend for a DIY solution? Should I mod a multiout to SCART cable or a VGA cable?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2021 4:27 am 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 756
Location: Bellingham, WA
mbstone wrote:
My CRT is RGB modded with a VGA connector input (with pinouts to RGB and csync). I have a NESRGB with SNES multiout A/V connector output. I don't have a multiout to vga cable. Does such a cable exist? If not, what do you recommend for a DIY solution? Should I mod a multiout to SCART cable or a VGA cable?


You can create an input with a couple adapters:

VGA to Scart and Scart coupler

https://www.ebay.com/itm/154453564837?c ... 6167ce8dac

https://www.ebay.com/itm/233986833960?c ... bcbc46802c

Image
Image
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2021 4:31 am 



Joined: 14 Aug 2017
Posts: 1520
mbstone wrote:
My CRT is RGB modded with a VGA connector input (with pinouts to RGB and csync). I have a NESRGB with SNES multiout A/V connector output. I don't have a multiout to vga cable. Does such a cable exist? If not, what do you recommend for a DIY solution? Should I mod a multiout to SCART cable or a VGA cable?


Retro-Access can make one for you.

If you buy SCART-VGA cables, pay attention to the direction, a SCART to VGA cable is not the same as a VGA to SCART cable.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8483 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 278, 279, 280, 281, 282, 283  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group