shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Wed Jul 15, 2020 5:27 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7819 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 256, 257, 258, 259, 260, 261  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 5:25 am 



Joined: 24 Jun 2020
Posts: 17
I'm looking for a no lag HDMI upscaler, that can properly handle odd resolutions like 960p from the OSSC, lets me specify the output color space, and preferably allows me to choose the type of scaling (bilinear, bicubic, nearest neighbor, etc). I also prefer a small device. I really wanted the mClassic to be my main upscaler, but I've heard the mClassic doesn't allow 960p input. I've seen DSC devices mentioned a lot and I wanted to buy the HD-HD, but that isn't available anywhere. Then there's the DSC 301 but it's a large, and I'd prefer small. Price limit is like $200 USD at absolute highest. What else should I take a look at?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 5:38 am 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Jun 2012
Posts: 3892
Location: Chicago, IL
People seem to think highly of Retrobit's wireless saturn pads (i like them, 2.4ghz is ideal I believe). Check to see if they have a wireless Genesis controller. Wish I could offer more help.

My region-modded PS2 phat SCPH-39001 feels like it is freezing more and more on games (during loading screens). Some ps1 games take quite a while before they start (e.g. Namco Museum Vol. 5), while others will freeze occasionally (say, going between songs in a music game like Pop'n Music Fever or Technic Beat). Last night, ESPGaluda didn't even load despite a few attempts. I'm worried the PS2 Phat (modded again, with a Matrix chip, can't remember which), is growing more uncooperative (or dying). I am certain it's not the fault of these games; Technic Beat I bought brand new just a week or so ago.

What are some recommended ways to diagnose a problem with a PS2 phat. I know I should probably get some canned air and clean it out, but is there a way to tell if it's an issue with heating (if so, what to do?), or parts breaking down?

I had bought the region-modded machine to play imports as well as maintain my NTSC-U collection in a single unit, so I had kinda hoped I could stay on that route.
_________________
Image
DEMON'S TILT [bullet hell pinball] - Music Composer || EC2151 ~ My FM/YM2612 music & more! || 1CC List || PCE-CD: The Search for Quality


Top
 Online Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 12:05 pm 



Joined: 21 Jul 2014
Posts: 80
Location: UK
The 8bitdo 2.4ghz M30 is a great wireless genesis controller. Just make sure to update the firmware on the receiver. No issues with diagonal inputs unlike their Nintendo controllers.

I also have the retro bit 2.4ghz wireless Saturn pad and whilst it’s good I can detect a tiny bit of lag, even fully updated. Fine for most games but I switch to a wired pad for fighters/shooters. Doesn’t feel as well built as the 8bitdo pad either. It does come with a USB dongle though that makes it useful for switch etc.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 3:01 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2015
Posts: 4049
Location: Québec City
Thanks Emperoring and Enragedwhale on your take for my questions on which wireless controllers to get for NES, SNES, Genesis and PS2

(my original post was on last page and I didn't want my query to be buried)
_________________
-FM Synth & Black Metal-


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 10:48 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 07 Feb 2008
Posts: 231
Location: Spain
I finally got a modded x360 to play my original jap shmups (my jap x360 is starting to show age with red lights regularly). It has aurora and works really well. Problem is that dvd-drive refuses to read my original games and I can't save them to the Hdd.. Is there an easy way to pass my original games to the hdd in the modded 360?

I have a Mac and a usb-superdrive drive if it helps. I tried to save espgaluda II to a dmg image, convert to iso, and try to convert it to with iso2god, but the app don't convert it... any help?
_________________
Working in the japanese language achievement


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 11:06 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 12310
Location: Germany
As far as I recall, in oder to rip 360 discs on your PC/MAC you need a special drive (with support for a special FW).

Is the drive on your Aurora-modded system busted or why doesn't it read your discs ? The region-free aspect of JTAG and RGH modded 360s indeed doesn't apply to playing from discs. Instead you're supposed to rip your games to HDD on the machine itself. I have a number of RGH modded units and this works flawlessly regardless of the games' possible region locks.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 11:30 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Jan 2012
Posts: 917
Location: San Jose, CA
ApolloBoy wrote:
The composite sync signal is still present and I’m also using an OEM link cable.

I did a little more testing today and I still can't get the 32X working on this system. I'm at a loss here and I can't understand how the Triple Bypass could've completely broken 32X compatibility like this.

EDIT: Composite video through the 32X isn't working either, just tested it on a CRT and I just get a very dim rolling TMSS screen followed by nothing.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 12:32 am 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2018
Posts: 1240
ApolloBoy wrote:
ApolloBoy wrote:
The composite sync signal is still present and I’m also using an OEM link cable.

I did a little more testing today and I still can't get the 32X working on this system. I'm at a loss here and I can't understand how the Triple Bypass could've completely broken 32X compatibility like this.

EDIT: Composite video through the 32X isn't working either, just tested it on a CRT and I just get a very dim rolling TMSS screen followed by nothing.

does the triple bypass cut/intercept the csync/CBVS lines at all? I know nothing about it


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 12:40 am 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Jan 2012
Posts: 917
Location: San Jose, CA
It doesn't touch the composite video line at all, and the way I have it configured right now also means that it doesn't touch the composite sync line. The 32X generates its own composite video signal so I'm not sure what's going on.

EDIT: I think this issue deserves a new thread, this is beginning to drive me up the wall and I need to get this fixed.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 3:46 pm 



Joined: 15 Oct 2017
Posts: 159
Does anyone know what the Automatic Colour Control (ACC) function does in PVM/BVMs? The service manual doesn't explain much.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 3:48 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 07 Feb 2008
Posts: 231
Location: Spain
Fudoh wrote:
Is the drive on your Aurora-modded system busted or why doesn't it read your discs ? The region-free aspect of JTAG and RGH modded 360s indeed doesn't apply to playing from discs. Instead you're supposed to rip your games to HDD on the machine itself. I have a number of RGH modded units and this works flawlessly regardless of the games' possible region locks.


The unit works, but it is exactly like an unmoded drive, hides de xex file and the option to make an iso image. From what I have been told in another forum, apart from RGH the console, the drive needs to be flashed with your nand and a key to be able to make backups. Unfortunately the person who modded the x360 probably thought was going to be used with downloaded games.... and I have bought it second hand, so, no chance to have it solved.

Thanks for your reply. Now time to investigate how to do it outside the RGH’d x360, or downloading them...
_________________
Working in the japanese language achievement


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 6:13 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 2017
Posts: 2344
Location: Eating the Rich
I've seen the Extron DVS-304 mentioned a bit around here recently but it was hard to search and get all the results. I had a friend recommend it for a set-up. What exactly is this thing good for?
_________________
New best thread on shmups farm forum. BIGWOW. Such deleted posts, many scrubs, so opinion.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 6:21 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 12310
Location: Germany
nothing. A few years ago it was an easy and cheap solution for converting 24khz source signals into something higher. If you have to stay under a certain budget I could imagine it being useful for overall scaling, but for really just a little bit more money, you can find considerably better devices.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 6:22 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2015
Posts: 4049
Location: Québec City
I had one and hated it. Tearing and upscaled picture wasn't good. It transcoded so I guess it has that going for it? but with upscaling like that, who gives a good goddamn

Boss, Are you sure you're not thinking of the model that has 301 in the name? that one upscale 480p very cleanly I think? and some people on here are using it.
_________________
-FM Synth & Black Metal-


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 7:06 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 2017
Posts: 2344
Location: Eating the Rich
FinalBaton wrote:
I had one and hated it. Tearing and upscaled picture wasn't good. It transcoded so I guess it has that going for it? but with upscaling like that, who gives a good goddamn

Boss, Are you sure you're not thinking of the model that has 301 in the name? that one upscale 480p very cleanly I think? and some people on here are using it.


I might have been confused about it. It's a very similar number so quite possible.

This is just for a projector anyway and I think I'm better off with the Lumagen I already have on hand that has projector oriented firmware iirc. I'd like to get a newer Lumagen at some point, eventually.
_________________
New best thread on shmups farm forum. BIGWOW. Such deleted posts, many scrubs, so opinion.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 7:19 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 12310
Location: Germany
Lumagens have pretty low lag and nice scaling, but they're mangling the picture to a certain degree because the processing is limited to 4:2:2 and the chroma upsampling isn't great for graphics.

Especially for the combination of a projector and video games, I would really recommend to a try a 4:4:4 processing solution. It will make a noticeable difference. The Extron that FinalBaton mentioned can be found for around $100-150. It's upscaling for graphics is excellent and it's full 4:4:4 - input to output. If you require 4K, then the 4K Extrons are still a bit on the expensive side though.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 7:24 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 2017
Posts: 2344
Location: Eating the Rich
Not planning to play any video games on it, only film content.
_________________
New best thread on shmups farm forum. BIGWOW. Such deleted posts, many scrubs, so opinion.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 7:29 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 12310
Location: Germany
Alright then. If you're upscaling SD, still try some other solutions some day. I was never really convinced of Lumagen's SD handling.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 7:35 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 2017
Posts: 2344
Location: Eating the Rich
Fudoh wrote:
Alright then. If you're upscaling SD, still try some other solutions some day. I was never really convinced of Lumagen's SD handling.


LD and DVD 99% of the time.

I want to wait until I have a newer projector for BD.

These are things I have that are not currently in use at all: DVDO VP30 w/ add-on card, Image Anyplace IA-100, Lumagen VisionPro HDP, Extron DVS 304A.
_________________
New best thread on shmups farm forum. BIGWOW. Such deleted posts, many scrubs, so opinion.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 8:07 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 12310
Location: Germany
Which of these are you currently using the LD and DVD?

Try a Faroudja Sage 2300/2310 based unit sometime. The step up in deinterlacing quality compared to the FLI-2200 (that's the one in your SOIA if I recall correctly) is huge. So much more pop compared to Lumagen's SD handling.

The DVDOs are fantastic for really good SD material. Late generation DVDs (2004+) really shine on the DVDOs. For LD or weaker DVD material, the Faroudjas outshine the DVDOs though. That's something you have to see for yourself and benchmark don't do this justice. The ABT102 in your VP30 has so much more tricks up its sleeve that it performs better than any Faroudja on many benchmark test clips, but in terms of overall picture impact, the Faroudjas can still come out ahead (with the right content).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 10:55 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Jan 2012
Posts: 917
Location: San Jose, CA
Anyone have any luck adjusting the laser for a PC Engine Duo/TurboDuo? I got one that has already been recapped but it's not loading discs. I also don't have access to a scope.

EDIT: Sent it off to Keith Courage over at the PC Engine Software Bible Forum, I decided I'd rather leave it to someone who has far more experience than I do.


Last edited by ApolloBoy on Thu Jul 02, 2020 4:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:03 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 2410
Location: Kentucky
ApolloBoy wrote:
Anyone have any luck adjusting the laser for a PC Engine Duo/TurboDuo? I got one that has already been recapped but it's not loading discs. I also don't have access to a scope.


With the Duo-R you can buy a brand new laser from China since it's an off-the-shelf part. Might be the same with the regular Duo?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:06 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Jan 2012
Posts: 917
Location: San Jose, CA
The Duo and Duo-R use the exact same laser but that's not the issue at fault. Looking at it, I'm convinced that whoever recapped this system messed around with the adjustment pots on the motherboard and they're off far enough that it's not loading discs.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 10:54 am 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Jul 2017
Posts: 550
ApolloBoy wrote:
Anyone have any luck adjusting the laser for a PC Engine Duo/TurboDuo? I got one that has already been recapped but it's not loading discs. I also don't have access to a scope.


I have adjusted the pots on a couple CDROM2s with good results, I followed the guide in this thread:

https://www.pcenginefans.com/forum/index.php?topic=8926.0


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 11:54 am 


User avatar

Joined: 25 May 2014
Posts: 613
There is also the Repair FAQ for CD players which describes in generic terms what the adjustments in a CD player do and how to adjust them.
_________________
GCVideo releases: https://github.com/ikorb/gcvideo/releases


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 5:16 pm 



Joined: 21 Aug 2016
Posts: 624
It's been a few years since I looked into this, but what's the best way to get RGB from an NTSC N64 assuming that you have the model that works with the simple mods? That's what I have and I have it modded with N64RGB from Tim Worthington, but the RGB is so much noisier than s-video. It's not as noticeable on a CRT, but it's almost painful to play through an upscaler (and yes, I am using high-quality, shielded cables and have tried several different ones just in case). I've tried all sorts of grounding and cable swaps for the mod and nothing helps. I know at one point there was some discussion over replacing some capacitors or power supply bits to clean up the noise, but I'm wondering if switching to a different mod might be a better way to go. It's the only console that is this bad and it's quite frustrating.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 5:55 pm 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 1757
thebigcheese wrote:
It's been a few years since I looked into this, but what's the best way to get RGB from an NTSC N64 assuming that you have the model that works with the simple mods? That's what I have and I have it modded with N64RGB from Tim Worthington, but the RGB is so much noisier than s-video. It's not as noticeable on a CRT, but it's almost painful to play through an upscaler (and yes, I am using high-quality, shielded cables and have tried several different ones just in case). I've tried all sorts of grounding and cable swaps for the mod and nothing helps. I know at one point there was some discussion over replacing some capacitors or power supply bits to clean up the noise, but I'm wondering if switching to a different mod might be a better way to go. It's the only console that is this bad and it's quite frustrating.

My understanding is that that style of RGB mod needs to be paired with a power filter, because the N64's 3.3V rail is noisy. I'm not sure if that mod has been revised to include the filtering.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 6:02 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Jul 2017
Posts: 550
thebigcheese wrote:
It's been a few years since I looked into this, but what's the best way to get RGB from an NTSC N64 assuming that you have the model that works with the simple mods? That's what I have and I have it modded with N64RGB from Tim Worthington, but the RGB is so much noisier than s-video. It's not as noticeable on a CRT, but it's almost painful to play through an upscaler (and yes, I am using high-quality, shielded cables and have tried several different ones just in case). I've tried all sorts of grounding and cable swaps for the mod and nothing helps. I know at one point there was some discussion over replacing some capacitors or power supply bits to clean up the noise, but I'm wondering if switching to a different mod might be a better way to go. It's the only console that is this bad and it's quite frustrating.

It shouldn't be that noisy.. sounds like something is wrong with your mod in particular. Are your digital wires for the mod running too close to the analog ones? Do you have any pictures of the mod?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 6:35 pm 



Joined: 21 Aug 2016
Posts: 624
Kez wrote:
It shouldn't be that noisy.. sounds like something is wrong with your mod in particular. Are your digital wires for the mod running too close to the analog ones? Do you have any pictures of the mod?


It's a little unorthodox, but this is the install: https://photos.app.goo.gl/dHdNy8YcEGDLs6L46. To explain what's going on, I originally just used the ribbon cables that came with the kit. It was pretty noisy, so I thought maybe if I shielded the analog wires going to the output it would help. That thick black wire is the product of that, a nice, shielded Mogami cable. That made zero difference. I also ran the extra ground wire, which was added in a later version of the install guide, but broke off a grounding pad in the process, so some of the stuff is routed around that. The digital wires are all wired directly to the chip underneath. Suffice it to say, I don't think it's these wires or the SCART cable(s) I'm using since none of those shows any difference. That plus the fact that this is the only console that has this issue. It's not jailbars, it's just like horizontal lines almost, as if there was interference kinda flickering around the screen if that makes sense.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 6:46 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Jul 2017
Posts: 550
Hmm, although your analog wires are shielded, your digital wires are actually running pretty close to the multi-out which is not shielded. Check out Borti's installation guide for his N64RGB/N64A here: https://github.com/borti4938/n64rgb/blob/master/Guide_N64A_n_N64RGB.pdf
In the section called "Preparation - Top RF Shield", he has bent away part of the RF shield to prevent the digital wires getting close to the multi-out.

Failing that, the only other thing I could think to look into is the 3.3V noise that has been discussed at length elsewhere (https://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=61455)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7819 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 256, 257, 258, 259, 260, 261  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], marqs, Phosryn, Splozion and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group