shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Mon Aug 20, 2018 5:24 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11084 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 366, 367, 368, 369, 370
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-mini Framemeister
PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:18 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11200
Location: Germany
It's not a good idea. First because the Akura doesn't output the proper resolution. You get sampling errors due to the "faulty" analogue to digital conversion. And second because the FM isn't great for 480 upscaling to start with.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-mini Framemeister
PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:24 am 



Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Posts: 108
Location: Austria
Fudoh wrote:
It's not a good idea. First because the Akura doesn't output the proper resolution. You get sampling errors due to the "faulty" analogue to digital conversion. And second because the FM isn't great for 480 upscaling to start with.


Thanks for the quick answer. Well then I will wait until next year with the uprade when I have my OSSC. And until then I play my games with rgb scart over the FM.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-mini Framemeister
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 1:44 am 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Feb 2013
Posts: 937
Location: Canaduh
Greetings all, I've not been on this forum for a couple years, I moved last year and only just this week found time to hook up all my old consoles and my Framemeister.

While the FBX profiles were available at the time, i never tried them, Last night I flashed to the newest firmware (v2.03) and installed the PS2/Xbox/GC profiles. (my 240p consoles are connected to a CRT.) I've installed them in the correct directory on the SD card, and I can see them and select them in the menu. However, when i load them, nothing changes, its like i didn't select anything. it just keeps using the existing settings.

Is this a known issue? I can set the Framemeister up with pretty good settings, and I was happy with the way it looked before, but I know FBX has put a ton of effort into these profiles and wanted to try them out.

I see they've corrected the scanlines on 1080p output, which is nice at least.
_________________
SHMUP SALE!
My WTB Thread
https://soundcloud.com/brokenharbour
http://twitter.com/Broken_Harbour


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-mini Framemeister
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 2:13 pm 



Joined: 04 Apr 2017
Posts: 36
I would say make sure you're using Load and not Load_Select. When you use Load_Select it doesn't actually load all of the profiles settings, and the important ones like zoom and such are ignored.

I also find if I make changes to the SD card, I need to unplug the FM for like 10 - 15 seconds and then plug it back in, to get it to see those changes.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-mini Framemeister
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:20 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Jul 2017
Posts: 249
I feel like if the scanlines have been corrected then the profiles must have been loaded, at least to some extent.

Bear in mind that if you are outputting 480p from any of those systems then the FM may not do significantly better than going direct to your TV. Where the FM really shines is 240p and 480i. If you are using 480i, make sure the profiles you choose are the 480i ones.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-mini Framemeister
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 6:51 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Feb 2013
Posts: 937
Location: Canaduh
Kez wrote:
I feel like if the scanlines have been corrected then the profiles must have been loaded, at least to some extent.

Bear in mind that if you are outputting 480p from any of those systems then the FM may not do significantly better than going direct to your TV. Where the FM really shines is 240p and 480i. If you are using 480i, make sure the profiles you choose are the 480i ones.


for sure. I"m familiar with the FM enough that I can tell when the V scaler is changed from 4 to 5 on 480i content for example, Plus if I check settings, load a profile, and see that none of the actual settings have changed... somethings up.

now when i make my own settings and save a profile, it works, so I can make my own.
_________________
SHMUP SALE!
My WTB Thread
https://soundcloud.com/brokenharbour
http://twitter.com/Broken_Harbour


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-mini Framemeister
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:40 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Jul 2017
Posts: 249
Sounds like an issue with the SD card then.. the FM can be pretty finicky about detecting profiles (but I've never had any issues once the profiles are actually detected). You could try formatting the SD card and putting them on again.

Normally when messing with the SD card I unplug the power from the FM first, leave it off until I put the SD card back in and then reboot it a couple times.

Also are you on the latest firmware? I'm not sure if the profiles are compatible across firmware versions.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-mini Framemeister
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:57 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Feb 2015
Posts: 2071
Location: DFW area, Texas
broken harbour wrote:
However, when i load them, nothing changes, its like i didn't select anything. it just keeps using the existing settings.


By chance did you use a Mac or other Apple product to load my profiles onto the card?

If so, that's your problem. If not, then I'm not sure why they won't load, especially if you can see them in the FM's menu. Just use "Load" (Not "Load_Select" or whatever it is) and it should work.
_________________
Framemeister profiles: http://www.firebrandx.com/framemeisterprofiles.html

NES NTSC Palettes: http://www.firebrandx.com/nespalette.html

SNES Serial DB: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1HYLy_TTDop_FzuX6qnxuQI43upg4raXfno582taO744/pubhtml


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-mini Framemeister
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 8:11 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Feb 2013
Posts: 937
Location: Canaduh
using a windows 10 pc and V2.03 firmware.
_________________
SHMUP SALE!
My WTB Thread
https://soundcloud.com/brokenharbour
http://twitter.com/Broken_Harbour


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-mini Framemeister
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2018 12:13 am 



Joined: 04 Apr 2017
Posts: 36
I'll state again that when you update your SD card, if you don't power cycle the FM, its like it won't load it. You'll see the profiles but they won't load.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-mini Framemeister
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2018 1:31 am 



Joined: 15 Aug 2015
Posts: 86
broken harbour wrote:
Greetings all, I've not been on this forum for a couple years, I moved last year and only just this week found time to hook up all my old consoles and my Framemeister.

While the FBX profiles were available at the time, i never tried them, Last night I flashed to the newest firmware (v2.03) and installed the PS2/Xbox/GC profiles. (my 240p consoles are connected to a CRT.) I've installed them in the correct directory on the SD card, and I can see them and select them in the menu. However, when i load them, nothing changes, its like i didn't select anything. it just keeps using the existing settings.

Is this a known issue? I can set the Framemeister up with pretty good settings, and I was happy with the way it looked before, but I know FBX has put a ton of effort into these profiles and wanted to try them out.

I see they've corrected the scanlines on 1080p output, which is nice at least.


Did you rename the profiles by any chance? If so, did you use any spaces or underscores in their names? I did that when I first used the Framemeister, and I quickly learned that it does not like either of those.

Do you have the Zoom function turned off? If so, turn it on.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-mini Framemeister
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2018 5:28 am 



Joined: 12 Mar 2018
Posts: 28
Does anyone know if the PS1 startup screen is in 240p? I'm playing my PS1 games on PS2, and the resolution switching is mildly annoying, I would use a real PS1 to bypass that issue so I would love to know if it's a seamless boot up with an actual PS1.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-mini Framemeister
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2018 6:18 am 



Joined: 27 Apr 2018
Posts: 40
Jameson Rook wrote:
Does anyone know if the PS1 startup screen is in 240p? I'm playing my PS1 games on PS2, and the resolution switching is mildly annoying, I would use a real PS1 to bypass that issue so I would love to know if it's a seamless boot up with an actual PS1.


PS1 intro is 480i on actual PS1 as well.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-mini Framemeister
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2018 9:19 am 



Joined: 12 Mar 2018
Posts: 28
keremimo wrote:
Jameson Rook wrote:
Does anyone know if the PS1 startup screen is in 240p? I'm playing my PS1 games on PS2, and the resolution switching is mildly annoying, I would use a real PS1 to bypass that issue so I would love to know if it's a seamless boot up with an actual PS1.


PS1 intro is 480i on actual PS1 as well.


I see, thanks for the reply! I guess I'll just stick to a PS2 then.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11084 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 366, 367, 368, 369, 370

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bobrocks95 and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group