shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Fri Jul 19, 2019 3:34 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Which of 3 new consoles will be top-loading or tray-based
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 2:44 am 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 5630
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
I can't seem to tell for certain from ANY of the pictures so far-the PS3 LOOKS like it will be top loading, the XBOX 360 LOOKS like it'll be tray-based, and I can't tell at all in the case of the Revolution.

I'm most interested in knowing about the Revolution-since it will be backwards compatible with Cube games, I'm wondering if the current Freeloader import-player disc will work on it-if the Revolution's top-loading, then I would think that it would-or if not, someone will come out with a new Freeloader disc.
_________________
"Farewell to false pretension
Farewell to hollow words
Farewell to fake affection
Farewell, tomorrow burns"


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 3:03 am 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 3202
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
I think PS3 and Revolution might actually be slot-loading (at least that's what it looked like to me, I didn't really look at E3 details or anything)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 7:13 am 



Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 367
revolution is slot loading, the ps3 shown looked to be slot loading (although i expect the design to change, like with the original psp concepts, so i wouldnt really think of design much right now), and im pretty sure the xbox 360 has a tray.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 5:38 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 5630
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Interesting. Well, if that's all true, I just hope these slots don't allow a lot of dust to get into these consoles.

And I wonder how well a boot disc, like the Freeloader, would work on a slot based console.
_________________
"Farewell to false pretension
Farewell to hollow words
Farewell to fake affection
Farewell, tomorrow burns"


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 6:02 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 1158
Location: California
It doesn't matter how the discs get in there, it should be a fair assumption that the Freeloader won't work.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 6:08 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 4030
Location: Planet Doom's spaceport
If the revolution is going to use 5" DVDs instead of the 3" GC discs, how are the 3" discs going to work with a slot based drive?
_________________
Feedback will set you free.
captpain wrote:
Basically, the reason people don't like Bakraid is because they are fat and dumb


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 7:08 pm 



Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 367
newer slot loads ('new' as in a while now) can take in 3" discs. they cant take in irregularly shaped discs though, like the rectangular credit card or whatever else shaped ones.

freeloader may have a chance if it can even boot, otherwise it mostly depends on how rev will handle ejecting stuff. just eject no matter what and pause or something (like gc), wait till drive activity stops, go back to system os, whatever. but yeah i doubt itll work, we wont know for sure until a real unit comes out though.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 11:30 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 3933
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
I was wondering... do you guys think that, with the revolution supporting DVDs and being backward compatible with the GC, that people may start to burn GC games in DVD-Rs and play them on the revoluiton, like a lot of people do with PS2 games? (If it's modded, that's it)
_________________
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 11:54 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 3202
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Maybe they could, it's possible with the GameCube itself right now, but keep in mind that ripping GCN ISOs is no simple task (much like ripping Dreamcast ISOs)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Extrems, Hoagtech, RottenToTheGore and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group