shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Sun Oct 20, 2019 12:09 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Help with Monitor.
PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2005 10:50 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Jan 2005
Posts: 66
Hi, last week or so I found a CPD-200ES Sony Monitor, The VGA crod was cut but I thought I might be able to make it accept a component vidoe signal. So today i tried and while I got the signal on it the way i hooked it up was apparently not enough to carry the bandwith of a 480p signal.

The montior output is like this: (- = grnd)

Code:
----->
=====>RED

----->
=====>GREEN

----->
=====>BLUE


What type of plug do I need to make each of those into something I can plug these Component Cables into?
Image

I want something like this:
Image

but I want to solder the R/G/B siganls into one one of each.

also the monitor doesn;t work with a 480i signal so maybe this is impossible? I don;t think it is since the God of War demo played but was about 90% green signal.


Thanks a ton.



edit: I way I have it hooked now is the RGB signals are attached to regular RCA cables (cut on one end) which are conected to my switcher (regular witcher, I figured it would work with 3 video signals also), which the PS2 is connected to with Component cables with the game set to progressive scan (which was hard to do since it kept reverting back unless I switched cables in time :) )


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2005 7:15 am 



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 416
PrYPb is different from RGB. Component is kind of a compressed version of RGB with fewer connector leads. You need a transcoder, or possibly a PS2 mod, to get RGB into that monitor.

There are RGB-only monitors with 5 two-pole connectors, but not 3. They use locking BNC connectors rather than RCA.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 4:42 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Mar 2005
Posts: 2075
Location: polar malortex, illinois
Actually, there are RGB monitors that use only 3 BNC connectors, I own one that I picked up for free. Unfortunately, they are a pain in the ass to use because they are fixed sync (generally at some weird resolution/refresh rate), and you usually need a special video card to drive them.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 9:39 pm 



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 416
Yep. I remember having seen grayscale monitors with only one BNC connector, too! Wonder if one of those could be used as a fixed-frequency oscilloscope for locating ground loops.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ChuChu Flamingo, Mikey, robodude00 and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group