shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Tue Apr 07, 2020 9:58 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 602 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ... 21  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 2:39 am 



Joined: 01 Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Anyone know if there's a well built Supergun for sale that uses Neo geo controllers?

thanks


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2013 3:42 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 04 Nov 2012
Posts: 189
fatchuck wrote:
Anyone know if there's a well built Supergun for sale that uses Neo geo controllers?

thanks


MAK Strike
_________________
Make a missile snap a bone gristle.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 7:42 am 



Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 26
Location: Sweden
Trying to hook up an arcade psu to a Vog. mk.3. From which pins does the Voga. take it's 5, -5, 12 from? Which ones needs to be connected? I.e does it need the trigger +5 on the board like modern computer psu's? Cause it the Voga doesn't light up when supplying 5,12 on the correct pins.

Anybody know?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 12:05 pm 



Joined: 22 Jan 2009
Posts: 40
Location: Jamma Nation X
NGAES wrote:
Trying to hook up an arcade psu to a Vog. mk.3. From which pins does the Voga. take it's 5, -5, 12 from? Which ones needs to be connected? I.e does it need the trigger +5 on the board like modern computer psu's? Cause it the Voga doesn't light up when supplying 5,12 on the correct pins.

Anybody know?


Usually there is a sense line and it's usually 3.3v. On some PSUs you just need to jump the sense line to ground/green wire. Look up the model PSU you have.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 4:49 pm 



Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 26
Location: Sweden
Yeah, it's an arcade PSU. Just found out that the problem was a dodgy ATX-cable. All good now. The Voga doesn't need a sense just 5, 12 to the board. 8)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: New Supergun :)
PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:27 pm 



Joined: 07 Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Just throwing it out there...

Support for console controllers
No pad hacks, just a simple adapter cable lets you connect any of the following controllers to the supergun. Player 1 & Player 2 can use different controller types simultaneously.

    Sega Master System
    Sega Megadrive (3 & 6 button)
    Sega Saturn
    Sony Playstation (Digital, Dual Analog, Dual Shock 1 & 2)
    NES
    SNES
    PC-Engine
    Turbo Grafx
    Atari 2600
    Neo Geo (no adapter cable required)

Any controller with more then 3 buttons have the extra buttons routed to the jamma board via the 'Expansion' connector and appropriate kick harness cable. Typically 'Start' & 'Select' on the controllers are mapped to 'Coin-Up' and 'Player Start'.

Multiple audio input sources
The audio source is user selectable between "Jamma / Stereo / MVS". The audio is attenuated using audio grade transformers so the signal is electrically isolated to protect the game boards.
Jamma takes the amplified Mono audio attenuates it and is output on both Left and Right SCART audio channels.
Stereo takes amplified stereo audio from the game board via the 'Expansion' connector and converts it to line level before routing to Left and Right SCART outputs respectively.
MVS takes the amplified stereo audio from the Jamma connector, attenuates it and sends it to the SCART Left and Right outputs.

Line-In jack overrides the audio switch 'S1' selection and passes the audio straight to the SCART outputs for jamma boards that have a 'line out' audio connector.

Line-Out jack lets you send the output audio to an external amp instead of the SCART audio outputs.

Kickharness support
The 'Expansion' connector lets you connect to game boards to use Buttons 4,5,6 for Players 1 & 2. Button 4 is also mapped to the Jamma connector for MVS boards. Probably not necessary for mnay schumps though :D

Other features
Easy adjustable thumb pots for RGB level adjustments
Terminal block power input so can use Jamma PSU or ATX PSU (with adapter cable)
Connector for Test/Service/MVS Select Up/MVS Select Down signals
All cable pinouts available so you can make your own adapter cables

Image

Lite Version

Has all the above features except the audio handling. Audio is output directly to a speaker which is connected to the supergun.

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 6:36 pm 



Joined: 22 Jan 2009
Posts: 40
Location: Jamma Nation X
No onboard button for service? That's an oversight.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 7:55 pm 



Joined: 07 Nov 2013
Posts: 3
XianXi wrote:
No onboard button for service? That's an oversight.


Design decision not oversight. Can be accessed from header if needed.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 7:59 pm 



Joined: 22 Jan 2009
Posts: 40
Location: Jamma Nation X
The Last Bandit wrote:
XianXi wrote:
No onboard button for service? That's an oversight.


Design decision not oversight. Can be accessed from header if needed.


Oversight. Many manufacturers require the service button to navigate the test menu. It's not like there wasn't enough space for just 1 more tac switch. People who buy these types of superguns usually don't wire stuff themselves.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 8:55 pm 



Joined: 07 Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Well that's the beauty of low volume proto builds, I can have it updated and a new batch of boards ordered in under an hour.
Any other suggestions ?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 9:02 pm 



Joined: 22 Jan 2009
Posts: 40
Location: Jamma Nation X
The Last Bandit wrote:
Well that's the beauty of low volume proto builds, I can have it updated and a new batch of boards ordered in under an hour.
Any other suggestions ?


Of course, but it's your design. My snippet was only for customer convenience using your product.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 12:52 am 


User avatar

Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 3707
Location: Toronto
The audio switch version, but with an RGBs header and no adjustment pots, and without the controller conversion ICs, and sell it to me for $40 :wink:
_________________
Chris Mixcloud // Sales Thread
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 4:04 am 


User avatar

Joined: 08 Dec 2005
Posts: 18355
Location: uoıʇɐɹnƃıɟuoɔ ɯǝʇsʎs
I had to think about where to drop this...it seems kind of like it's trying to act sort of like a supergun for "present and future" systems but otherwise is an emulator box. Behold the chrome-plateness:
http://www.xgaming.com/store/arcade-mac ... b6822bfbbd


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 8:18 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Oct 2011
Posts: 1613
Location: Canada
Ed Oscuro wrote:
I had to think about where to drop this...it seems kind of like it's trying to act sort of like a supergun for "present and future" systems but otherwise is an emulator box. Behold the chrome-plateness:
http://www.xgaming.com/store/arcade-mac ... b6822bfbbd



why did you have to ruin my day, ed? :(
_________________
Image
GaijinPunch wrote:
Ketsui with suction cup.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:22 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 3707
Location: Toronto
moh wrote:
Ed Oscuro wrote:
I had to think about where to drop this...it seems kind of like it's trying to act sort of like a supergun for "present and future" systems but otherwise is an emulator box. Behold the chrome-plateness:
http://www.xgaming.com/store/arcade-mac ... b6822bfbbd



why did you have to ruin my day, ed? :(


BRO, IT'S AMERICAN MADE

Quote:
Powered by a flux-capacitor


wut
_________________
Chris Mixcloud // Sales Thread
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 3:49 am 



Joined: 24 Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Location: USA
Hey guys. New to the site. I was wondering if anyone on here built and sold superguns? I am looking to pick one up, but they seem to be difficult to find. Any help would be appreciated.

Tony


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 1:44 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Nov 2013
Posts: 39
Location: Manchester UK
coloradog1 wrote:
Hey guys. New to the site. I was wondering if anyone on here built and sold superguns? I am looking to pick one up, but they seem to be difficult to find. Any help would be appreciated.

Tony

I'm sure arcadeforge.net sell them. I've ordered a few items off them over the years and would recommend them. Never got round to buying a supergun myself tho. I'm sure some of the vets will help point you in the right direction


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 11:12 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 31 May 2010
Posts: 1569
I've done quite a bit of research and decided that I should try my hands at building my own supergun. However there are some things I'm still not sure about, mostly due to my lack of experience with arcade hardware in general. Therefore I'm just gonna dump my list of questions. I'd appreciate any kind of help solving these. :)

My general idea for the supergun is that it should be fully compatible with basic jamma and mvs systems. I thought of just using 1 or any number of switches necessary to switch between these two plugs (for example so that the test button signal will always reach the test button, depending on the plug used). I'm pretty sure this should work fine, but if anyone knows better I'd be glad to be corrected on this.

Questions regarding the MVS pinout:
1. What's up with the additional 2 coin switches? Is there any need for these on a supergun at all?
2. How come there are no negative lines for audio? Shouldn't audio signals always come with a positive and negative line?
3. Why does the select button have two pins? How should they be connected to a button?

About connecting the PSU, should all outputs (+5v, +12v, -5v) always be connected to the jamma wires?

Is there any other notable use for the jamma+ kick harness other than the added button support? Apparently two of these plugs carry ground. This is most likely a really stupid question, but would I need to be able to connect these to my supergun as well?
What kind of connection should I use on my supergun to accept the kick harness signals?

When using buttons 4-6 via kick harness, I'd end up having both the button D line from jamma and the button 4 line from the kick harness directly connected to my button 4 pin on the controller. Should I add a switch to cut the connection between jamma button D and button 4 on the controller out for use with the kick harness?

Do PCBs output composite or raw snyc? I want to go for straight RGBs on a SCART output, but preferably with composite sync.

A stupid question regarding ground: Can I use any of the ground lines from jamma for switches etc.? Is there no problem in using one ground line for multiple switches or otehr things?

And now the tricky stuff... I have basically next to absolutely no idea how to go about working with audio. Do absolutely all arcade games output pre-amped audio? Because in that case, if I can manage to build a proper attenuation circuit I could just drop an on/off switch for that and always use attenuated audio out.
About copying a mono signal to go into both speaker outputs: Do I just have to create a switch that, when set in the right direction, will root the left audio signal into the right audio output as well?

I'd like to know if it's a common thing for PCBs to have a stereo output separate from the jamma plugs. If that's the case I wonder if this is a universal thing that I can make compatible with a supergun by adding a specific plug and circuit.

Now my last issue is with the audio attenuation. I've found 2 circuit schematics for that: This one which seems pretty easy to do to me, and this one which I honestly don't understand at all (hopefully just yet).
I originally thought I could just go with the first one, but I've stumbled upon a post on another board where a user mentioned that the attentuation from that circuit causes a significant loss of audio quality. Does anyone here have any experience with that way of doing it and comment on the quality?
The second method looks really intriguing because the guy who came up with it mentioned that a more common way of doing it could harm audio equipment used with mono signals. Now I don't know if he's referring to the way it's shown on the other schematic (from thesupergun.com), but would is there a reason to worry about that at all when using L+R output for mono signals and having mono handled like stereo signals by the external amp?

And that's it. Although I didn't expect this to turn into such a wall of text. :?
_________________
blog - scores - collection
Quote:
Don't worry about it. You can travel from the Milky Way to Andromeda and back 1500 times before the sun explodes.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2014 10:56 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Mar 2011
Posts: 382
Location: London, UK
Can anybody tell me what the HD and CBC stands for please? Is the hd a headphone socket?

It's a Sigma AV7000

Image

The sound going to my Hi fi is very low despite turning everything to max.

Edit: never mind. It's the headphone jack and colour burst correction. Still no idea why the volume is so low though :(

Edit 2: Mystery solved. Opened up the Sigma. Nothing wrong with it. Checked the scart cable found dodgy wiring.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 2:14 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 497
Location: Europe
I've recently finished a supergun, so I thought I'd share some pictures :)

Image

This time I went for a rather simple design, it has an RGB video output only. I also used separate audio and video cables (but they meet at the scart plug) in case of any possible interference and also because it's now really easy to get the stereo audio directly from the systems like the CPS2, Taito F3, ST-V etc.

Image

Sega Saturn controllers as usual. I'm using my converter with a coin emulator.

Image

In addition to a built-in CPS2/3 kick harness the unit also has a detachable screw terminal block for other kick harnesses.

Image

Image
_________________
https://homearcadesystem.wordpress.com/about/


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 7564
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
Sexy!
_________________
Image | My games - http://www.emphatic.se | (Click) I have YEN stickers for sale
RegalSin wrote:
Street Fighters. We need to aviod them when we activate time accellerator.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 4:14 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Aug 2009
Posts: 603
Location: Europe
That is amazing.

I know I could probably build my own supergun but it would just be a mess of cables. :P


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 4:32 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 29 Jan 2005
Posts: 3273
Location: Phoenix
Beast work, as per usual, RGB! :D
-ud
_________________
Righteous Super Hero / Righteous Love


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 7:18 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 08 Dec 2005
Posts: 18355
Location: uoıʇɐɹnƃıɟuoɔ ɯǝʇsʎs
Wow that's nice!

Since I'm here, just a random question: Is it common to have unstable / wavy lines in RGB output from some supergun boards? Nope, I still haven't disassembled the Fire-Bug 'gun yet, just thought I'd ask in case anybody has thoughts on it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 7:35 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Aug 2009
Posts: 603
Location: Europe
RGB should be rock solid. Normally people only install transcoders because component is preffered in America.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 7:55 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 3707
Location: Toronto
This is why my supergun will never be finished ... it wouldn't be 1/10th as nice as RGB's work :cry:
_________________
Chris Mixcloud // Sales Thread
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 8:05 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 497
Location: Europe
Thanks guys :)

@Ed - What video encoder is in your supergun ?

edited, typo.
_________________
https://homearcadesystem.wordpress.com/about/


Last edited by RGB on Thu Feb 06, 2014 5:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 8:08 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 7564
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
shmuppyLove wrote:
This is why my supergun will never be finished ... it wouldn't be 1/10th as nice as RGB's work :cry:


We should start some kind of weird club. I have two cabs, so I don't really need a supergun. But now I wanna make him build me one. :lol:
_________________
Image | My games - http://www.emphatic.se | (Click) I have YEN stickers for sale
RegalSin wrote:
Street Fighters. We need to aviod them when we activate time accellerator.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 9:11 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 29 Apr 2011
Posts: 64
RGB wrote:
I've recently finished a supergun, so I thought I'd share some pictures :)

Image

Image



So sexy and clean! Are you running this through an XRGB on that monitor?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Supergun discussion and Q&A thread.
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 9:14 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 497
Location: Europe
Nope, it's a direct Scart connection. It looks surprisingly well, though.
_________________
https://homearcadesystem.wordpress.com/about/


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 602 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ... 21  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: austin532, Ingy and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group