shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Sun Jul 21, 2019 8:51 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Baby's First Region Hack
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 6:35 am 



Joined: 03 May 2005
Posts: 9
I opened the Saturn up, which by the way was really frustrating because it took me forever to get up the courage to force the little tiny circuit board on top off of those pins that run through the white plastic doohickey, and then I stared at the mainboard for two hours before I finally flipped it over and found the other two jumpers, and then I desoldered the jumpers and soldered a wire across the positions those jumpers did not occupy. Then I closed it up and it worked but controller one wouldn't respond which I guess could mean it wasn't working but what I mean in fact is that Guardian Heroes booted up with no Action Replay in there. So I opened it back up and pushed the ribbon/edge connectermabobs real HARD into the socketmajigs, and closed it all back up again and now it works works. It thinks it's a Japanese Saturn now. No switches, no multiplexers, just wire. I demand praise for my lacklustre efforts!

Oh, and those of you that knew me on the old board, hello again. Sorry I didn't write...
_________________
Question me not say the Lord unto thee
You have chosen your own fate and your own destiny
Denied of this life is what you are to be
You have chosen your own fate and your own destiny

-Iced Earth


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 6:41 am 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 3202
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Good job! I have a Japanese Saturn :)

I'm still lacking confidence to do jumper modifications to motherboards for region hacks and stuff, the most I've done is only tapping what's already available, like controller ports, lid switches, power supplies and A/V ports...

*Maybe* I'll try to region hack my GameCube one of these days...


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 10:40 am 


User avatar

Joined: 29 Jan 2005
Posts: 199
Wait a second, I'm a bit confused. Is this in the process of installing a mod chip, or did you literally just solder one wire and you're now region free? I'm pretty ignorant when it comes to any harware modifications, can you point me to any reading material on this?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 10:59 am 



Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 7065
Location: Bedford, UK
He just changed the region code from US to Japanese compatibility.

If you put in a switch you can toggle between the 2 regions freely. Its really quite easy to do. You can add European in there as well if you have a 3 way switch.
_________________
This industry has become 2 dimensional as it transcended into a 3D world.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 1:33 pm 



Joined: 03 May 2005
Posts: 9
snap monkey wrote:
Wait a second, I'm a bit confused. Is this in the process of installing a mod chip, or did you literally just solder one wire and you're now region free? I'm pretty ignorant when it comes to any harware modifications, can you point me to any reading material on this?


Here's where I got my info. Yeah, this guy talks about using a switch, or a multiplexer (see 'switchless mod' for the dirt on that scheme) to be able to toggle your regions without all that mucking about on the insides... beyond installing the switch or mux that is. And it was two wires.
_________________
Question me not say the Lord unto thee
You have chosen your own fate and your own destiny
Denied of this life is what you are to be
You have chosen your own fate and your own destiny

-Iced Earth


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 4:17 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 29 Jan 2005
Posts: 199
Cool, cool. Thanks for the information, guys. I'm currently becoming a world-class Saturn type-2 swap-tricker (which gets old fast, but my success rate is getting pretty high), so I'm interested in something involving less hassle. Do you guys recommend looking into mod chips/switches or is it cheaper to just buy a cheap US system and "make it" JP?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 8:22 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 3182
Location: #50 Bitch!
i'm selling a us system here.
_________________
I have no sig whatsoever.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 9:10 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 29 Jan 2005
Posts: 199
Tempting, but unfortunately I would have no way to pay you at the moment. :D


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cyborc and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group