shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Mon Dec 09, 2019 5:42 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 876 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 30  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 3:07 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Jun 2007
Posts: 955
Location: Nashville , TN
:D


Last edited by AKRATEN on Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 3:54 pm 



Joined: 17 Oct 2008
Posts: 1368
Get playing that Ibara Black Label 8)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 4:12 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Jun 2007
Posts: 955
Location: Nashville , TN
:D
Image


Last edited by AKRATEN on Fri Dec 10, 2010 12:33 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 4:37 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 29 Sep 2007
Posts: 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Loving those hot new seats!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 12:13 am 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Jun 2007
Posts: 955
Location: Nashville , TN
thanks!
:o


Last edited by AKRATEN on Sat Dec 05, 2009 9:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 12:23 am 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 7551
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
AKRATEN wrote:
thanks!
single play panels are next on the todo list for this setup
parts are ordered and on there way.


That's the way to go. :D
_________________
Image | My games - http://www.emphatic.se | (Click) I have YEN stickers for sale
RegalSin wrote:
Street Fighters. We need to aviod them when we activate time accellerator.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:34 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Jul 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Toronto
Got my PS2 JAMMA mount done today

Image

Result...

Image

:D Looks awesome, sounds awesome


Last edited by ASK on Sun Nov 22, 2009 9:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 5:18 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 4545
Location: SF Bay Area
ASK wrote:
Got my PS2 JAMMA mount done today


Very nice and clean ASK! Is that a hacked PSONE pad? Did you put wires straight into the connector or solder to the ribbon cable?
_________________
Arcadefever


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 5:22 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Jul 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Toronto
Dave_K. wrote:
ASK wrote:
Got my PS2 JAMMA mount done today


Very nice and clean ASK! Is that a hacked PSONE pad? Did you put wires straight into the connector or solder to the ribbon cable?


Yeah I ended up getting a PS1 pad off my friend. It was a Revision A pad with the ribbon connector. I cut off the face leaving the harder plastic in the connector on the PCB, made getting the wires to stay in place a lot easier


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 5:28 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 7551
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
Very nice. I'm considering something similar for my Dreamcast.
_________________
Image | My games - http://www.emphatic.se | (Click) I have YEN stickers for sale
RegalSin wrote:
Street Fighters. We need to aviod them when we activate time accellerator.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 3:26 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Jul 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Toronto
Just ordered a replacement billboard cover for my Blast City. I've secured the last one SEGA has :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:26 am 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Jan 2008
Posts: 238
hey aaron,

where did you get those stools? I've been looking for japanese stools FOREVER for my cabs!
_________________
-------------------------

Makaimura superplays (1 life clears!): https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 62dgrlNU1w
Mr Driller superplays: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... E3X3q9A7Wf


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 11:47 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Jul 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Toronto
Well that was fast :shock: Most expensive piece of plastic ever? Perhaps. Betson charged me $55 USD + shipping (no word on the cost of that yet), and UPS charged me $44 in brokerage/customs fees. To add salt to the wound, they just had SEGA drop ship me it, and SEGA attached a parts manifest -- $33 USD for the part they charged me $55 USD for! If anyone wants to try to deal with SEGA directly, number on the invoice is 847-364-9787. It's too bad the covers I tried to get from parted out cabs never panned out, but ah well.

Image

Oooh, official SEGA recycled cardboard box. $100. Any takers?

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 12:05 am 


User avatar

Joined: 16 Feb 2008
Posts: 5070
Location: toronto
nice 8)

i gotta come by and check it out....im interested in seeing your PS2 setup....fancy throwing another together in the future? 8)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 12:33 am 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Jul 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Toronto
jonny5 wrote:
nice 8)

i gotta come by and check it out....im interested in seeing your PS2 setup....fancy throwing another together in the future? 8)


Yeah for sure.

As for throwing one together, might be possible. Only thing is your cabs don't have built in audio amps, so not sure what the best route 'round that would be


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 4:56 am 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 26
Location: Ireland
Man, if there's a more aesthetically pleasing cab than a Blast City, I've yet to see it.

@ASK - If you don't mind my asking, how long have you had the Blast? What model is the chassis and have you experienced any issues with it?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 9:19 am 



Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 7111
Location: Bedford, UK
ASK wrote:
jonny5 wrote:
nice 8)

i gotta come by and check it out....im interested in seeing your PS2 setup....fancy throwing another together in the future? 8)


Yeah for sure.

As for throwing one together, might be possible. Only thing is your cabs don't have built in audio amps, so not sure what the best route 'round that would be


Buy one of Viletims console adapters (as stated in the hardware thread).

Its a SCART > Jamma device, works with any console audio and video. He is also Canadian. What else do you need?
_________________
This industry has become 2 dimensional as it transcended into a 3D world.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 1:31 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Jul 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Toronto
neorichieb1971 wrote:
Its a SCART > Jamma device, works with any console audio and video. He is also Canadian. What else do you need?


Yeah I've expressed my desire for him to hold one for me :) While my mount works, it still could use a video amp to up the contrast/brightness. Up to jonny5 if he wants to grab one as well

throne_of_wolves wrote:
Only had it for a few months, bought it off a local member. Not sure how long he had it for, but I haven't had any issues. Monitor is one of the digital OSD Nanao's (Nanao MS-2931 I believe).


Only had it for a few months, bought it off a local member. Not sure how long he had it for, but I haven't had any issues. Monitor is one of the digital OSD Nanao's (Nanao MS-2931 I believe), has a little burn in but looks fine when playing.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 2:34 am 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 26
Location: Ireland
ASK wrote:
Only had it for a few months, bought it off a local member. Not sure how long he had it for, but I haven't had any issues. Monitor is one of the digital OSD Nanao's (Nanao MS-2931 I believe), has a little burn in but looks fine when playing.


Just curious as I'm considering buying one but have read various opinions with regards to their reliability.

Thanks for the info man.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 4:24 am 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 200
Location: MI; The 989
Thought I should throw my hat in....


Image
_________________
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 6:11 am 



Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 1785
That's quite a nerd lair you've got there, 'cello.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 6:57 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 04 Feb 2007
Posts: 257
Location: germany
duo engine on an astro city (15/24/31 khz screen)
Image
with duo in the picture
Image
_________________
https://twitter.com/Madstalker80

Skykid wrote:
Get ready for the big bad world to fuck you up the ass in ways you never believed possible.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 6:11 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 16 Feb 2008
Posts: 5070
Location: toronto
dingsbums wrote:
duo engine on an astro city (15/24/31 khz screen)
Image
with duo in the picture
Image


instead of using that stick why dont you just open it up and hook the connects to the cabs controls? or just hack another controller

would make more sense


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 8:08 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 04 Feb 2007
Posts: 257
Location: germany
jonny5 wrote:
instead of using that stick why dont you just open it up and hook the connects to the cabs controls? or just hack another controller
would make more sense


i could do this also (connect the controller box to the cab control panel with a cable). but the main thing is - i change the consoles quite often and it is getting quite annoying to change the controller-connection inside the cab everytime (plus i'm nearly 30 - my back isn't the best :D ). so the easy way is the stick (especially since the stick has sanwa / seimitsu parts and i could connect it to all my consoles - except 360 and dreamcast)
short said - i'm a lazy bitch :D :o :shock:
_________________
https://twitter.com/Madstalker80

Skykid wrote:
Get ready for the big bad world to fuck you up the ass in ways you never believed possible.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2009 7:52 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Jun 2009
Posts: 26
Location: Batsu
Here's my setup :mrgreen:

Image Image Image Image Image
_________________
Last Hope? Sure hope not...


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2009 4:04 am 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Oct 2009
Posts: 1773
Location: MO
Yay I finally get to join this topic :P

Image

Just got it today. Shipped from Ken at The Game Room, amazing condition and everything works perfectly. Now to just get my consoles hooked up to it...


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2009 9:57 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Jun 2007
Posts: 955
Location: Nashville , TN
mikehaggar wrote:
hey aaron,

where did you get those stools? I've been looking for japanese stools FOREVER for my cabs!


taito tech in japan


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 6:24 am 


User avatar

Joined: 12 Nov 2009
Posts: 11
Location: Long Beach, CA
I just recently got the New Astro, I have had the MVS for a while. They look pretty good together!

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 7:00 am 



Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 7111
Location: Bedford, UK
I like the bedroom setups. It seems though, that not many people are happy with one configuration, since most pictures have panels off and wires hanging out. If I took a picture, I would give the illusion that its all neat and tidy before getting the cybershot out :wink:
_________________
This industry has become 2 dimensional as it transcended into a 3D world.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Show them if you've got them - Candy cabs
PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 2:29 pm 



Joined: 20 Jul 2009
Posts: 27
here's mine, the cab has some minor galaga burn in :( but overall it's in pretty good shape, just rotated the monitor awaiting my console adapter to hook up my ps2/DC dont mind the mess :D

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 876 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 30  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BrianC, rama and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group