shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Fri Sep 20, 2019 6:41 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Will a Sega CD side loader work with a Genesis Model 3??...
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 12:45 am 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 5630
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Just curious; to save space I'm thinkin' about getting a 3.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 1:04 am 


Banned User
User avatar

Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Posts: 2291
Location: Inside a computer
Genesis Model 3 is not compadable with the Sega 32X or the Sega CD. Buy a Model 1 or 2 for the Sega 32X or the Sega CD. BTW, model 3 don't got that slot so you can hook up your Sega CD.
_________________
Why Arcade games are better.
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 2:57 am 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 5630
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Thanks! That's too bad.

I've heard that the Model 3 can play Megadrive games without an adapter.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 4:41 am 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 661
Location: Virginia, USA
Yes, that's true. The shape of the Gen 3's cart slot can accomodate MD games. But games that have software lock-outs still won't run.

Bonus! The Gen 3's video encoder outputs s-video (no mod required). You'll need a custom-made cable to take advantage of it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 5:10 am 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 5630
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Thanks Omega!
BTW, what's S-Video, and can I use it on my TV, or would I need a monitor?

I have two consoles now: my DC and my US PSTwo, and I love both. But I'd like to eventually get a third and old-school console. With PS2 Atari Anthology and Activision Anthology, an old Atari console is out, and I definately don't want a Famicom or NES.

So it's down to a Super Famicom or a Genesis, and I'm leaning towards the Genny because it has more shmups that I like.

And although I'd miss out on Android Assault and Robo Aleste, both of which are killer shmups, with a Model 3 I'd just be limited to Genesis and Megadrive shmups, and that might prove to be a financially smarter move, IMO.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 2:07 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 1092
dave4shmups wrote:
Thanks Omega!
BTW, what's S-Video, and can I use it on my TV, or would I need a monitor?

I have two consoles now: my DC and my US PSTwo, and I love both. But I'd like to eventually get a third and old-school console. With PS2 Atari Anthology and Activision Anthology, an old Atari console is out, and I definately don't want a Famicom or NES.


No Nes love Dave? :wink:


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 3:34 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 661
Location: Virginia, USA
dave4shmups wrote:
BTW, what's S-Video, and can I use it on my TV, or would I need a monitor?


The answer you seek is here:
http://forum.shmups.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=87

In a nutshell, it's better than RF and composite, and if you have the means to use it, you owe it to yourself to check it out.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 6:50 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 5630
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
"No Nes love Dave? Wink"

No, the NES is just way too high-maintenance for me; I NEVER had dust issues with my Genny as a kid.

Omega thanks for that link, but that still doesn't tell me if I can use S-Video on my TV, or if I need a monitor, unless there's something I missed in that thread.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 8:18 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Feb 2005
Posts: 1203
Location: SLC, UT, US
lots of modern TV's have an s-video input (it's for tv's rather than monitors), so you just have to check if your TV has one. If it's a little older, it probably won't.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 8:42 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 5630
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Well, I got it new in January 2003, so it probably does. :D


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 9:22 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 3202
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Didn't you have an X'Eye a while ago?

If you really want to save space, I recommend going for a CDX. I have one and it's TINY!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 1:02 am 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 5630
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
I'll probably get an X'EYE back when I get a job.

A CDX sounds great, but with the X'EYE, like the Genesis 3, you don't need a cartridge adapter to play imports.

Plus, I've been told that the X'EYE has the most durable Sega CD unit of any of them.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ebzero89, matt and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group