shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Tue Jul 05, 2022 6:39 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4550 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 148, 149, 150, 151, 152
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2022 3:42 pm 



Joined: 10 Apr 2019
Posts: 19
Location: United Kingdom
I've created a little breakout PCB for a SCART socket giving access to RGB, Sync, Ground & Audio L/R, making it easier to wire it all up. These all fit in my latest case design which you can get at https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:5363666

If you are interested in the PCB I popped a few on eBay.

Image
Image
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2022 5:03 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 532
Location: UK
Nice work on the case and SCART pcb, TomDD!

TomDD wrote:
I've created a little breakout PCB for a SCART socket giving access to RGB, Sync, Ground & Audio L/R, making it easier to wire it all up. These all fit in my latest case design which you can get at https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:5363666

If you are interested in the PCB I popped a few on eBay.

Image
Image
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2022 10:35 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 10 Apr 2019
Posts: 120
Location: California, USA
TomDD wrote:


Awesome work, you don't happen to have a version that fits a Node MCU by chance do ya? :lol:


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2022 2:16 pm 



Joined: 20 May 2022
Posts: 1
Hello everyone! I modified a GBS 8200 recently and installed the GBS Control firmware on it for use with my PS2. It works great, and the picture quality is amazing, however, I have a problem with underscan and can't properly deal with it so far.

If I try to stretch the image to the actual borders, I get artifacts on the right side of the screen. Is there a proper way or a dedicated guide on how to stretch the image properly to account for the overscan area without messing up the output? I want to capture PS2 footage in the most pristine way I can and having to crop the overscan in OBS is rather lossy in terms of quality. No GSM/OPL/InGame option I tried fixes the underscan issue I'm having, it's all for dealing with overscan on the PS2 side.

Some other things that I have trouble with are the green tint in the image and the fact that the output signal switch doesn't seem as "immediate" as I've seen on YouTube reviews of GBS 8200 with Control CFW and I see "garbage" on the screen between each output signal switch. The first problem I fix by toggling the "IF auto offset" option but it doesn't seem to save to the preset since it's a dev option, maybe there's a more permanent solution to this color problem? The second problem I haven't found a fix for yet and I would like to ask if it's a monitor issue rather than the GBS one?

Also, on the side note: I noticed there's an OTA update toggle in the GBSControl panel, I turned it on but I'm not sure how to actually update the firmware from there. Or does it update automatically on its own over the air?

Sorry if it's a lot in this message, I have been trying to register on the forum for a week without success and a lot of questions piled up during this time :D


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2022 8:21 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 532
Location: UK
I have a question about turning off the LM1881 circuit when not using a Luma or Composite Video sync signal input over SCART (So for C-Sync input), what's the best way to go about bypassing it/turning it off so C-Sync goes through?
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2022 2:20 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 07 May 2018
Posts: 836
Location: Escondido, CA, USA
@Crewarookie22 - what games are you playing with mode switching? I can test on a component input to see if it is handled differently than rgbs and hd-15 input. I can say confidently that those have maximum 1 frame blip when switching.

As for underscan, have you tried changing your monitor's settings? If your monitor has asepct adjustments, that might help. I can confidently say that gbs does not always fully stretch to fill the screen and when you stretch to the extents of its capabilities you will get artifacts/anomalies. Its commonly a mix between gbs' scaling and shifting, and the screens size adjustments to get the best outcome.

Have you tried the auto gain feature, to achieve color balance? It's best to feed gbs a solid white screen and a solid black screen in order for it to properly balance itself. It will continue sampling and adjusting for a few minutes after startup.

I've never updated any way other than via usb. Make sure you power the gbs while the usb is connected.

@Gunstar - one of the inputs has a different sync circuit path for its "csync" input. It might be the hd-15 input, I dont remember for sure. But that might provide a solution to your problem.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2022 5:40 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 532
Location: UK
NoAffinity wrote:
@Gunstar - one of the inputs has a different sync circuit path for its "csync" input. It might be the hd-15 input, I dont remember for sure. But that might provide a solution to your problem.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk


Oh interesting, did not know that. I think I'm leaning toward just using a switch and bypassing the LM1881 when using CSync. I have no idea how wasteful it is to keep the Lm1881 powered though.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2022 9:41 am 



Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 621
I just made one of these for my little brother and hooked it up to his xbox360 via component for downscaling to 15khz. The output of the gbsc terminates at a Tim Worthington rgbhv to SCART plug and it works a treat EXCEPT I get washed out blacks so there’s obviously a black level miss-match, right? On my gamecube using gcvideo I can change it to limited or full to correct but there is no such option on the 360.

Any thoughts on how to fix this for the 360?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2022 10:35 am 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 532
Location: UK
strayan wrote:
I just made one of these for my little brother and hooked it up to his xbox360 via component for downscaling to 15khz. The output of the gbsc terminates at a Tim Worthington rgbhv to SCART plug and it works a treat EXCEPT I get washed out blacks so there’s obviously a black level miss-match, right? On my gamecube using gcvideo I can change it to limited or full to correct but there is no such option on the 360.

Any thoughts on how to fix this for the 360?


I believe 360 does let you adjust the levels, it might be called 'reference levels' in the display settings iirc


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2022 10:07 pm 



Joined: 12 Jun 2022
Posts: 1
Hi, i recently build a GBS-Control, and am having several issues. I did the potentiometer bypass, but when i try to output from my pc (RGBHV from a DAC) to component, it wont sync, and colors are strange (Pr signal is all white when plugged into Y, meaning its sending 100 red). Additionally, the GBSC breaks upon being connected to my wifi, and i have to reflash the firmware. If anyone has any fixes for these problems, please don't hesitate to reach out. Thanks!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2022 2:12 am 



Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 621
Gunstar wrote:
strayan wrote:
I just made one of these for my little brother and hooked it up to his xbox360 via component for downscaling to 15khz. The output of the gbsc terminates at a Tim Worthington rgbhv to SCART plug and it works a treat EXCEPT I get washed out blacks so there’s obviously a black level miss-match, right? On my gamecube using gcvideo I can change it to limited or full to correct but there is no such option on the 360.

Any thoughts on how to fix this for the 360?


I believe 360 does let you adjust the levels, it might be called 'reference levels' in the display settings iirc


Cheers, I switched to using the xbox vga cable (with sync combiner) and now I can select the reference level. It’s not available when using component cables (which makes sense).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2022 11:00 am 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 532
Location: UK
@strayan - Glad you got it sorted

A new redesigned GBS system/all-in-one is up on aliexpress, it has a new PCB that incorporates a lot of the mods for the old board by the looks of it:
Image
Image
Is this GBS' final form?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2022 3:21 pm 



Joined: 21 Jun 2022
Posts: 3
Gunstar wrote:
@strayan - Glad you got it sorted

A new redesigned GBS system/all-in-one is up on aliexpress, it has a new PCB that incorporates a lot of the mods for the old board by the looks of it:

Is this GBS' final form?



So is this THE chinese board to buy or are these "stuff in a box" ones

Image

better?
Or to be more precise is this worth the extra 20-30 bucks?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2022 7:10 am 



Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 621
Looks like the might combine H & V into CSYNC too. Cool.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2022 10:35 am 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 532
Location: UK
@PlebiusGoofus I think Bob from RetroRGB will be getting the orange one to check out, I'd probably wait for his review/opinion if you can. Certainly has the potential to be the best all in one!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2022 12:25 pm 



Joined: 24 Feb 2022
Posts: 44
PlebiusGoofus wrote:
better?
Or to be more precise is this worth the extra 20-30 bucks?

I'd go for this one if I didn't already have a GBSC already, for a couple of reasons.

Extra inputs, I like to have an RCA connection for RGBS because not everyone used SCART and I prefer having inputs on one side and outputs on the back. Not a fan of plugging things in the side.

Just don't really like the open case design.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2022 2:53 pm 



Joined: 21 Jun 2022
Posts: 3
And the VC9900 HDMI version?

Image

I really don't need anything else than RGB>HDMI. I handle sound separately and don't mind the modding work but TBH if I could I would like to spend my time on something else... I just want a nice small solution and I really, really like the ESP and its WiFi connectivity.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2022 8:58 pm 



Joined: 05 Jun 2020
Posts: 7
Quote:
@PlebiusGoofus I think Bob from RetroRGB will be getting the orange one to check out, I'd probably wait for his review/opinion if you can. Certainly has the potential to be the best all in one!


I have one but haven't had a chance to test it and at this point, I'll wait for Bob to check it out first. Can say it's a solid case.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 11:22 am 



Joined: 21 Jun 2022
Posts: 3
At the end I've ordered this one in the "standard" format. I'll report back with some pics and a review once I get it (I haven't seen any real info about this board anywhere).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2022 3:31 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 03 Feb 2011
Posts: 12
Hey guys. I got a GBS-C and using 240p suite on the Genesis I noted that it doesn't integer scale to exactly 4x on 1920x1080, at least the default setting. I'm trying to use the size adjustment but cant seen to get the full square pixels on any position. How should I proceed to achieve 4x integer scale, do you guys can help me?

(sorry for my english, I'm from Brazil. Thanks in advance, guys)
_________________
Cosmic Effect
Videogames Ontem e Hoje


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4550 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 148, 149, 150, 151, 152

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cosmonal and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group