GD: Hitting the wall

For posting and requesting strategic gameplay tips on shmups!
finisherr

GD: Hitting the wall

Post by finisherr »

Hello folks. I'm here to discuss a very very serious issue! Hitting a wall.

I've been playing shmups on and off for a few years now. Once a week or so I'll put a few hours in on a game I enjoy. These days I pretty much only play Ketsui, the DDP series, Futari and sometimes Muchi Muchi Pork. Sometimes I play modern games like Dark Souls or old JRPGs, but that's basically all I play...

Anyway, I've noticed a trend. I'll play a game long enough to get a 1ALL or close to a 1ALL, but hit a wall. I do notice that my runs slowly improve, but I can't ever seem to figure out how superplay runs get the points they do. I've actually reviewed replays level by level. Sometimes I can get close to scoring well on a very small section (e.g. milking the first stage boss in Ketsui). I usually do this by breaking down very small sections so I can understand how it's done. However, there are other parts that just don't seem to make sense. Perhaps it's due to a lack of visual cues of where to be, how to move, and how to shoot (e.g. scoring from 1st stage Ketsui mid-boss to the boss). I'll play these parts upwards of 20 times in a row without even getting close to a known high scoring run.

So, what's the secret? I've heard some of you guys talk about dodging as if it's not something you actually do all of the time. When I play these games, I have a general route, but my runs always differ by a handful of pixels each route. So, with that said, I'm always dodging, but I'm familiar with the patterns in those areas so I'm better equipped to dodge them. I have a better understanding of what to expect from patterns when being in position a b or c (though this gets less predictable in later stages for me typically).