Can someone explain the problem with Strikers 1945 (II) PSX?

This is the main shmups forum. Chat about shmups in here - keep it on-topic please!
DatPhosphorGlow

Can someone explain the problem with Strikers 1945 (II) PSX?

Post by DatPhosphorGlow »

This is in regards to Strikers 1945 NTSC-U for the PSX, which is really Strikers 1945 II.

I'm a noob when it comes to SHMUPS, so please excuse my ignorance.

I've been reading about this game for PSX, and hear that it's been compressed graphically to fit the screen in mode 1 and the game play adjusted.

But when I start the game, I have black bars on the sides and the display is vertical. Just like when I play The Raiden project.

Isn't this just how the arcade version of the game was? With a vertical 4:3 screen?

So the what needed to be or was compressed for the PSX port? And why were gameplay adjustments necessary?
Kiken

Re: Can someone explain the problem with Strikers 1945 (II)

Post by Kiken »

DatPhosphorGlow wrote:This is in regards to Strikers 1945 NTSC-U for the PSX, which is really Strikers 1945 II.

I've been reading about this game for PSX, and hear that it's been compressed graphically to fit the screen in mode 1 and the game play adjusted.

But when I start the game, I have black bars on the sides and the display is vertical. Just like when I play The Raiden project.

Isn't this just how the arcade version of the game was? With a vertical 4:3 screen?

So the what needed to be or was compressed for the PSX port? And why were gameplay adjustments necessary?