Retro handhelds for shmups

This is the main shmups forum. Chat about shmups in here - keep it on-topic please!
To Far Away Times

Retro handhelds for shmups

Post by To Far Away Times »

Does anyone have any experience with those handheld retro Android devices for playing shmups? I've been eyeing the RG351V.

Would be interested in MAME performace, how far can these things be pushed? Can they play DOJ/Ketsui etc? I think Dreamcast is kinda borderline on these, would Border Down and Giga Wing 2 run well on them?
gct

Re: Retro handhelds for shmups

Post by gct »

I have limited experience, but I will share what I know.

I have not owned any Anbernic device, and also not sure if I would in the near future.

Currently I own a GPD XD Plus, bought 2nd-hand for well below market-value. I was fairly pleased with it for a while and it handles Dreamcast well, and even a bit of GameCube with the MMJ builds of Dolphin. It has however, been totally eclipsed by what I will describe next.

What I recommend, is a Snapdragon-based smartphone released in the last three or so years, plus some kind of controller to hold the phone. My current daily driver is a refurbished LG G8 and it runs everything I'm interested in, even 3DS runs OK in Citra MMJ once shaders have been cached. Ketsui and DOJ run just fine. You will probably be disappointed in the performance of any handheld that you get, and will probably purchase several of them. By the end of it, you will have spent enough money to get an old smartphone and a decent Bluetooth or USB-C controller that would spank all of those devices on performance.

And another tangent - being able to do Steam remote play is awesome. Won't really work too well for fast action games, but the value of the service still cannot be understated. I did OK in Fight n Rage with it - definitely not as good as true local, but decent enough to have fun with it.
BrianC

Post by BrianC »