G-Darius MAME underclocking (slowdown accuracy)

This is the main shmups forum. Chat about shmups in here - keep it on-topic please!
KAI

G-Darius MAME underclocking (slowdown accuracy)

Post by KAI »

I recently got a new PC I started playing some 3D games on MAME like crazy, specially those made by Taito.

What I noticed (and read) is that most of their drivers for these 3D hardwares are still a wip, and for example some JC System games need cpu overcloking them to play them at correct speed, and FX-1 games like G-Darius lack any kind slowdowns from the original hardware.

By enabling cheats on mame and messing with the slider options, I tried underclocking the main cpu of the FX-1B to see if I could replicate the original speed on G-Darius, and for my surprise I got nearly identical slowdowns compared to pcb footage I've seen on YT.
This still needs a lot of testing, but I think underclocking it around the 80-85% range should do the work.

Not sure if this is a bad or a good thing, since I think the original game speed sucks and some stages and boss fights are in super slowmo, but having more accurated emulation is kinda neat.
EmperorIng

Re: G-Darius MAME underclocking (slowdown accuracy)

Post by EmperorIng »

I think this is a pretty good thing to document. 3D games seem so finicky in MAME but I'm glad there's efforts like this to parse it all out.

It makes me want to make a side-by-side comparison video with MAME (with underclocking), PCB footage, the upcoming M2 port, and PS1/PS2 for the ultimate comparison. :mrgreen: If I had infinite amounts of free time...
Rastan78

Post by Rastan78 »

[quote="EmperorIng"]It makes me want to make a side-by-side comparison video with MAME (with underclocking), PCB footage, the upcoming M2 port, and PS1/PS2 for the ultimate comparison. :mrgreen: If I had infinite amounts of free time...[/quote]

That would be very cool. I hope you find the time. We will hold you to that and be waiting for your video now lol :wink: