脱 Datsuco: Video Invaders PC Release Today

This is the main shmups forum. Chat about shmups in here - keep it on-topic please!
SirRicho

脱 Datsuco: Video Invaders PC Release Today

Post by SirRicho »

I'll keep it short :-)

Authentic Coin-Op action that you won't find on MAME.

Press 5 to insert coin. Press 1 to Return the the Legendary Space War!

Check out the PC release on Itch.IO: https://datsuco.itch.io/video-invaders

Any questions - ask away! ;-)
SirRicho

Re: 脱 Datsuco: Video Invaders PC Release Today

Post by SirRicho »

If you have any questions feel free to ask...

On another forum I was asked the question about what's different to Space Invaders - I thought it might be helpful to post my reply here...

----

I studied the assembly code from the original Space Invaders in detail for a few weeks before coding this - so I'm aware of the exact details in what makes the original game work.

If you're interested - here's the details:
http://computerarcheology.com/Arcade/SpaceInvaders/

I've put a list of things that are different off the top of my head - however were two objectives in my new design:

(1) Make it feel like Space Invaders, but update it so it feels more "today". We're all used to bullet-hell shooters so Space Invaders feels a bit dated.
(2) Fix the primary problem I have with Space Invaders - the flat difficulty curve - it never gets any harder after level 7. So if you can handle level 7 - you can keep playing ad-infinitum.

Here are the broad strokes on what is different:

- Number of aliens
- Number of alien-shots that can be on-screen (32)
- Alien AI for shooting at player is completely different
- UFO now shoots at player (this makes point pressing techniques much more difficult)
- Different rules governing player / alien shot collision
- Player movement is faster
- Player shot speed is faster
- Alien shot speed is variable