Any good not-bullet-hell vertical games?

This is the main shmups forum. Chat about shmups in here - keep it on-topic please!
komatik

Any good not-bullet-hell vertical games?

Post by komatik »

I'm pretty new to the shmup world, having only really started less than a month ago. I've been mousing around for a bit, grabbing games somewhat at random trying to get a feel for stuff. So far I've discovered three things:
  1. For whatever reason, I just can't seem to get into horizontal games. I can look at them on a technical level and say "this game is well made" but something about the aesthetic always leaves me empty.
  2. I really really dislike the bullet-hell/bullet-maze genre where the enemies spew a hundred bajillion projectiles at you in geometric patterns.
  3. Having a simple two button "gun+bomb" scheme isn't really my style. I kinda like games that provide you with a bunch of different weapons up front and let you figure out where and when to use them.
So far I've been playing Daioh (USA mode) which I really like, but I want to have more than one game in my library. I've checked out various Top XYZ threads and websites but it seems the bullet-hell genre is all the rage these days so that consumes effectively all the entries, and what's left is slim pickings where it's hard to find something I enjoy.

Is there anything out there that might be worth me looking at? For now I'd strongly prefer stuff that's free (ie; SNES/MAME roms or whatever) since I don't want to throw any money down on something until I have a better idea of what interests me.
Shepardus

Re: Any good not-bullet-hell vertical games?

Post by Shepardus »