Anyone else playing a lot of Raiden 1?

This is the main shmups forum. Chat about shmups in here - keep it on-topic please!
shmupsrocks

Anyone else playing a lot of Raiden 1?

Post by shmupsrocks »

I'm still pretty new to shmups but I'm loving Raiden on PCB lately. It feels so well designed. I usually go for newer shmups but Raiden from 1990 is just awesome. Anybody else playing a lot of this?
Johnpv

Re: Anyone else playing a lot of Raiden 1?

Post by Johnpv »

I find myself returning to Raiden 1 a lot. Though since I don't have any actual arcade boards, for me its Raiden DX on PS1. I've been on a big Raiden kick though for like a year now, if you haven't picked it up Raiden Fighters Aces on 360 is a must buy.
Austin

Post by Austin »

The original arcade Raiden is one of my all-time favorites, shmup or not. It's a very tight package that's both challenging yet fair, and I think it's held up pretty well over the years. While I have enjoyed the rest of the series, the first game feels the most balanced to me with a fairly smooth ramp up in difficulty. It's great to see someone newer to the genre playing and enjoying it.
Despatche

Post by Despatche »

Raiden and Raiden II/DX are terrible games, and they deserve very little of the respect they've gotten. They make numerous big and small mistakes that the Toaplan games they rip off never did, and they hate all players to an obscene degree that very few other games do. Viper Phase 1 is very similar, and is only slightly better than this sad state.

Raiden III tried to fix many of these problems and is a significantly better game for it. Raiden IV takes this and adds a few changes of its own, and while some of those changes are questionable, IV is still a significantly better game than the first two.

Raiden V substantially redesigns the core gameplay to finally get rid of all of the mistakes that have plagued this series. It is still not perfect, but it is far and away the most well-designed game in the series.