3-Monitor MAME Setup - Darius II & Ninja Warriors

This is the main shmups forum. Chat about shmups in here - keep it on-topic please!
Post Reply
User avatar
Fudoh
Posts: 13015
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 3:29 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Fudoh »

it's been some time and I had a few troubles with the 2-card setup on my old PC. A new one has come and here're are a few pics. Plays 100% smooth and is really breathtaking. Should be larger than the original 3-CRT setups as well. MAME's running at 4800x1200 on three 21" LCDs.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
dcharlie
Posts: 1216
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:18 am

Post by dcharlie »

wow, very sexy!

though it does make me wish for monitors with zero side buffers.

OED/SED please help me! :D
User avatar
emphatic
Posts: 7923
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 3:47 pm
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
Contact:

Post by emphatic »

Wow, that looks really cool. But are those games really worth it?
Image | My games - http://www.emphatic.se | (Click) I have YEN stickers for sale
RegalSin wrote:Street Fighters. We need to aviod them when we activate time accellerator.
TodayIsForgotten
Posts: 634
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 5:34 am
Location: New Jersey

Post by TodayIsForgotten »

emphatic wrote:Wow, that looks really cool. But are those games really worth it?
Well, if anything now he can get more work done.
User avatar
t0yrobo
Posts: 665
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 4:17 am
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

Post by t0yrobo »

Very nice :shock: . Have you tried the 3 screen versions of xmen on it yet, I think there's some other beat em ups that use 3 screens also.
XBL - CountryGolden
Image
User avatar
Fudoh
Posts: 13015
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 3:29 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Fudoh »

The 6-Player Konami X-Men in MAME is Dual-Screen "only". If anyone knows any other 3-screen titles, I'll gladly give them a try.

And no, those two games, are surely not worth a permament 3-screen setup. I might change back to 2 horizontal ones and put the 3rd one in Tate position for vertical MAME usage.
PC Engine Fan X!
Posts: 8471
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 10:32 pm

Post by PC Engine Fan X! »

Wasn't the arcade cabinet of Tecmo Bowl a three or two RGB monitor screen affair? ^_~

PC Engine Fan X! ^_~
User avatar
MadScientist
Posts: 420
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 5:14 pm
Location: Edinburg, TX

Post by MadScientist »

The 3-screen version of Buggy Boy works now I think.
You cannot stop me with Paramecium alone!
User avatar
GaijinPunch
Posts: 15678
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 11:22 pm
Location: San Fransicso

Post by GaijinPunch »

Nice setup. At my office I have access to a 6 monitor setup (3x2) in Linux. Thought about setting up Mame and having a go, but the monitors are 16:9, so that would kind of suck.
RegalSin wrote:New PowerPuff Girls. They all have evil pornstart eyelashes.
User avatar
nimitz
Posts: 875
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 5:05 am
Location: Québec

Post by nimitz »

I tried this a while back with 2 screens and mame, worked well, but I had a 1.5cm "dead" space between both screens and it felt not quite right to me. You seem to have about 5cm of dead space between screens which looks like a bit much.

I would love to try it with actual arcade monitors or with monitors with their plastic shells removed.

That being said playing darius 2 on 2 screens takes a while to get used to, I can't imagine 3 screens
agustusx
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:08 pm

Post by agustusx »

sweet rig, though my guess is to enjoy it you would have to sit back pretty far. the FOV is pretty wide.

When it comes to horis i'm covered since one of my displays is a 32 tv. sure it only 720p but its fine for mame. I'm lacking in the tate category...

Still its cool to see you can run the emus with 2 and 3 screen support, its something i've never tried.
Low.Blow
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 1:46 am

Post by Low.Blow »

Image

how about tx-1? Dunno if it's playable in mame... would be cool though.
User avatar
Fudoh
Posts: 13015
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 3:29 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Fudoh »

TX-1 should be playbable now. Has been added one MAME version after mine. I'll update my version and give it a try.
User avatar
Fenrir
Posts: 802
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 6:43 pm
Location: Tromsø
Contact:

Post by Fenrir »

Totoro doesn't look too pleased. Maybe he doesn't like Darius II. Maybe he's right?
Alas, Ikaruga is going...

Undesired, unwanted them...
What makes them go?
Post Reply