shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 7:46 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 196 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:07 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 7242
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
Image


Ultracade Universal Video Converter

Image

What it does:

The Ultracade Universal Video Converter, or UVC for short, can convert a high res video signal into an arcade monitor compatible RGBS signal. In 15kHz or in 24kHz. There are other ways of hooking up a high res source to an arcade cabinet like this, but no other can output to 24kHz (AFAIK).

From the manual
Quote:
This is a very simple board that has only one function, to allow the display of PC based games on older arcade style monitors. The board needs to be an external device that requires no modification to the software running on the PC. It will handle one of three input resolutions (1024x768, 800x600 or 640x480) with a vertical refresh rate of 60Hz and output to one of two user selectable output modes (640x240@15.72KHz) or (640x384@24.9KHz) The coin-op monitors are RGB noninterlaced and run at 60Hz. The Input of the board will be a DBH-15 VGA analog VGA connector and the output is a 0.156” molex connector with pins for R, G, B, Ground and Syncs.

Input resolutions

· 640x480
· 800x600
· 1024x768

Input Frequency
· Vertical 60Hz

Output resolutions

The uVC board supports multiple output resolutions

Mode 1 - Low Resolution - CGA - (std resolution)
· Horizontal Pixel Clock 73.626 ns
· Horizontal Active Pixels 640 pixels 47.121 μs
· Horizontal Total Pixels 864 pixels 63.613 μs
· Horizontal Front Porch 64 pixels 4.712 μs
· Horizontal Sync Width 60 pixels 4.418 μs
· Horizontal Back Porch 100 pixels 7.363 μs
· Horizontal Scan Rate 15.72 KHz 63.613 μs
· Vertical Line Clock 63.613 μs
· Vertical Active Lines 240 li nes 15.267 ms
· Vertical Total Lines 262 li nes 16.667 ms
· Vertical Front Porch* 3 lines 0.318 ms
· Vertical Sync Width 3 lines 0.191 ms
· Vertical Back Porch 14 lines 0.891 ms
· Vertical Refresh Rate 60 Hz 16.667 ms

Mode 2 - Med Resolution - EGA
· Horizontal Pixel Clock 50.080 ns
· Horizontal Active Pixels 640 pixels 32.051 μs
· Horizontal Total Pixels 800 pixels 40.064 μs
· Horizontal Front Porch 1 6 pixels 0.801μs
· Horizontal Sync Width 80 pixels 4.006 μs
· Horizontal Back Porch 64 pixels 3.205 μs
· Horizontal Scan Rate 24.96 KHz 4 0.064 μs
· Vertical Line Clock 40.064 μs
· Vertical Active Lines 384 li nes 15.385 ms
· Vertical Total Lines 416 li nes 16.667 ms
· Vertical Front Porch* 5 lines 0.200 ms
· Vertical Sync Width 5 lines 0.200 ms
· Vertical Back Porch 22 lines 0.881 ms
· Vertical Refresh Rate 60 Hz 16.667 ms

*Vertical Front Porch Timing is variable based on input frequency



How it looks:


15 kHz (DOJ BL EX | Xbox 360):

Image


15 kHz (Ikaruga | XBox 360):

Image

Image


24 Khz (Ikaruga | XBox 360):

Image

Image


Comparison shot between the UVC (top) and an Extron Emotia (bottom) | 15kHz:

Image

Image



Image

Image


How to install it into a cabinet | through the JAMMA connector

Image

Part list:

1 JAMMA fingerboard
1 ATX HDD/CD power connector (You wire the black wire to GND on the fingerboard, the red wire to +5V and yellow to +12V)
1 fitting 6 pin female connector (I got mine from an old PC / ATX type connector) for VIDEO (you wire this up to the fingerboard, Red, Green, Blue, Video Sync, Video Ground)
Note: I wired both sync wires (H & V) from the UVC->VIDEO SYNC on the fingerboard (making them a composit sync signal)

Manual / Userguide: http://service.globalvr.com/downloads/u ... e_v03B.pdf

Dip switch settings:

1 – Splash Screen Display

· *On = When the uVC is synchronizing, the splash screen is displayed
· Off = When the uVC is synchronizing, a black screen is displayed

2 – Output Delay Scan Lines (if tearing appears on the bottom of the screen, increase the delay lines, if the top of the screen is wrapped around to the bottom, decrease the delay lines)

· *On = 8
· Off = 16

3 – Output Display

· *On = Low Res (CGA) 15.75KHz
· Off = Med Res (EGA) 24.5KHz

5:4 – Input Resolution

· *On/On = Auto Detect
· On/Off=VGA (640x480)
· Off/On=SVGA (800x600)
· Off/Off=XGA (1024x768)

6 – Horizontal/Composite Sync Polarity

· *On = Positive
· Off = Negative

7 – Vertical Sync Polarity

· Separate Sync
*On = Positive
Off = Negative

· Composite Sync
*On = Always Low
Off = Always Hi

8 – Sync Output Signal
· On = Composite
· *Off = HV Sync Separate

*denotes default settings

Troubleshooting:

The uVC should work right out of the box. If you are having trouble getting an image, refer to the section below that applies.

No image on the monitor at all:
· Verify that the PCB is powered (all 4 LEDs near the fuses illuminated)
· Verify that the PCB is running (at least one of the LEDs near the output Molex (J7) is illuminated)
· Verify that the splash screen is enabled with DIP switch 1
· Verify that the monitor is powered
· Verify that you have the proper video cable attached correctly to the monitor
NOTE: if you have a v00 or v01 PCB (firmware 1.xx), make sure that the Hsync and GND pins are correctly connected; they changed on the v02 PCBs and later (firmware 2.xx and later)

Monitor always displays the default “splash” screen
· Ensure the input has a vertical refresh rate of 60Hz
· Ensure the input is either VGA (640x480), SVGA (800x600) or XGA (1024x768)
· If the splash screen says there is no input detected, check there is actual input data

Image on the monitor keeps cycling:
· Verify that you have the proper output mode with DIP switch 3
· Change the sync signals from composite to separate (or vice versa) with DIP switch 8
· Change the sync signals from positive to negative (or vice versa) with DIP switches 6 and 7

Image on monitor is stable but top of screen is displayed on bottom, or bottom of screen is “torn”
· Change the input to output delay with DIP switch 2

Image is good, but intermittently goes back to the “splash” screen
· Some consoles have been found to have unstable synchronization; ensure you have v2.1 of the firmware or later (version is shown on splash screen)

· If you're using a computer as your source, some versions of Windows (Vista, maybe others) are tricky to get into a compatible video mode

· Using a video card with a DVI output using a DVI->VGA adapter might not always work

Important notes

The pinouts for the video output (J7) were different in prototype PCBs (version 00). In all subsequent PCBs produced, the output video matches the reverse of the pinouts on most monitors (R,G,B,Gnd,Vsync,C/Hsync). The version of the PCB is given on the PCB serial number starting 990uVCxxxxxxxxx; the last two digits after the final dash are the PCB version. If you have a uVC with PCB version 00, please note that you must swap the C/H Sync and Video Ground pins on the cable to your arcade monitor.

Hardware revisions:

· Version 00A. PCB version 00. Firmware version 0.18: 10/10/2003, DRF. Original version.
· Version 00B. PCB version 00. Firmware version 0.20: 10/13/2003, DRF. Input Horizontal Timing. Addition of new DIP switch functions on
chart. Correction to input resolution switch notes. Output Timing update. Power Update.
· Version 00C. PCB version 00. Firmware version 1.10: 10/14/2003, DRF. Update to remove use of jumpers for mode selection. All settings via DIP switch. Addition of polarity selection for output H & V Syncs.
· Version 00D. PCB version 00. Firmware version 1.30: 10/16/2003, DRF. Automatic input resolution detection. Fix tear on SVGA > CGA.
· Version 00A. PCB version 00. Firmware version 1.81: 11/6/2003, DRF. Updated logic diagram. Updated DIP switch settings. Added logo screen when switching modes or no input detected.
· Version 02A. PCB version 02. Firmware version 2.00: 11/26/2003, DRF. Input and output resolution displayed while syncing. PCB updates include: unused LED removal; unused pads for non-stuffed parts removed; reset changed from button to 2pin header; video output pins remapped to reverse of standard monitor input pins.
· Version 03A. PCB version 03. Firmware version 2.04: 07/01/2004, DT. PCB allows multiple clock footprints. Firmware has increased functionality.
· Version 03B. PCB version 03. Firmware version 2.1: 05/11/2005, DT. Fix intermittent sync problems from some consoles and DIP switch
1 allows the splash screen to be disabled.

Weird

Using the 360 as a source, you can get the UVC to accept these resolutions:

848x480 (this mode is widescreen, so the 360 can't be set to full screen)
1280x720 (this mode is widescreen, so the 360 can't be set to full screen)

Note: I've only tested the above two modes in 24kHz, not sure how they will handled in 15kHz but they should work.
_________________
Image | My games - http://www.emphatic.se | Custom shmup move strips! | Now featuring Storm Blade English move strip!
RegalSin wrote:
Street Fighters. We need to aviod them when we activate time accellerator.


Last edited by emphatic on Tue Dec 16, 2014 7:52 pm, edited 11 times in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:58 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 2673
Location: Germany
Awesome. Thanks for the repost.

Fudoh saved what could be retrieved from the old thread here: http://pms.hazard-city.de/UVC.zip
Thanks a lot for that, too.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 3:16 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 7242
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
If someone wants something added to the OP, let me know and I'll update it.
_________________
Image | My games - http://www.emphatic.se | Custom shmup move strips! | Now featuring Storm Blade English move strip!
RegalSin wrote:
Street Fighters. We need to aviod them when we activate time accellerator.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 9:10 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 7242
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
Found the newest manual online and updated the first post with a list of all hardware revisions, troubleshooting etc. Also made a fancy banner.
_________________
Image | My games - http://www.emphatic.se | Custom shmup move strips! | Now featuring Storm Blade English move strip!
RegalSin wrote:
Street Fighters. We need to aviod them when we activate time accellerator.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 10:13 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 357
Location: College Park, MD
First of all Emphatic, thanks for the repost from yours truly as well. I have a problem though. I've been using the UVC for some time with the 360 and the EII because of your recommendation and it has been pretty good, if not a great piece of hardware IMO. However, I recently got back an original xbox that I had previously modded a long time ago from my baby's momma and I have hooked up the console with the X2VGA+ vga adapter. Anyways, it works, however the image cuts in and out aka "intermittent sync problems," as described in the hardware revision info above. Like you, my unit is 2.04. Is there anyway to update the firmware on this thing? There is no usb input/output, so don't really know how about I could connect it to a pc or mac and update it... I probably will end up not needing to update it since I'm thinking of posting this grand Halo edition xbox on neo-geo forums trading section since I can not post such a "special system," here, but would like to know for sure if updating is possible since I'm enjoying Guwange in fba-XXXpro as we speak. The "intermittent sync problems," is very annoying though since I have to pause the game and wait for it to sync up again before playing, sometimes killing me in the process. Very fucking annoying.
_________________
chempop wrote:
The Milk Ever. :shock:


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 11:09 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 7242
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
Sorry, I have no clue how to update the BIOS. This hardware is discontinued at the manufacturer who no longer seem to have a website anymore (and seems swept under the rug @ HAPP/SUZO as well). Thanks for posting the question, it clears up a mystery for me. I tried hooking up my PS2 with Component to my HD Box Pro outputting 480p to the UVC, but the sync got lost from time to time. I couldn't figure it out.

I would make a new thread about "intermittent sync problems" here instead. I have no knowledge in what causes it, but surely there must be some type of "sync cleaner" unit? Perhaps Fudoh knows.
_________________
Image | My games - http://www.emphatic.se | Custom shmup move strips! | Now featuring Storm Blade English move strip!
RegalSin wrote:
Street Fighters. We need to aviod them when we activate time accellerator.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 11:28 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 357
Location: College Park, MD
thumbs up
_________________
chempop wrote:
The Milk Ever. :shock:


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 12:02 am 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 7242
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
Maybe this thread is helpful? http://shoryuken.com/f177/help-cga-vga- ... al-239796/

If you just let the a game demo roll, does the video cut out because of something the game does, or is it more like random drop outs?
_________________
Image | My games - http://www.emphatic.se | Custom shmup move strips! | Now featuring Storm Blade English move strip!
RegalSin wrote:
Street Fighters. We need to aviod them when we activate time accellerator.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:10 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 357
Location: College Park, MD
Couldn't open the thread up Emphatic. Due to being at work which blocks certain links and no internet at home at the moment. And yes, just random cut outs, sometimes every minute or so, sometimes every 5-10 minutes...
_________________
chempop wrote:
The Milk Ever. :shock:


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 2:42 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 7242
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
Ah, must be some sort of signal distortion. Try wrapping the cables in tin foil (for real).
_________________
Image | My games - http://www.emphatic.se | Custom shmup move strips! | Now featuring Storm Blade English move strip!
RegalSin wrote:
Street Fighters. We need to aviod them when we activate time accellerator.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 3:52 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 357
Location: College Park, MD
I thought perhaps this could be the case, perhaps a crimped cable inside the x2vga+ adapter, but I doubt it. If I jiggle the X2vga+ at all, I've always had the problem that this will reboot the xbox, but never had problems in the past using a regular crt as opposed to the nanao in the EII, concerning the sync cutting in and out. I'm going to test the adapter with a regular crt either tonight or tomorrow and see. I really think the problem is coming from the 2.04 bios in the uvc. I will post back after testing.
_________________
chempop wrote:
The Milk Ever. :shock:


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 4:21 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 7242
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
In the link I posted, they used a sync splitting circuit to stabilize the signal. I'm sure that you could have someone here build some sort of gadget for you including one of those.
_________________
Image | My games - http://www.emphatic.se | Custom shmup move strips! | Now featuring Storm Blade English move strip!
RegalSin wrote:
Street Fighters. We need to aviod them when we activate time accellerator.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 7:09 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 7242
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
Bumping to say that I tried running my 360 in 848x480 and weirdly enough the UVC accepted this AND 1280x720 as well! :shock: Updated the first post with these at the bottom in a category I'd like to call "Weird".
_________________
Image | My games - http://www.emphatic.se | Custom shmup move strips! | Now featuring Storm Blade English move strip!
RegalSin wrote:
Street Fighters. We need to aviod them when we activate time accellerator.


Last edited by emphatic on Fri Nov 19, 2010 7:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 7:15 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 1531
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Stupid question: is it possible with this thing to hook a mame-pc via vga cable to a 24khz monitor while using an ipac on the pc for the controls? All without using jamma? I'm not trolling' I'm just quite teh nOOb with this things.
_________________
Truth - Compassion - Tolerance


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 7:18 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 7242
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
Drachenherz wrote:
is it possible with this thing to hook a mame-pc via vga cable to a 24khz monitor while using an ipac on the pc for the controls? All without using jamma? I'm not trolling' I'm just quite teh nOOb with this things.


This is correct.

Edit: Removed the "stupid question:" part from your quote. :lol:
_________________
Image | My games - http://www.emphatic.se | Custom shmup move strips! | Now featuring Storm Blade English move strip!
RegalSin wrote:
Street Fighters. We need to aviod them when we activate time accellerator.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 7:26 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 1531
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
emphatic wrote:
Drachenherz wrote:
is it possible with this thing to hook a mame-pc via vga cable to a 24khz monitor while using an ipac on the pc for the controls? All without using jamma? I'm not trolling' I'm just quite teh nOOb with this things.


This is correct.


Holy motherfoly, this is EXCACTLY what I need! I just bid for a sega model 2 cab (I'd thought it was a naomi in the beginning :-/stupid noobish me ...) with a 24 khz monitor (and probably a 15 khz mode too) and I was wondering how to connect the monitor to a pc without much hassle. Where can I order it? :-)

Edit: removed the "stupid question" part from my quote in your quote. :D
_________________
Truth - Compassion - Tolerance


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 10:13 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 7242
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
Drachenherz wrote:
Where can I order it? :-)


http://cgi.ebay.com/Ultracade-VGA-CGA-E ... 19c09c1ac7
_________________
Image | My games - http://www.emphatic.se | Custom shmup move strips! | Now featuring Storm Blade English move strip!
RegalSin wrote:
Street Fighters. We need to aviod them when we activate time accellerator.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 10:25 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 1531
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
emphatic wrote:
Drachenherz wrote:
Where can I order it? :-)


http://cgi.ebay.com/Ultracade-VGA-CGA-E ... 19c09c1ac7


Now, if only I had an ebay-account... :?

Any chance the ebay-seller is here on the boards? :D
_________________
Truth - Compassion - Tolerance


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 11:46 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 7242
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
Drachenherz wrote:
Now, if only I had an ebay-account... :?

Any chance the ebay-seller is here on the boards? :D


You could try buying one here though. You might even score one with a finished cable.
_________________
Image | My games - http://www.emphatic.se | Custom shmup move strips! | Now featuring Storm Blade English move strip!
RegalSin wrote:
Street Fighters. We need to aviod them when we activate time accellerator.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2010 1:43 am 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 7242
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
I've made a little mirror site for this thread on my site should something happen to this thread: http://www.emphatic.se/ultracade.html
_________________
Image | My games - http://www.emphatic.se | Custom shmup move strips! | Now featuring Storm Blade English move strip!
RegalSin wrote:
Street Fighters. We need to aviod them when we activate time accellerator.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2010 4:54 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 1531
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
emphatic wrote:
Drachenherz wrote:
Now, if only I had an ebay-account... :?

Any chance the ebay-seller is here on the boards? :D


You could try buying one here though. You might even score one with a finished cable.


That would be swell of course. :-) I alread opened a WTB-Thread for an uvc. But I also asked a kollegue of mine who has an eBay account, if he could order it for me. Let's see. Fact is, I definetely need one of those, the uvc is the only converter-boarder I found up to now that outputs 24 kHz.

What makes me wonder, though: Does converting the video-signal lead to any kind of lag?
_________________
Truth - Compassion - Tolerance


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2010 8:30 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 7242
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
Drachenherz wrote:
What makes me wonder, though: Does converting the video-signal lead to any kind of lag?


Nope. :D
_________________
Image | My games - http://www.emphatic.se | Custom shmup move strips! | Now featuring Storm Blade English move strip!
RegalSin wrote:
Street Fighters. We need to aviod them when we activate time accellerator.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 1:23 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 1531
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
*glee*

My UVC just arrived today...

Now I just have to transport the huge mothereffing piece of an arcade cabinet into our dojo... *gulp*
_________________
Truth - Compassion - Tolerance


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 1:51 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 7242
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
A few people have asked me about the two sync wires (H & V) coming from the UVC and which one to hook up to the VIDEO SYNC on the fingerboard. My answer is BOTH, making the two a COMPOSIT SYNC signal. I also added this to that section of the first post. Thank you for reminding me. :D
_________________
Image | My games - http://www.emphatic.se | Custom shmup move strips! | Now featuring Storm Blade English move strip!
RegalSin wrote:
Street Fighters. We need to aviod them when we activate time accellerator.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:33 am 



Joined: 10 Jan 2011
Posts: 1
I just got in my ultracade uvc today. i found this picture and was wondering if this is all to it? i dont know where the H and V sync wires are either. sorry im all new to this.
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 8:51 am 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 7242
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
jonjonsb wrote:
I just got in my ultracade uvc today. i found this picture and was wondering if this is all to it? i dont know where the H and V sync wires are either. sorry im all new to this.
Image


Wow, that's a small picture. :lol:

If you look in the manual: http://service.globalvr.com/downloads/u ... e_v03B.pdf you have a pinout of the video and the power. You can (I recommend it) solder both H and V wires from the UVC to the JAMMA SYNC on the fingerboard.

And that's really it, just hook up video out from the UVC along with power out from the fingerboard, connect a VGA device to the UVC and turn on your cabinet with the UVC set to 15kHz (unless you know that the monitor will accept 24kHz right away). You can also test it without a VGA device (console @ 480p, computer) and you should see a test picture from the UVC. If you do this, make a note of the version number so you can use this when looking at the manual's revision list.
_________________
Image | My games - http://www.emphatic.se | Custom shmup move strips! | Now featuring Storm Blade English move strip!
RegalSin wrote:
Street Fighters. We need to aviod them when we activate time accellerator.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 8:42 pm 



Joined: 19 Mar 2010
Posts: 1647
Location: UK
Could this be used to convert a hi-res 360 signal to a 15khz low-res and then output back to a DSUB 15 pin connector for a tri-sync naomi direct connect?
_________________
The FaginRS500 YouTube Channel of gaming related shizz


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 9:13 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 7242
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
fagin wrote:
Could this be used to convert a hi-res 360 signal to a 15khz low-res and then output back to a DSUB 15 pin connector for a tri-sync naomi direct connect?


Probably, but if you only want scanlines, I think you'd get a much better result using this: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=33454
_________________
Image | My games - http://www.emphatic.se | Custom shmup move strips! | Now featuring Storm Blade English move strip!
RegalSin wrote:
Street Fighters. We need to aviod them when we activate time accellerator.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:22 pm 



Joined: 19 Mar 2010
Posts: 1647
Location: UK
Good call.... will give that a go. :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ultracade Universal Video Converter
PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:59 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 03 Aug 2007
Posts: 220
Location: Reno, NV
Diggin' up this thread again, seems a bit more appropriate than starting my own.

My uVC I got seems to put out video that's over amped, everything is blaringly white and terrible, like the gamma levels are too high or something. Can anyone shed some light on this? I'm feeding it thru a Capcom and a Sega JVS I/O right now, haven't tried any other methods yet. Feeding it thru the USBLinx II I have gives me nothing, but I also don't know if that thing works or not. I've already tried various DIPSW settings, but feel free to suggest away!

Any help would be appreciated!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 196 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], doonut, FBX, Google [Bot] and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group