shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 2:53 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4394 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125 ... 147  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 12:13 pm 



Joined: 20 Jun 2009
Posts: 266
Location: UK - Essex
Whats the best way of hooking up old Consoles. Is it best to use the Euro Scart adapter or Sync Strike with VGA input?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 1:07 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10510
Location: Germany
Should be identical in most cases. On the back RGB input you cannot change the input termination.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 4:06 pm 



Joined: 20 Jun 2009
Posts: 266
Location: UK - Essex
OK so nothing, I am not really getting this device a all :cry:

Jap Saturn --> Sync Strike --> VGA into D in 2 --> VGA out into PC Monitor and.... Nothing. 'No Input'


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 4:17 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10510
Location: Germany
You have to configure the input for the right type of signal. In the menu you can choose between RGBHV, RGBs and component. It's probably just set to the wrong format.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 4:44 pm 



Joined: 20 Jun 2009
Posts: 266
Location: UK - Essex
It was on AUTO, swapped it to RGBHV and I am getting this.

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 6:27 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10510
Location: Germany
I never tried a Sync Strike in conjunction with a XRGB-3, so I can't really comment. I used the back RGB input a lot though, usually just with a breakout adapter from Scart. The input was set to RGBS (or was it called RGBC in the XRGB?).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Mon Jan 20, 2014 11:14 am 



Joined: 20 Jun 2009
Posts: 266
Location: UK - Essex
I got the hang of this now, I do a few have a few more questions but I just need to test something first. THANKS again for your help Fudoh.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 3:19 am 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Jan 2014
Posts: 110
Is it worth starting an XRGB4 feature request thread?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 9:11 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 287
Location: Birmingham, England
Why not, we can dream can't we. Give the feature list to Fudoh and ship him to Japan to sort it out.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Tue Jan 28, 2014 10:23 am 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 2760
Location: UK
There's already one on the wiki
_________________
https://www.evolvehq.com/players/buckoa51
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Tue Jan 28, 2014 11:49 am 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Jan 2014
Posts: 110
Perfect, cheers BuckoA51!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 11:18 am 



Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 211
Well, I'm having several problems with my XRGB-3 that I want to list here and ask for advice before I assume the thing is just broken and try to return it.

- First, I've been able to flash the device with the most recent firmware successfully, but the following issues happen no matter whether I'm using Japanese or English firmware.
- The AV INPUT SELECT buttons don't do anything. The device defaults to GAME IN and I can't seem to switch to any others. I don't have a remote.
- The STATUS and MODE buttons don't do anything normally, but they do function as arrow buttons within the menus.
- I get no sound from either the LINE OUT or PHONES jacks. I've verified that the sound input I'm feeding into the device (either through the RGB cables or the 3.5mm LINE IN jack) is working properly.
- Scanlines are not visible no matter what settings I adjust. I have applied the B1 firmware update.

I kind of want to try older firmware versions for testing, but I can't find any at the moment and I'm not too hopeful.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 11:38 am 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 287
Location: Birmingham, England
Maybe a bad flash? I have a couple of files left over from when I flashed mine, not sure if they will be any help though.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/dmj44hzes430yzs/XjfihnTyhT


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 11:46 am 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 2760
Location: UK
Did you explicitly set the device to B1 mode before you tried to use scanlines?
_________________
https://www.evolvehq.com/players/buckoa51
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 11:47 am 



Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 211
brownvim wrote:
Maybe a bad flash? I have a couple of files left over from when I flashed mine, not sure if they will be any help though.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/dmj44hzes430yzs/XjfihnTyhT

Same version I have. I've made sure the update tool finishes with a successful status after each flash, too.

BuckoA51 wrote:
Did you explicitly set the device to B1 mode before you tried to use scanlines?

I've tried both B0 and B1 each time.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 1:12 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 2760
Location: UK
Tried resetting the unit?
_________________
https://www.evolvehq.com/players/buckoa51
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 1:24 pm 



Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 211
BuckoA51 wrote:
Tried resetting the unit?

After every time I reflashed the device (power off, hold menu+OK, hold power, keep all held for several seconds until indicator lights change, power on).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 1:51 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 2760
Location: UK
Okay and what source(s) are you using?
_________________
https://www.evolvehq.com/players/buckoa51
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 1:58 pm 



Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 211
An N64 and a Genesis through JP21 RGB. Video and sound for each of them come through fine on the XCAPTURE-1, using the same RGB cables. I'm not getting any sound on the XRGB-3. The Genesis video looks really bad on the XRGB-3 as well (very blurry, shifted off-screen, etc.) but I expect that's at least partly due to settings that can be adjusted or the device's sensitivity to noise in the connection or something.

I've also tried routing each of them through the VGA port in the back via the XSYNC-1 (which is how I connect them to the XCAPTURE-1 in the first place), but I have no way to switch the input to the VGA port in the back. (Yes, I've selected RGBHV via Din2 in the menu.)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 2:27 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 2760
Location: UK
Switch to B1 mode, power cycle the unit (but obviously don't reset it) then see if you can put the scanlines on. Does that work?
_________________
https://www.evolvehq.com/players/buckoa51
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 2:36 pm 



Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 211
BuckoA51 wrote:
Switch to B1 mode, power cycle the unit (but obviously don't reset it) then see if you can put the scanlines on. Does that work?

That does seem to fix scanlines, yes. Thanks.

Genesis picture is still a blurry and wavy mess but I'm trying to see if I can get anywhere with the dot clock setting.
Sound and input selection are sill mysteries.

EDIT: Progress made with Genesis picture by bumping ADC level down to 160 or so. Still kinda blurry. In particular, this is still failing the color bleed test on the 240p suite pretty badly. Most other criteria are at a passing grade.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 3:39 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 2760
Location: UK
I found that you need to use a raw sync cable with the Genesis for best results. As for the sound issue I've never routed sound through mine so I can't help you there.

My guess on the input selection was that the signal wasn't coming through correctly on the d-sub connector, so you were selecting the input but it wasn't working.
_________________
https://www.evolvehq.com/players/buckoa51
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 4:02 pm 



Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 211
It's as if all five of the AV INPUT SELECT buttons on the front of the device are not functioning. I can't get it to switch to anything besides the GAME IN RGB input. I'm just plugging Dreamcast VGA straight into D IN 2 now and there's no way I can get it to be picked up.

EDIT: Welp, restarted everything from the first step, only this time without my USB mouse plugged into my laptop while I'm updating.

Everything seems to work correctly now. Derp.

and omfg it's beautiful. Even a plain jane Genesis RGB cable works fine once you route it through the XSYNC-1 first.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 8:30 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 2760
Location: UK
Haha, the XRGB3 is made of derp, you'll get used to it :mrgreen:

Glad you got it working.
_________________
https://www.evolvehq.com/players/buckoa51
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 10:38 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 287
Location: Birmingham, England
"Omfg it's beautiful" this is exactly what I thought too haha


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2014 8:48 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 29 Jul 2008
Posts: 35
Location: Transylvania
Not going to dig through 100+ pages, so if I could get an assist... :lol:

The OEM power adapter is rated at 11v 2a, correct? Does anyone know where to obtain a suitable replacement? I bought one recently and the seller included a generic adapter rated at 12v 2a. :|

Or, does anyone have a line on ordering replacement parts directly from Micomsoft? Will they ship overseas?

Thanks in advance.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2014 9:49 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 287
Location: Birmingham, England
I used this http://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/321076548331?actionName=VIDESC

You will need to change the tip though


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2014 9:56 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 29 Jul 2008
Posts: 35
Location: Transylvania
brownvim wrote:
I used this http://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/321076548331?actionName=VIDESC

You will need to change the tip though


Thanks, mate. Looks like this one is suitable for US buyers: http://www.ebay.com/itm/VSK-0613-AC-Ada ... 4cf8e5e942

I should've asked in my previous post, but, do you (or anyone else? Fudoh? 8) ) know if the tip of the OEM XRGB-3 power adapter is center positive or center negative?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2014 9:58 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 287
Location: Birmingham, England
I can't remember, I used a multimeter when I fitted mine.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2014 10:18 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 29 Jul 2008
Posts: 35
Location: Transylvania
brownvim wrote:
I can't remember, I used a multimeter when I fitted mine.


Derp, good point. :oops: I could just do it that way. :mrgreen: Good to know for future reference, though, as I'll probably add this to the wiki.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4394 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125 ... 147  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: doonut, Google [Bot], leonk, Slash and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group