shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Thu Jul 20, 2017 10:51 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4394 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, 122, 123 ... 147  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 2:02 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 287
Location: Birmingham, England
Thanks, good job iv got a RGB scart cable for my PS2, I had everything connected to my scart switcher into a CRT before.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 7:38 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 2746
Location: UK
The component input via the GAME_IN port also seems less noisy than the other dedicated D-Terminal ports, at least on my unit anyway.
_________________
https://www.evolvehq.com/players/buckoa51
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 7:46 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 287
Location: Birmingham, England
I found this for a power supply for XRGB-3, would it work if I changed the port on the end? Only £1.99 delivered.

http://item.mobileweb.ebay.co.uk/viewit ... cmd=VIDESC


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 12:51 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 287
Location: Birmingham, England
anyone know the name of the DC adapter tip for the XRGB-3?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 5:48 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 287
Location: Birmingham, England
Got my XRGB-3 today :) the power supply i got in my earlier post works fine.

Compatibility with my Dell S2740L monitor couldn't be better, every resolution works using VGA and DVI, plus 50hz works through the VGA cable too which is perfect for some of my PAL games.

I have one issue though, its with the PS1 and SNES, the picture seems to have like a diagonal, swaying, blocky colors moving (is it noise?), I have made a video to show this http://youtu.be/3r8CYqYiK-4

Im using RGB scart cables and they are both PAL consoles but playing 60hz games. My MegaDrive doesn't do this, perfect rock solid color picture, neither does the Wii and PS2. I'm thinking maybe its poor cables? what could i do to fix this?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 7:13 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10437
Location: Germany
That's very likely a problem with the PAL composite video signal used for RGB sync. Sounds like a stripper would the solution for this.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 7:25 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 287
Location: Birmingham, England
A sync stripper? Could i modify them to display pure sync?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 7:28 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10437
Location: Germany
No, BUT if you open up both systems (PS1 and SNES), cut the trace to the composite video output and replace it with the Luminance signal (part of the s-video signal) already present in both systems, then the interference pattern will be gone. Works on both systems. No need for clean sync.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 1:02 am 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 287
Location: Birmingham, England
Thanks, I will try this. Loving the XRGB-3 :) no lag feels so good


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 7:51 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 287
Location: Birmingham, England
Need some help with the SNES Mod, I can't find the trace I have to cut for the composite sync.
I will take some pictures later.

Edit
http://imageshack.com/i/euttboj

http://imageshack.com/i/0bpmkz

Got 2 pics of the pins connected to the AV Out on the snes, anyone got any idea which ones to bridge and which line to cut?

From looking at this picture
http://kyorune.com/modding/article.php?id=12

I should bridge pins 7 and 9, and cut the trace to 9. Is that right?

Pin 7 = Luminance
Pin 9 = Composite Video + C-Sync


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 1:24 am 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 287
Location: Birmingham, England
Ok bridged the 2 pins and the picture is a lot better, 80% of the interference has gone.

Just need to cut the trace for composite video, don't know how or where to though.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 1:34 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10437
Location: Germany
Image

You cut whatever runs to Pin 9 and make a bridge from 7 to 9. Just scratch through the line running down from Pin 9. You can follow the signal patch as far as you want or just cut it as close to the Pin as you can. Doesn't matter.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 9:07 am 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 287
Location: Birmingham, England
On my snes you can't see any of the tracks like in that picture. They are covered by some thick dark green substance.

Which is why I was hoping to find tracks elsewhere, that's an N64 picture I believe, even though the pins are the same it's harder to see any tracks on snes by the AV out.

I might just solder a wire from the Luma pin into my scart end, cut the composite wire and Unbridge the 2 pins.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:20 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 287
Location: Birmingham, England
Ok managed to wire it up and it worked great, picture was nice and clean but I got carried away playing without having put the heat sink back on :(

The picture went black and I realised my dumb error straight away. Turned off the power. That part that connects to the heat sink was obviously really hot.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 1:25 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 287
Location: Birmingham, England
It works, luckily, all good :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Wed Dec 25, 2013 7:00 am 


User avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2007
Posts: 5021
Location: Where the fish lives, WV
Did newer firmware fix the "squashing" issue with Mega Drive and Saturn?

http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/XRGB ... in_B1_mode
_________________
My Collection: http://www.rfgeneration.com/cgi-bin/col ... Collection


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 7:20 pm 



Joined: 20 Dec 2013
Posts: 5
Hello, i hope someone can help me. I bought the xrgb-3 from a Japanese ebayer and it appeared to work ok but it was all in Japanese (Menu langauge). I tried updating the firmware to English but now i've bricked it. Would anyone be able to offer any suggestions on how to unbrick it and also make it in English at the same time?

Many thanks

Robert.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 7:24 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10437
Location: Germany
firmwares have been multi-language for quite some time The only difference between the japanese and the english ones was to which language they were preset.

How can you brick an XRGB ? Did you try to reflash from a Windows XP system ?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 7:29 pm 



Joined: 20 Dec 2013
Posts: 5
Hello, yes I tried to flash it from Windows 7 64-bit
I used a Japanese flash program * xrgb3_update_setup_v2_31e_110506.exe *and i took a risk by clicking (What I thought) was the right icons.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 7:36 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10437
Location: Germany
You can use the japanese updater, no problem. Or the english one, doesn't matter. I have a step by step update tutorial for the japanese updater on my website. You should try it from a 32-bit XP system.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 7:55 pm 



Joined: 20 Dec 2013
Posts: 5
Great! Thanks for the speedy replies also. Can I have the details for your site please? I must give it a shot.

Regards
Rob


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 7:57 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10437
Location: Germany
http://retrogaming.hazard-city.de/ You have to scroll down quite some bit, but you can't miss it....


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 8:10 pm 



Joined: 20 Dec 2013
Posts: 5
Thanks man but the links appear to be outdated or broken at the moment. :/


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 9:28 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10437
Location: Germany
I know, but you can simply go the Micomsoft download page and download whatever you need manually.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2014 3:36 am 



Joined: 22 Sep 2010
Posts: 60
I need some advice on which mode is best for my setup on 240p input devices.

My TV is an LG "Slim CRT" HDTV with maximum resolution of 1080i. With it being considered a "Slim CRT", I'm not clear what happens with the signal I'm feeding to it as far as upscaling and/or interlacing/de-interlacing. Here is a link to some info about my TV if that helps:

http://www.bestbuybusiness.com/bbfb/en/ ... tion=Specs

I'm currently using a VGA to Component transcoder in B1 mode. Is that the best I can do, or should I be using something else?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2014 11:37 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10437
Location: Germany
That's the best you can do. 31khz 480p signals should display rather unprocessed.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 5:18 pm 



Joined: 20 Jun 2009
Posts: 266
Location: UK - Essex
Anyone share a link to a UK powersupply for a Jap XRGB-3 Unit?

Ta


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 6:59 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 287
Location: Birmingham, England
I used this

http://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/321076548331?actionName=VIDESC

You will need to change the tip though, I took the tip off the original jap power supply.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 7:15 pm 



Joined: 20 Jun 2009
Posts: 266
Location: UK - Essex
So it's just a matter of slicing the jap plug on the end. Does Maplin's not sell the right end plug?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 9:45 pm 



Joined: 22 Dec 2010
Posts: 143
You could buy this one and solder it on.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/DC-Power-Plug ... 439f907d9e


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4394 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, 122, 123 ... 147  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ashura, Bing [Bot], ChuChu Flamingo, juji82, Xer Xian and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group