shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 9:25 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4394 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120, 121 ... 147  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2012 5:49 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Nov 2009
Posts: 1400
Famitakun is a Micomsoft employee!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2012 6:48 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2010
Posts: 291
Location: Southtown
RGB32E wrote:
Famitakun is a Micomsoft employee!


I don't get it. Why is there a need for 1 person to own so many XRGB-3's then? Don't tell me they made different models.

Or is this simply their remaining stock?
_________________
SHOWTIME SYNERGY!!

Sega Mega Drive's Master System Mode


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2012 6:55 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10507
Location: Germany
That's at Micomsoft's offices or storage. Either remaining stock or defective units. Too hard to get ;) ?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2012 7:04 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2010
Posts: 291
Location: Southtown
Oh I see now... damn I guess the rumors about Micomsoft attempting to phase out the XRGB-3 are true then...

Slightly off topic but is Micomsoft making an XRGB-4 and if they are, will it offer SCART/VGA conversion? I felt that was an essential feature for the 3 two of the best analogue signals out there. As good as the 3 was there's room for improvement.
_________________
SHOWTIME SYNERGY!!

Sega Mega Drive's Master System Mode


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2012 7:14 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10507
Location: Germany
Quote:
Oh I see now... damn I guess the rumors about Micomsoft attempting to phase out the XRGB-3 are true then...

it's time. I can't imagine too many people going for a XRGB-3 with the Mini available.

Quote:
Slightly off topic but is Micomsoft making an XRGB-4 and if they are, will it offer SCART/VGA conversion?

I don't think they've started anything yet. A XRGB-4 would basically be a deluxe Mini. I still think the Mini will get a 31khz upgrade, and if you really need VGA, add a Fury to the Mini.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 11:38 am 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 2760
Location: UK
A fully bugfixed B1 mode coupled with a Frame Meister in 'B0' mode would make for a very nice 'XRGB4' unit. Probably not going to happen though, still rather a niche market.
_________________
https://www.evolvehq.com/players/buckoa51
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 2:20 pm 



Joined: 18 Nov 2011
Posts: 51
Fudoh wrote:
Quote:
Slightly off topic but is Micomsoft making an XRGB-4 and if they are, will it offer SCART/VGA conversion?

I don't think they've started anything yet. A XRGB-4 would basically be a deluxe Mini. I still think the Mini will get a 31khz upgrade, and if you really need VGA, add a Fury to the Mini.


I thought the HDFury converted HDMI to RGBHV not RGBHV to HDMI??


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 2:23 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10507
Location: Germany
Let me rephrase, if you really need VGA output, add a Fury.

The Mini should be able to handle VGA inputs. You probably just need matching adapter with a sync combiner inside, see here:
http://www.twitpic.com/9d3edj


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 5:26 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 2760
Location: UK
Yeah did anyone try that with the UMSA yet? That would allow VGA to be pushed down the same switching matrix as SCART thus avoiding the cable swap, theoretically anyway.
_________________
https://www.evolvehq.com/players/buckoa51
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 5:37 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2007
Posts: 5038
Location: Where the fish lives, WV
I haven't had this thing hooked up in about a year. I tried it out again today, with the SLG3000....and it still looks like crap. Pixelated...umm...pixels...and jaggy as hell polygons. I'm primarily using my PS2.

Could this be that my monitor(which upscales everything to 720) is ruining the image?

Can someone show me a very clear picture, of a polygonal game, on this thing? Gradius V or something would be good.

I'm just not believing the hype here.
_________________
My Collection: http://www.rfgeneration.com/cgi-bin/col ... Collection


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 8:12 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 2760
Location: UK
Sounds like you have it in B0 mode? Try B1 instead.
_________________
https://www.evolvehq.com/players/buckoa51
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 2:16 am 


User avatar

Joined: 02 May 2009
Posts: 37
evil_ash_xero wrote:
I haven't had this thing hooked up in about a year. I tried it out again today, with the SLG3000....and it still looks like crap. Pixelated...umm...pixels...and jaggy as hell polygons. I'm primarily using my PS2.

Could this be that my monitor(which upscales everything to 720) is ruining the image?

Can someone show me a very clear picture, of a polygonal game, on this thing? Gradius V or something would be good.

I'm just not believing the hype here.


Here is a phone pic of Gradius V through my XRGB + SLG3000 and the screen used was a Dell U2211H Monitor

http://i49.tinypic.com/2yljji9.jpg


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:28 am 


User avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2007
Posts: 5038
Location: Where the fish lives, WV
Thanks for the pic.
_________________
My Collection: http://www.rfgeneration.com/cgi-bin/col ... Collection


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 8:18 pm 



Joined: 19 Mar 2010
Posts: 1647
Location: UK
HELP! :mrgreen:

Playing with a 480p signal from PS2 to XRGB-3 via component, then into a CRT PC Monitor. Monitor won't sync (image is all messed up), but change signal to 240p or 480i and it's fine. If I try it on a LCD it's 100% fine.

I suspect it's Vertical Frequency issue (monitor reporting a 59hz signal) with this specific PC CRT.... any ideas on what I can adjust (if anything) on the XRGB-3?

B1 mode is fine.
_________________
The FaginRS500 YouTube Channel of gaming related shizz


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 8:34 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10507
Location: Germany
tried another component input ? unlocked v-sync ? Really never had any problem with that.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 8:42 pm 



Joined: 19 Mar 2010
Posts: 1647
Location: UK
Yeah.... tried all that and no joy. Banged it through the EDGE and HDFURY (took the XRGB out of the equation) and it's perfect.

The XRGB-3 was seeing the image as 525p.... the EDGE see's it as 480p. Not sure if that's a red herring.

Will try the XBOX 1 and see if that's the same.
_________________
The FaginRS500 YouTube Channel of gaming related shizz


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 8:54 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10507
Location: Germany
480p is called 525p in Japan, so that's ok....


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 9:57 pm 



Joined: 19 Mar 2010
Posts: 1647
Location: UK
Exactly the same with 480p mode on a XBOX 1. Must be another general compatibility issue.

Got to be honest though and say, feeding a CRT PC Monitor with a 480p signal is absolutely sublime. The games look truly stunning.
_________________
The FaginRS500 YouTube Channel of gaming related shizz


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2012 12:12 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2010
Posts: 291
Location: Southtown
Fudoh wrote:
480p is called 525p in Japan, so that's ok....


I have been enlightened.
_________________
SHOWTIME SYNERGY!!

Sega Mega Drive's Master System Mode


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 4:30 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 2760
Location: UK
I was experimenting with a new SCART switch today (and somehow managed to break my Bluedelta SMART SCART at the same time, hey ho) and also playing with my newly chipped Gamecube. Basically I was screwing around comparing picture quality with the various scalers I had set up and I can confirm that if you're transcoding 480p in B1 mode, using the GAME IN connector rather than the D-Terminal connectors results in a significant reduction in picture noise. It's especially noticeable on the PS2 as we all know, but it happens on the Gamecube and Xbox 1 too.

So there you go, get a simple YUV to SCART adaptor block on your SCART switch and feed in component that way and get better picture quality. I made a note of this on the wiki since it doesn't seem widely known. Just remember to switch back to RGB when you are done otherwise you might not get a picture on your RGB consoles :)
_________________
https://www.evolvehq.com/players/buckoa51
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:43 am 



Joined: 28 Jun 2011
Posts: 14
Just got a brand new SCPH-7501, but I'm unable to get a stable picture with SCPH-1050 and XRGB-3.

When I use on PS2 it works fine, even if it's NTSC U/C (SCPH-39001).

Help!

I tried the settings on wiki, but still having problems.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:53 am 



Joined: 28 Jun 2011
Posts: 14
Fixed, RGB-21 was in wrong mode.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 1:55 pm 



Joined: 01 Jul 2011
Posts: 52
Hi all,

I have been reading as much of this thread as possible and it is very informative.

I am in the market for a decent scaler for my retro systems as my Sony trinitron CRT is moving to a smaller room in my house and would like the option the play snes, saturn, md etc in another room.

If I get an XRGB-3 is there much setting up required between different consoles? I plan on using US SNES, region modded MD/32X, Jap Saturn and RGB modded N64 all via RGB.

I was hoping it would be case of setting it up the once and then just switching consoles, or will more effort be required??

I will be using B1 scanline mode, of course :D

Thanks


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:04 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10507
Location: Germany
Quote:
If I get an XRGB-3 is there much setting up required between different consoles? I plan on using US SNES, region modded MD/32X, Jap Saturn and RGB modded N64 all via RGB.

no, it's ok - much less hassle compared to the Mini. You also have two physical RGB ports which you can use with different settings - if required.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:13 pm 



Joined: 01 Jul 2011
Posts: 52
Fudoh wrote:
Quote:
If I get an XRGB-3 is there much setting up required between different consoles? I plan on using US SNES, region modded MD/32X, Jap Saturn and RGB modded N64 all via RGB.

no, it's ok - much less hassle compared to the Mini. You also have two physical RGB ports which you can use with different settings - if required.


Thanks for the reply. I think i have read somewhere about "borders" on Saturn and MD with the xrgb-3 and wanted to check how much setting up woukld be required between each console.

So in theory once I have it set-up as to me preference I should be happy enough with the image when swapping consoles??


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:17 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10507
Location: Germany
Quote:
I think i have read somewhere about "borders" on Saturn and MD

don't know what you mean, you have a link ?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:22 pm 



Joined: 01 Jul 2011
Posts: 52
Fudoh wrote:
Quote:
I think i have read somewhere about "borders" on Saturn and MD

don't know what you mean, you have a link ?


Ummm I will see if i canfind where I read it. It was something along the lines of a border to either the right/top or bottom left of the pic when playing saturn/md games. Basically, I just want to know if the pic will fill the entire screen (top and bottom) when running my consoles thru the xrgb-3?? I realise that if I have it set ti 4:3 then i will have the standard bars to the left and right which i am happy about.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:28 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10507
Location: Germany
It won't fill the screen. B1 is a linedoubling mode and the output resolution is 480p, so if you have a source with 224 lines (Saturn for example), the signal will be doubled to 448 lines. The remaining 32 lines (16 on top, 16 on bottom) will remain black.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:43 pm 



Joined: 01 Jul 2011
Posts: 52
Fudoh wrote:
It won't fill the screen. B1 is a linedoubling mode and the output resolution is 480p, so if you have a source with 224 lines (Saturn for example), the signal will be doubled to 448 lines. The remaining 32 lines (16 on top, 16 on bottom) will remain black.


Ah ok, I get it. Thanks for taking the time to answer my qusetions. I have also read thru the guide on your website and that is very helpful.

So in theory, games will look best through a 4:3 pc monitor (lcd/tft)?? I think i have a Dell Ultrasharp 20" 4:3 somewhere that should do a decent job.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XRGB-3
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 3:26 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10507
Location: Germany
doesn't really matter which display you use. The display needs to upscale the 480p signal to it's native resolution. Some TVs do this great, some monitors do, others don't. On a TV set you can add overscan which eliminates the borders. On a monitor you usually can't.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4394 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120, 121 ... 147  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: doonut, Harrumph, meneerbeer, Wachenroder, Zappyraccoon and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group