shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:44 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 6:47 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jun 2012
Posts: 196
Location: UK
So I got a PVM, or BVM as it looks like a BVM. It's beautiful picture and great geometry on the flat screen. It has 400h on it (it says "Hour Meter x100" in menu , does that mean 400h x 100?). Is that a lot of time for such a screen? My SNES is looking stunning on it. Megadrive 2 on the other hand won't sync on 60hz. Looks good on 50hz but the music in games is killing me. Tried Sonic and the slowed down theme is too much :lol:

So what are my options for the Sega? I've seen there's a new oscillator by Videogameperfection, would that work? I got the console on eBay so not sure who made the 50/60 switch mod but it's worked great on every other screen so far. Just need to find a Composite card for it unless I just mod the AV Famicom for RGB. It's great to just sit down and play without even being able to do the slightest nitpicking :) If anyone wants to see I can take some photos once I figure out how to make it look good with my phone.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 10:12 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 03 Dec 2015
Posts: 90
Location: Norway
Do you know what kind of sync your MD cable uses?
I had issues with my MD1 on a pro JVC, but a C-sync cable with a 470 ohm resistor and a 10microfarad cap on the sync line fixed the problem.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 11:08 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jun 2012
Posts: 196
Location: UK
It's a CSYNC cable from RGC but I haven't opened it to see inside.I'll have a look thanks!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 7:49 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 04 May 2017
Posts: 31
Location: Sao Paulo BR
if possible send some pictures of said monitors... It is always a joy to look at a good CRT :lol:


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 12:27 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jun 2012
Posts: 196
Location: UK
Star1 wrote:
Do you know what kind of sync your MD cable uses?
I had issues with my MD1 on a pro JVC, but a C-sync cable with a 470 ohm resistor and a 10microfarad cap on the sync line fixed the problem.


My MD2 RGB cable has 220uf cap on the sync line and no resistor. Would adding the resistor be worth the test? Photos of the monitor are coming later today :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 9:40 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jun 2012
Posts: 196
Location: UK
Super Turrican video through RGB: https://www.dropbox.com/s/6rshfnvl2s6i1v5/MOV_0089.mp4?dl=0
F-ZERO photo: https://www.dropbox.com/s/pt8mu24m5x16dpn/IMG-20170511-WA0005.jpg?dl=0
Darius Twin photo: https://www.dropbox.com/s/ubeb6hoyljnqxvd/IMG-20170511-WA0003.jpg?dl=0
I think my colours looked richer when the RGB card was in slot 2. I've moved the monitor downstairs and moved the card from slot one to two, is that possible or I'm just imagining it? The video is from upstairs with the card in slot 2.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 11:07 am 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 1119
I am curious about the screen, in that the internet as almost 0 information on it, the DT-V17CG seems alot more common. Do you have information specs on it? Like how Is it an aperture grill or a shadow mask and how many TVL it can do? The DT-V17CG can do 800TVL.

Here is the brochure of the DT-V17CG:

http://pro.jvc.com/pro/attributes/MONIT ... 1710cg.pdf


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 11:51 am 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jun 2012
Posts: 196
Location: UK
I have a brochure and manual for both of them, will post a link later if you're interested. According to them the 19" can do more than 900 TV lines but on 1080p/24fps only (I think). So probably would need the SDI card for that.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 11:53 am 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 1119
werk91 wrote:
According to them the 19" can do more than 900 TV lines but on 1080p/24fps only (I think).


Huh that's weird, shouldn't it be able to do the same in 240p or 480p?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 12:12 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jun 2012
Posts: 196
Location: UK

Here's a screenshot of the relevant part. I might be reading it wrong.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 12:48 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 1119
werk91 wrote:

Here's a screenshot of the relevant part. I might be reading it wrong.


Thanks, but what does it says next to it? (half the picture is cut off), all you can make out is "Vide... 108..."

Y/C is for S-Video, so for S-VIDEO it can only do 600TVL.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 1:33 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 03 Dec 2015
Posts: 90
Location: Norway
Did you get it working?

Also, the number of horizontal lines (TVL) is fixed, it does not vary based on input.

Other than a higher TVL, 900, vs 800, and an 18" tube instead of 16", the 1910CG and 1710CG are identical. I seem to recall a review stating that as far as sony monitors go, only the D series are better than these JVC models, but I havent found that review again.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 4:10 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jun 2012
Posts: 196
Location: UK
I cut the part about the 17" one sorry. Basically it says:
1710CG/1910CG Video (Y/C): 600 TV lines
1710CG 1080/60i: 800 TV lines
1910CG 1080/60i: 900 TV lines
And the brochure mentions " over 900 lines " for 19" model so I'm expecting some of it is marketing tricks...

I turned the monitor on this morning in the dark and the colours were spot on so maybe need to think about about where to sit when I play and how the light falls on it. Also my SNES isn't 1Chip so some games will look nicer than others in any case I presume. The person I bought it from peeled the film from the screen so more clear picture but with the cost of extra glare.

Still not sure what to do with the Sega though. Here's a pic of what it looks like on 60hz. The monitor says the input is "Other" and sometimes it will sync but with scrolling lines to sides etc. Switch to 50hz and all good. I hope there's an easy fix as the console works well and I only got it not that long ago.

As promised here's links for the manual and brochure I have:
Manual
Brochure

It's a very good monitor and I hope it lasts me. Wanted to double check to be very sure, everything I read online says shielded speakers are okay next to CRT. Atm it's next to a Sony SS-NX1 bookshelf speaker which clearly says at back "magnetically shielded type". Am I definitely good with it like that for long time?

Manual says the hour timer resets to back 0 once it passes 600+ so thanks JVC for the useless feature :lol:


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 4:21 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 03 Dec 2015
Posts: 90
Location: Norway
I dont think it's marketing, except that "more than 900" sounds better than "904" or whatever exact number is actually the case.

I agree with your thoughts on the SNES, I don't have a 1chip either, and some games just look a lot sharper than others.

You might be right about thinking of replacing the oscillator crystal. From the BVM A series thread, it just seems like some sets are VERY picky about off-standard signals.

And lol about the hour meter feature! It's the same on (at least some) JVC pro sets. Mine has an hour meter that goes from 1 to 650.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 10:23 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 1119
So why do they even mention 600TVL though?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 10:30 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 03 Dec 2015
Posts: 90
Location: Norway
I don't know, thats the only time I've seen that, other press material or technical info about the monitor just says 900+ lines.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2017 8:33 am 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jun 2012
Posts: 196
Location: UK
I'd consider the oscillator chip if there will be a fitting service on the website too, the instructions seem way above my skills. Otherwise might just track a Japanese MD2. Weirdly when in 50hz mode and I load a Genesis NTSC rom it runs in full screen. Is that normal or because of the Everdrive? Monitor still reports 50hz I think but it feels like it's 60hz.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 11:21 am 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 1119
werk91 wrote:


Is there an option for better quality video?

Also for pictures it's better to upload uncompressed png pictures rather than compressed and resized jpg pictures.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2017 6:03 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 03 Dec 2015
Posts: 90
Location: Norway
werk91 wrote:
Weirdly when in 50hz mode and I load a Genesis NTSC rom it runs in full screen. Is that normal or because of the Everdrive? Monitor still reports 50hz I think but it feels like it's 60hz.


This is not normal, and the everdrive cannot influence it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 6:53 am 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jun 2012
Posts: 196
Location: UK
I am looking into borrowing a better camera, at this stage the video remains the best representation. It does look good but you'll just have to take my word for it :roll: Been too busy recently to properly test all my consoles so I've just been having short play sessions of 20 mins or so


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 4:17 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jun 2012
Posts: 196
Location: UK
UPDATE: Found this thread on NeoGeo forum and it has some nice photos of the 17" one so enjoy. Mine looks just as good as those photos and my hour meter is significantly higher than 7200.
Photos: http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showthread.php?261368-Has-anybody-tried-the-jvc-dt-v-1710cg


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 6:54 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 1119
werk91 wrote:
UPDATE: Found this thread on NeoGeo forum and it has some nice photos of the 17" one so enjoy. Mine looks just as good as those photos and my hour meter is significantly higher than 7200.
Photos: http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showthread.php?261368-Has-anybody-tried-the-jvc-dt-v-1710cg


Thanks, but I thought this monitor didn't properly monitor operation time beyond 600 hours?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 8:40 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jun 2012
Posts: 196
Location: UK
It'll reset after 600 yes, after 60,000 hours that is as the hour meter is x100. But I'm not too worried about it, just gonna enjoy it while it's running well 8)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 9:01 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 1119
You do realize these things can run for 200,000 hours and more no problem, right? This isn't some OLED or Plasma.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2017 8:45 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jun 2012
Posts: 196
Location: UK
I'm aware yes. Don't they naturally deteriorate after a certain point though? I thought it's common with CRT.

Hooked up the Extron 190F RGB interface plus SyncStrike into the PVM to see if the Sega issue can be helped. It did worse on Sega but on PS2 and SNES it does wonders for the brightness level (with LEVEL toggled on). I don't think I'll be using it though because each console has a slight curve on top of the image, it's skewed right slightly. SERRATION dipswitch slightly improves the situation but it's still unplayable on the PS2. I'm not keen on messing with the monitors settings for geometry when it's clearly a source issue. Any ideas?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2017 9:25 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 1119
werk91 wrote:
I'm aware yes. Don't they naturally deteriorate after a certain point though? I thought it's common with CRT.


Even if they did, do you really think you'll be able to clock in 90,000 hours in order to bring the monitor to 150,000 hours of operation time?

Operation time with broadcast-grade monitors shouldn't even be an issue for our use (private owners using them for video games), most of these monitors clock in alot of hours is because the employees working at the editing studios that own these CRTs leave these turned on 24/7. How you take care of it and what you use it for will determine how/if it deteriorates or not.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 6:22 am 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jun 2012
Posts: 196
Location: UK
I suppose that's quite a lot of time indeed. It's reassuring to know as I plan to take care of it.

I tried to capture the Extron skewed image below. I'm using a Sync on luma PS2 cable on 60hz console. Is this normal behaviour?
Spoiler: show
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 7:58 am 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 1119
Why do you need the Extron for exactly? Why not hook the PS2 or Saturn directly into the monitor?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 8:14 am 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jun 2012
Posts: 196
Location: UK
My current Scart Switch introduces a certain brightness reduction when plugged directly which the Extron fixes. Also the H adjust feature is great to have when you switch between various consoles.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC DT-V19CG Monitor
PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2017 11:25 pm 



Joined: 18 May 2017
Posts: 8
Location: Montpellier, FRANCE
Lawfer wrote:
You do realize these things can run for 200,000 hours and more no problem, right? This isn't some OLED or Plasma.


my 1900 from 2002 is at 45k hours now and the image is starting grow from time to time horizontally and return to its normal size. ( need to recap i think on the main board)

Also from all my console only neogeo aes have the same sync problem as werk91 photo.(tested on my 1710 and sync problem still here)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], johndp977 and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group