shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Sun Jun 25, 2017 3:35 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: GC video hdmi output 480p hopefully
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 6:50 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 312
Location: Bellingham, WA
I just got my GameCube back from being modded with GC video and I am wondering how to set the output resolution to 480p. It is currently outputting 720p.
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GC video hdmi output 480p hopefully
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 7:23 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 1752
Location: Kentucky
GCVideo outputs at 480i and 480p, so I don't know what you're talking about?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GC video hdmi output 480p hopefully
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 7:24 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10388
Location: Germany
Didn't the reviews last year state that upscaling wasn't even supported on the GCVideo mods??


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GC video hdmi output 480p hopefully
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:30 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 312
Location: Bellingham, WA
Fudoh wrote:
Didn't the reviews last year state that upscaling wasn't even supported on the GCVideo mods??


I meant 720 by 480p. Is there a way to force 640 x 480p. My aspect is off but I don't think it's just my tv'sinterger scaler. It's zoomed in and smeary looking right now but I just started testing it so I'm sure there's a solution
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GC video hdmi output 480p hopefully
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:53 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10388
Location: Germany
720x480p is correct. Same resolution as a component 480p connection would output. I don't think the Cube actually renders a full screen output. Instead it's likely a bit pillarboxed, but wider than 640 pixels at the same time.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GC video hdmi output 480p hopefully
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:58 pm 



Joined: 13 Apr 2014
Posts: 58
Location: Great Lakes West
I use my HDMI cube on 2 different TV's. With my samsung it is always displayed stretched 720x480. Changing the display mode on the Samsung does nothing to change to change from 16:9 to 4:3. On my other tv(don't remember the brand, not high end) I can display stretched or 4:3 by changing the display mode on the tv settings. Also from what I've experienced with GC-video is that turning 16:9 on or off in the OSD changes nothin.
I really like my gc-video HDMI cube a lot. And with gamecube games I play it in stretched video output even when I have the option to do 4:3. For gameboy games on the other hand I've found 16:9 is very ugly to me and 4:3 is the way to go.

Edit: I was wrong I can view the cube in 4:3 on either of the TV's I use it with by changing the mode on my TV's setting to 4:3, just tested it


Last edited by vinnyguy on Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GC video hdmi output 480p hopefully
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:48 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 1752
Location: Kentucky
GCVideo will show you a game's internal resolution, and always outputs it inside of a 720x480 frame with slight windowboxing. Most resolutions I see are around 660x448 actually.

vinnyguy wrote:
Also from what I've experienced with GC-video is that turning 16:9 on or off in the OSD changes nothin.


That's all display-dependent. It either looks at the extra data for aspect ratio, or ignores it, unfortunately.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GC video hdmi output 480p hopefully
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 10:50 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 76
External resolution, actually. You need a debugger to tell internal resolution.

This is an important distinction for PAL, as most games keep the internal resolution of their NTSC counterpart.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GC video hdmi output 480p hopefully
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 10:59 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 1752
Location: Kentucky
Interesting, so I guess most games are scaling from an even smaller internal framebuffer?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GC video hdmi output 480p hopefully
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 11:02 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 76
I've noted down the internal resolution of games I test on Swiss' Forced Progressive Compatibility List.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GC video hdmi output 480p hopefully
PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 12:24 pm 



Joined: 19 Mar 2010
Posts: 334
Hoagtech wrote:
I just got my GameCube back from being modded with GC video and I am wondering how to set the output resolution to 480p. It is currently outputting 720p.


May I ask who did your GCVideo mod?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GC video hdmi output 480p hopefully
PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 3:55 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 312
Location: Bellingham, WA
Seraphic wrote:
Hoagtech wrote:
I just got my GameCube back from being modded with GC video and I am wondering how to set the output resolution to 480p. It is currently outputting 720p.


May I ask who did your GCVideo mod?


Citrus 3000. He seemed to do a good job. I just wonder about the video output from gc video. It looks different than component.
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GC video hdmi output 480p hopefully
PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:42 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 1752
Location: Kentucky
Your display may not be handling 480p through HDMI that well? You are running the games in 480p instead of using GCVideo's line-doubler right?

Results on mine looked identical to component, but I'd have to have 2 cubes to do a direct comparison since 480p doesn't work through component anymore.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GC video hdmi output 480p hopefully
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:09 pm 



Joined: 25 Dec 2013
Posts: 155
Location: Indiana
What happens if you turn off Enhanced DVI?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Blair, FalconFour, Google [Bot] and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group