shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Tue Apr 25, 2017 8:23 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 61 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 7:16 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 291
Location: Bellingham, WA
I am trying to get my image to fill the whole screen but I have my hwidth set to "Max" and it's only a problem with my scart setup: SCART > OSSC > VGA Converter > vga to RGBHV cable. The composite rca shows up just fine. There ares still black borders on both sides.

I am starting to think my OSSC is defective after an update because it will not do anything when I change output modes and try to adjust aspect Yada Yada. Just nothing ( I would love to test 3x mode as this monitors native is XGA )

Does anyone know of way to fix this? I would love to play with a slight amount of horizontal overscan like when I grew up.

(Also the image starts way to the left of the screen)
Image
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 7:22 pm 



Joined: 13 Apr 2014
Posts: 57
Location: Great Lakes West
I have the same monitor, it kicks ass doesn't it? I play snes in RGB on the megaview without a scaler because the monitor supports 240p. Maybe try that.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 7:24 pm 



Joined: 13 Apr 2014
Posts: 57
Location: Great Lakes West
Also, I think there should be a "why the megaview kicks ass" thread.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 7:31 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 291
Location: Bellingham, WA
vinnyguy wrote:
I have the same monitor, it kicks ass doesn't it? I play snes in RGB on the megaview without a scaler because the monitor supports 240p. Maybe try that.


Hmm interesting. Mine would not accept 15khz through its RGB inputs only through S-video and composite and it has a built in line doubler for those inputs. I would love to try that but I cannot seem to find a device that accepts scart and outputs rgbhv.

I tried using RGBs bnc to scart cable but could not get an image as it needs the h and v. Is there such a thing as a sync separator from going RGBs to rgbhv?

Still stumped. And my OSSC is really bugging me too. I would love to get a simple reaction from either the tv or my OSSC when I change a setting ( the remote flashes but does nothing past that)

Are you sure you have the same model 37"? Mine is the Mitsubishi XC3725c
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 7:32 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 291
Location: Bellingham, WA
vinnyguy wrote:
Also, I think there should be a "why the megaview kicks ass" thread.

And yes there should be. After calibration I'm thinking it might be one of the best displays of all time possibly :mrgreen:
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 7:33 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Nov 2013
Posts: 4698
Location: EU
Holy fuck, OSSC on a MegaView.
_________________
Image


Top
 Online Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 10:09 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 19 Jan 2016
Posts: 76
Location: Sweden
Hoagtech wrote:
Still stumped. And my OSSC is really bugging me too. I would love to get a simple reaction from either the tv or my OSSC when I change a setting ( the remote flashes but does nothing past that)

If the LED light on the OSSC doesn't blink on remote button presses, either the remote or the IR receiver is faulty.
_________________
OSSC TV Compatibility report thread


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 11:28 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 1567
Location: Canada
The latest firmware (0.76) made a huge improvement in remote control usability by increasing the IR sensitivity.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 3:19 am 



Joined: 13 Apr 2014
Posts: 57
Location: Great Lakes West
My monitor is an XC3717c


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 3:21 am 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 291
Location: Bellingham, WA
Harrumph wrote:
Hoagtech wrote:
Still stumped. And my OSSC is really bugging me too. I would love to get a simple reaction from either the tv or my OSSC when I change a setting ( the remote flashes but does nothing past that)

If the LED light on the OSSC doesn't blink on remote button presses, either the remote or the IR receiver is faulty.

No. the light blinks just fine on the OSSC showing that it is responding.

It just does not change the picture. I downloaded the latest and that is when I noticed my picture not responding on any device I plugged it into.

Like the aspect change option would be nice but it doesn't change the picture after selecting the setting.
It used to tell me display not supported but now nothing.

Does anyone know how to stretch an image past its crt parameters?
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 3:25 am 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 362
Hoagtech wrote:
Harrumph wrote:
Hoagtech wrote:
Still stumped. And my OSSC is really bugging me too. I would love to get a simple reaction from either the tv or my OSSC when I change a setting ( the remote flashes but does nothing past that)

If the LED light on the OSSC doesn't blink on remote button presses, either the remote or the IR receiver is faulty.

No. the light blinks just fine on the OSSC showing that it is responding.

It just does not change the picture. I downloaded the latest and that is when I noticed my picture not responding on any device I plugged it into.

Like the aspect change option would be nice but it doesn't change the picture after selecting the setting.
It used to tell me display not supported but now nothing.

Does anyone know how to stretch an image past its crt parameters?


A video processor.
_________________
We apologize for the inconvenience


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 3:57 am 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 1694
Location: Kentucky
Wouldn't an Extron RGB interface be the best solution here?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 10:42 am 



Joined: 20 Feb 2016
Posts: 95
Hoagtech wrote:
Like the aspect change option would be nice but it doesn't change the picture after selecting the setting.
It used to tell me display not supported but now nothing.

Does anyone know how to stretch an image past its crt parameters?


If you mean the generic 4:3 and 16:9 options, there are 3 separate settings for linex3,x4,x5. Which output resolution are you using?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 11:31 am 



Joined: 04 May 2014
Posts: 84
Location: germany
have you ever played with the geometry/underscan settings on the monitot itself? does it even come with remote? just wondering


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 1:41 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 16 Feb 2014
Posts: 128
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Is that a PAL SNES?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 3:01 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 291
Location: Bellingham, WA
paulb_nl wrote:
Hoagtech wrote:
Like the aspect change option would be nice but it doesn't change the picture after selecting the setting.
It used to tell me display not supported but now nothing.

Does anyone know how to stretch an image past its crt parameters?


If you mean the generic 4:3 and 16:9 options, there are 3 separate settings for linex3,x4,x5. Which output resolution are you using?


When i select any of those options, nothing happens.

svensonson wrote:
have you ever played with the geometry/underscan settings on the monitot itself? does it even come with remote? just wondering


Yes it is set to max on hwidth

yxkalle wrote:
Is that a PAL SNES?


No it is a 1 chip snes mini ntsc modded by Voultar.

bobrocks95 wrote:
Wouldn't an Extron RGB interface be the best solution here?


Provably not as my tv accepts rgbhv though bnc and not rgbs. Also requires 31 kHz so I would need the Andorra I Believe and those are hard to find
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 4:18 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 1694
Location: Kentucky
Would it be possible to put an Extron in front of the OSSC in the chain? Just throwing out ideas here.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 4:29 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 19 Jan 2016
Posts: 76
Location: Sweden
Maybe reset settings or even reflash the firmware then.

Also if the image is filling from top to bottom you will have small black borders on the side because the aspect ratio of SNES is ~1.306
_________________
OSSC TV Compatibility report thread


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 10:58 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 291
Location: Bellingham, WA
Harrumph wrote:
Maybe reset settings or even reflash the firmware then.

Also if the image is filling from top to bottom you will have small black borders on the side because the aspect ratio of SNES is ~1.306


I will try that.

The good news is is was less noticeable on the Wii hooked up through component on the OSSC running 480p. I'm gonna see how this thing handles halo 2 next.
Image

Image


Also the issue becomes more apparent when I play my Saturn games like Rockman 8, I have to adjust my Vertical Size down to compensate and I would prefer to overscan to avoid underscan noise and solid color backgrounds

Image
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 10:32 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 291
Location: Bellingham, WA
I tried resetting the ossc to no avail. I'll give it a reflash and reinstall or just install original firmware.

vinnyguy wrote:
My monitor is an XC3717c


When I compared mine to yours mine has weird description for its 15 kHz zuppprt on their 15 kHz monitor list.

Here is yours : (XC3717C) 1024x768 75Hz 15-61 Khz .85 40-120 Hz

And mine? : (XC-725C) 1280x1024 75 Hz 15.75; 24-64 Khz .85 40-120 Hz

Do you know if mine has support for 15 hz? It supports rgbhv and rgsb (sync on green)

Are you using one sync BNC cable or both H and V bnc?

also do you use an interface or just go scart to whatever
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 12:19 am 



Joined: 04 May 2014
Posts: 84
Location: germany
unfortunately yours doesnt have 15hz support according to its specs.
s-video 15khz support line doubled which is not the best option to be honest

http://www.broadcaststore.com/store/mod ... m?id=15852

If I were you I would use it for next gen stuff like the wii, game cube etc. or maybe a xbox 360 vga coupled with a slg3000. it should still look amazing
for retro games I would get a proper 15khz tv or broadcast monitor if you can snatch one

RGB Rob did a good review of your monitor:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h-rGfxP7VLs

he is also confirming that it does not do 15khz. hsync start from 24khz and above


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 12:43 am 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 1694
Location: Kentucky
Unless you're dying for scanlines, I'd say it's looking great with the OSSC. I'll throw the idea out there again of putting an RGB interface in front of the OSSC in your chain though.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 12:54 am 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 291
Location: Bellingham, WA
bobrocks95 wrote:
Unless you're dying for scanlines, I'd say it's looking great with the OSSC. I'll throw the idea out there again of putting an RGB interface in front of the OSSC in your chain though.


I love that idea. Do you think the 203 rxi would be the good one? I may be able to ditch my Gofanko vga converter if I went that route.

I really want to see my 15khz being doubled integrally. But I haven't seen a 15 hz scart input being output via rgbhv so I wonder if the Extron interface will do this or if 15 kHz is reserved only for composite rca and s video?

Should I buy an Extron and which one would you recommend?

Also how is the lag on the gbs 8200?
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 1:07 am 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 1694
Location: Kentucky
Hoagtech wrote:
bobrocks95 wrote:
Unless you're dying for scanlines, I'd say it's looking great with the OSSC. I'll throw the idea out there again of putting an RGB interface in front of the OSSC in your chain though.


I love that idea. Do you think the 203 rxi would be the good one? I may be able to ditch my Gofanko vga converter if I went that route.

I really want to see my 15khz being doubled integrally. But I haven't seen a 15 hz scart input being output via rgbhv so I wonder if the Extron interface will do this or if 15 kHz is reserved only for composite rca and s video?

Should I buy an Extron and which one would you recommend?

Also how is the lag on the gbs 8200?


I don't use one, so I can't answer that very well. I think BazookaBen and probably some others have a 203 rxi though.

I only see centering controls on them though- I had thought they could modify sync width too. So they might not be what you're looking for, I'm not really sure. :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 3:05 am 


User avatar

Joined: 07 Feb 2015
Posts: 306
Location: zip code 20151 USA
203 rxi - is the one that was recommended to me in the past and I like it.. I will say this again.. look into GroovyMame and reconfigure it for 31khz and Taito type x2 and Naomi.. Those would look great on your monitor:).. use one monitor for H and another for V.. also put a PC with Steam big picture and play game on the supported resolution.. Playing Raiden III and IV, IKARUGA on those thing would be epic.
_________________
The Future Is Now


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 7:53 am 



Joined: 04 May 2014
Posts: 84
Location: germany
SNK-NEO-GEO wrote:
203 rxi - is the one that was recommended to me in the past and I like it.. I will say this again.. look into GroovyMame and reconfigure it for 31khz and Taito type x2 and Naomi.. Those would look great on your monitor:).. use one monitor for H and another for V.. also put a PC with Steam big picture and play game on the supported resolution.. Playing Raiden III and IV, IKARUGA on those thing would be epic.


agree!
you dont even have to tate it due to its size... but lets imaging you would do it...woohhhaa


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 4:23 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 291
Location: Bellingham, WA
SNK-NEO-GEO wrote:
203 rxi - is the one that was recommended to me in the past and I like it.. I will say this again.. look into GroovyMame and reconfigure it for 31khz and Taito type x2 and Naomi.. Those would look great on your monitor:).. use one monitor for H and another for V.. also put a PC with Steam big picture and play game on the supported resolution.. Playing Raiden III and IV, IKARUGA on those thing would be epic.



Just to be clear so I am ordering the proper cables.

I need a:

Scart to HD 15 extron input:

Image

and an Extron 203 Rxi :

Image

And a bnc to bnc RGBHV

Image

Will I need a sync stripper as well or should this be sufficient?
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 4:32 pm 



Joined: 04 May 2014
Posts: 84
Location: germany
Let us know which consoles you would like to hook up into this

not sure why you would need a scart to vga cable for the extron setup


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 4:47 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 291
Location: Bellingham, WA
svensonson wrote:
Let us know which consoles you would like to hook up into this

not sure why you would need a scart to vga cable for the extron setup


Because the input is a vga style (HD-15) the BNC is reserved is reserved for output. If I'm reading it right.

Do you know if the Extron does sync cleaning or would I need an external device like a sync forge or something?
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed on my Megaview 37" aspect with OSSC chain
PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 5:07 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 1694
Location: Kentucky
Someone please confirm that you can increase horizontal width on an Extron 203 before I lead OP to buying stuff he doesn't need :oops:


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 61 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Xer Xian and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group