shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Fri May 26, 2017 1:14 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3822 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 124, 125, 126, 127, 128  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:00 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 19 Jan 2016
Posts: 83
Location: Sweden
No idea about the Pioneer, but the Sony W-series are not compatible beyond linedoubling. Reportedly, it has some of the best 480p scaling around though.
_________________
OSSC TV Compatibility report thread


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 9:36 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Aug 2014
Posts: 39
Location: English is not my native language, sorry about any grammar mistakes.
Thank you Harrumph,

I have read about the uncompatibility between line triple (and x4 and x5) and my Sony KDL-42W653A, but nobody has yet tested with the component input, maybe Fudoh?

Fudoh wrote:
Quote:
The W6 alone could probably do an awesome job with the linetriple mode, but it only accepts the doubling one.

I have two cheap HDMI to component boxes incoming to give it a try using the YUV input instead.


For the Kuro Lx5090h I've only found this:

"Got my OSSC, worked perfectly in 3x (720p) mode with my 2008 Pioneer Kuro plasma (model PDP-5020FD). It worked with both SNES and Famicom. 4x didn't work at all and 5x displayed a bunch of garbage on the screen attempting to sync.

The scaling of 720p to 1080p by my set of course causes some moderate artifacts that are apparent when using scanlines; some of them appear slightly thicker/softer. Of course a 4K set ideally should not have these issues as 2160 divides evenly by 720.

240p passthru does not display on my set despite the fact that 240p over component DOES display properly.

The OSSC definitely results in a crisper image than 240p component on my set. I think the Kuro really softens low res component when scaling it up."


http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1287575&page=79

I'm not sure, but the pdp-5020fd is the american model of my lx5090h.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 6:01 am 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Sep 2014
Posts: 52
I found some cheap TV's fully compatible with X3 and SNES:

  • Hisense H40MEC2150
  • Hisense H49MEC2650

The 49" is also fully compatible with x5 and 256x240.

Since I was not able to setup a fresh Chunghop L336 remote I have played a little bit with my Logitech Harmony.
I found two TV Profiles working great with the OSSC.

  • Toshiba 55L3663DA
  • LG 60UH605V


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 12:41 pm 



Joined: 05 Dec 2012
Posts: 297
xadox wrote:
I found some cheap TV's fully compatible with X3 and SNES:

  • Hisense H40MEC2150
  • Hisense H49MEC2650

The 49" is also fully compatible with x5 and 256x240.

Since I was not able to setup a fresh Chunghop L336 remote I have played a little bit with my Logitech Harmony.
I found two TV Profiles working great with the OSSC.

  • Toshiba 55L3663DA
  • LG 60UH605V

Any idea what the lag is like?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 12:45 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Sep 2014
Posts: 52
No Idea. Have to play around with 240p test suite.
But for the start if feels fine for me.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 5:13 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Sep 2014
Posts: 52
After 10 rounds of manual lag test I get an average from 1.30 frames.
But manual lag test seems to be know for not being accurate.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 2:34 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 306
Location: Bellingham, WA
xadox wrote:
After 10 rounds of manual lag test I get an average from 1.30 frames.
But manual lag test seems to be know for not being accurate.


These spit out a decent input number on screen.

They would be perfect for your 1080p set

Leo bodnar
Image


http://www.leobodnar.com/shop/?main_pag ... cts_id=212
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 4:22 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 431
The 720p version is probably the better buy if you want flexibility. Many older monitors and CRT HDTV's can display 720p. :)
_________________
We apologize for the inconvenience


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 9:24 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Aug 2016
Posts: 9
Location: England
Hi all.

I have question that I wonder if anyone can answer.

I attempted (not successfully) to install the Audio upgrade mod and I fear I may have totally screwed up my existing OSSC.

I managed to attach the wires fine, but when it cane to attaching the board to the small gold connectors, that's where I ran into some trouble.

Turns out that my soldering iron is a complete piece of crap. It seems that the iron heated up the area around and the gold connectors have come out completely. What I'm wondering is on a scale of 1 to fucked, how screwed is my OSSC? Have I now rendered it completely unusable?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 11:23 pm 



Joined: 04 Jul 2010
Posts: 145
I have this weird thing I noticed on my LG that when I run 480i passthrough, it looks like I'm running 480p in x2 mode. I get the filtering when I have component hooked up directly to the panel or when I use a mono price vga to hdmi converter (it accepts YUV), but for the ossc this doesn't happen for some reason and I have to sit back more then 5 ft to tolerate it.

I'm not sure if this is something to do with a flag or anything that isn't being carried with the signal.
_________________
I am not an alcoholic, I'm Drunk! Alcoholics go to AA meetings.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 9:22 am 



Joined: 30 Aug 2015
Posts: 29
I need some advice. The other day I was in a hurry and used a new, different than usual, universal/configurable power supply with OSSC.. with not so good markings on it.. and screwed up the polarity by accident. OSSC obviously didn't work when I turned it on. But after that OSSC didn't work anymore with the known-good power supply either.

I checked the fuse F1, and it seems blown. I've ordered a replacement fuse. I also checked the D5, which seems fine. Is there something else I should check and verify? How likely it is something else has gotten broken aswell?

I'm quite a newbie with electronics, so any advice for changing the fuse F1.. ? Use the solder iron to remove the blown fuse, and add the new replacement.. sounds straight forward, but let's see how that goes.. :)

Thanks!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 10:00 am 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 129
Just got mine yesterday, finally!
...And my capture card doesn't support linetriple, nor does my TV :(
I'm obviously disappointed, especially since it means I can't use the 8:7 SNES ratio option which was something I had requested and was added.

Any advice on getting it working, or is it straight up new card/tv/DVDO?
I tried running it through the Mini, and interestingly the Mini let me use up to 4x mode even on the SNES. However, that obviously means everything is going through the Mini's video processor... I don't know enough about the inner workings of the mini, but I'm assuming that doing so brings with it all the caveats of the mini, such as the framebuffer and the extra noise on certain colours?
There's also the "direct" HDMI mode on the mini, which doesn't improve the compatability, but also doesn't seem to be a true passthrough since the OSD is still there. Does an HDMI signal passed through the mini with direct mode on still go through the framebuffer? What exactly is the difference?

I've tried the OSSC direct into the cap card and my TV as well, and still no dice sadly. My setup is pretty wonky, and honestly the easiest way to hook everything up right now is to use the Mini as a faux HDMI switch, lol.

One thing I am a bit disappointed at though is the brief testing I did with the SNES hooked up directly in 2x mode was SUPER noisy. Blizzz also has a video that shows this noise being gone, but it's very much there on my setup. In addition, the colours for the SNES are super weird, and the infamous bar down the middle is amplified to the absolute extreme. Where it was only visible on certain colours with the Mini, I can clearly see it almost all of the time through the OSSC. My SNES is a SNES Mini with the internal amplifier and csync.
Also speaking of Blizzz, there are some absolutely perfectly crisp images from the OSSC on his site. Does anyone know what he uses to capture them, or are they modified in any way? The metal slug one on the review is absolutely perfect.


Does anyone have any capture card advice?
I'd rather go USB3 over PCI-E since I haven't got the spare slots in my PC, but I'm open to either. The holy grail for me would be full 4:4:4 1080p60 capture, since I've always been bugged by a noticable amount of colour bleeding with my current one on pixel art games (Extremecap U3). And yes I know twitch and YouTube both re convert to 4:2:2, but I like to hold personal archives of recordings of certain things.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 10:35 am 



Joined: 30 Aug 2015
Posts: 29
Jademalo wrote:
Does anyone have any capture card advice?
I'd rather go USB3 over PCI-E since I haven't got the spare slots in my PC, but I'm open to either. The holy grail for me would be full 4:4:4 1080p60 capture, since I've always been bugged by a noticable amount of colour bleeding with my current one on pixel art games (Extremecap U3). And yes I know twitch and YouTube both re convert to 4:2:2, but I like to hold personal archives of recordings of certain things.


Magewell Pro Capture HDMI ?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 11:15 am 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 129
Nrg wrote:
Magewell Pro Capture HDMI ?


oh wow, that's a super interesting card! I've never seen that before. That looks to be absolutely perfect. The USB version of that too looks like it hits every mark on my checklist.
Do the PCIe and USB versions both support 3/4/5x modes on the OSSC?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 2:36 pm 



Joined: 30 Aug 2015
Posts: 29
Jademalo wrote:
oh wow, that's a super interesting card! I've never seen that before. That looks to be absolutely perfect. The USB version of that too looks like it hits every mark on my checklist.
Do the PCIe and USB versions both support 3/4/5x modes on the OSSC?


I've used the PCIe version, and it seems to sync to and support pretty much anything you throw at it. I haven't captured from OSSC though.

Note the USB version is different product / different engine, so I can't comment for the USB version..


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2017 12:03 am 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Posts: 418
Location: Finland
Dediced to rewrite majority of the sync processing logic last week as the RTL had too many hacks and duplicated functionality. The new implementation is now more robust and flexible, supporting optimized modes for line2x, interlace passthru with VGA, 480i/576i line3x (1440i/1728i) and line4x (960p/1152p) among corrected h/vsync alignment and VSM_1 detection. I should have done that already a long time ago, but only after a small break from the project followed by a review of the whole codebase it was easier to admit some parts had too much boilerplate and just needed to be redone.

Dookie1985 wrote:
attempted (not successfully) to install the Audio upgrade mod and I fear I may have totally screwed up my existing OSSC.

I managed to attach the wires fine, but when it cane to attaching the board to the small gold connectors, that's where I ran into some trouble.

Turns out that my soldering iron is a complete piece of crap. It seems that the iron heated up the area around and the gold connectors have come out completely. What I'm wondering is on a scale of 1 to fucked, how screwed is my OSSC? Have I now rendered it completely unusable?
Assuming you're not damaged anything else besides the pads (it still works, right?), audio mod is still installable if you lift 3 legs of IT6613E chip and hook wires there. I strongly recommend to do that with proper tools, though.

headlesshobbs wrote:
I have this weird thing I noticed on my LG that when I run 480i passthrough, it looks like I'm running 480p in x2 mode. I get the filtering when I have component hooked up directly to the panel or when I use a mono price vga to hdmi converter (it accepts YUV), but for the ossc this doesn't happen for some reason and I have to sit back more then 5 ft to tolerate it.

I'm not sure if this is something to do with a flag or anything that isn't being carried with the signal.
I've heard of a few problems with 480i passthru (e.g. with sc-512-l-dvi), but the sync signal should be fine so I'm wondering if there's some Infoframe parameters that are not set correctly.

Nrg wrote:
I need some advice. The other day I was in a hurry and used a new, different than usual, universal/configurable power supply with OSSC.. with not so good markings on it.. and screwed up the polarity by accident. OSSC obviously didn't work when I turned it on. But after that OSSC didn't work anymore with the known-good power supply either.

I checked the fuse F1, and it seems blown. I've ordered a replacement fuse. I also checked the D5, which seems fine. Is there something else I should check and verify? How likely it is something else has gotten broken aswell?
Most likely there's no permanent damage, so it should work with a new fuse.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2017 4:42 am 



Joined: 04 Jul 2010
Posts: 145
marqs wrote:
I've heard of a few problems with 480i passthru (e.g. with sc-512-l-dvi), but the sync signal should be fine so I'm wondering if there's some Infoframe parameters that are not set correctly.



Well I'm thinking it's more of an accidental discovery that needs a little research on. I got games that look like the clearest progressive scan quality you could ever ask for, so rather then patch fix it out, I'd look into finding out if it can be made into a feature. TEKKEN TAG looks as good as it's HD re-release, but also TEKKEN 5 has a curious thing going on between soft and sharp settings. I'm not sure if the system has it's own way of triggering filtering as well, unless it's doing that on it's own.

I'm going to try to do some more testing. If I can get my camera to not glare out on me, I'll try to get some results posted.
_________________
I am not an alcoholic, I'm Drunk! Alcoholics go to AA meetings.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2017 12:52 pm 



Joined: 20 Feb 2016
Posts: 103
marqs wrote:
Dediced to rewrite majority of the sync processing logic last week as the RTL had too many hacks and duplicated functionality. The new implementation is now more robust and flexible, supporting optimized modes for line2x, interlace passthru with VGA, 480i/576i line3x (1440i/1728i) and line4x (960p/1152p) among corrected h/vsync alignment and VSM_1 detection. I should have done that already a long time ago, but only after a small break from the project followed by a review of the whole codebase it was easier to admit some parts had too much boilerplate and just needed to be redone.


Awesome, great work!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2017 2:09 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Aug 2016
Posts: 9
Location: England
marqs wrote:
Dookie1985 wrote:
attempted (not successfully) to install the Audio upgrade mod and I fear I may have totally screwed up my existing OSSC.

I managed to attach the wires fine, but when it cane to attaching the board to the small gold connectors, that's where I ran into some trouble.

Turns out that my soldering iron is a complete piece of crap. It seems that the iron heated up the area around and the gold connectors have come out completely. What I'm wondering is on a scale of 1 to fucked, how screwed is my OSSC? Have I now rendered it completely unusable?
Assuming you're not damaged anything else besides the pads (it still works, right?), audio mod is still installable if you lift 3 legs of IT6613E chip and hook wires there. I strongly recommend to do that with proper tools, though.


I didn't want to plug it in just in case, but I have just tried it and it does still work. 8)

I might give it another attempt in a month or so when I get some better electronic equipment.

Thanks for the advice.

:D


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 8:30 am 



Joined: 30 Aug 2015
Posts: 29
marqs wrote:
Dediced to rewrite majority of the sync processing logic last week as the RTL had too many hacks and duplicated functionality. The new implementation is now more robust and flexible, supporting optimized modes for line2x, interlace passthru with VGA, 480i/576i line3x (1440i/1728i) and line4x (960p/1152p) among corrected h/vsync alignment and VSM_1 detection. I should have done that already a long time ago, but only after a small break from the project followed by a review of the whole codebase it was easier to admit some parts had too much boilerplate and just needed to be redone.


Cool!

marqs wrote:
Most likely there's no permanent damage, so it should work with a new fuse.


And indeed it does work after changing the fuse! Thanks.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 3:57 pm 



Joined: 07 Feb 2013
Posts: 174
did the audio mod on the ossc with this https://www.videogameperfection.com/pro ... ade-board/
update the firmware to the audio one.
no audio.
do I need to enable the audio or something?

I am unsure about the cutting between:
https://github.com/borti4938/Audio4OSSC ... _ae_01.png

Was I supposed to cut thru alltogether, or only open up so I could see the path like in this picture:
http://c1.staticflickr.com/3/2702/31963 ... 33cf_c.jpg


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 5:29 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 19 Jan 2016
Posts: 83
Location: Sweden
Elrinth wrote:
do I need to enable the audio or something?

TX mode should be set to HDMI, I believe.
Elrinth wrote:
Was I supposed to cut thru alltogether, or only open up so I could see the path like in this picture:
http://c1.staticflickr.com/3/2702/31963 ... 33cf_c.jpg

Yes, the pads need to be "de-grounded". Cut thru the traces, check with multimeter that they are not grounded anymore.
_________________
OSSC TV Compatibility report thread


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 7:23 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Apr 2016
Posts: 153
Both statements of my previous speaker are correct :)
_________________
Visit my projekts: GitHub, OSH Park


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 12:52 am 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 129
https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/ ... 012640.jpg

Am I seeing things, or is my OSSC into a BenQ RL2450-HT AHEAD of my BVM-20F1E?
The number looks like it's already starting to change to 7 on the monitor, this is insane!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 12:56 am 



Joined: 07 Oct 2015
Posts: 70
Its likely due to rolling shutter on your camera.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 12:59 am 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 129
Doh, of course. How disappointing =p


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 1:32 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 1632
Location: Canada
It's for this reason that it's important that latency timing photos be taken with the CRT and LCD display at the same vertical height, so that they are captured by the camera at the same time. Reducing the shutter speed does not solve the problem, because camera shutter speed only ensures that any given part of the sensor is exposed for that amount of time, not that the whole sensor is exposed simultaneously for that amount of time (that would require a global shutter).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 9:45 am 



Joined: 20 Feb 2016
Posts: 103
You should set your camera shutter speed to 1/1000 so you have 1ms accuracy. That also makes sure there is only max 0.5ms difference between the top and bottom displays.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 1:25 pm 



Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 118
paulb_nl wrote:
That also makes sure there is only max 0.5ms difference between the top and bottom displays.


That's completely false. Whatever value you set your shutter speed on a camera, the mechanical shutter move at the same speed (takes about 1/200-1/250 of a second to open or close on a modern camera)

For info that's how it works :https://youtu.be/CmjeCchGRQo

But you should at least set your shutter speed to 1/80s or even faster, so you don't have two frames that overlap (for a 60hz display). And if you put a too short value, you won't see the whole picture of the CRT so it can become difficult to compare.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 2:29 pm 



Joined: 20 Feb 2016
Posts: 103
So my camera is lying to my face. Thats a bummer.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3822 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 124, 125, 126, 127, 128  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: beharius, Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group