shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Sun Apr 30, 2017 10:48 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3706 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 9:56 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 126
Location: UK
headlesshobbs wrote:
Gunstar wrote:

I had read about one of the versions having incorrect scaling but I had incorrectly assumed it was the Xbox one as I find some elements having an incorrect pixel width. The DC version had vertical bars iirc so that's what made me think it was trying to keep the correct aspect. I usually turn off the filter so I get sharp pixels, I'll give it a try with the filter on. Thanks for the info about the versions!


This is a typical thing that Capcom does with their home ports and basicly they always screw up their resolution settings. SFIII is no exception to this aside from New Generation and Double Impact which you actually can get the correct resolution if you output as av, s-video, or RGB (Scart of VGA 15khz). VGA 31khz switches them to 640p scaling, which is totally inaccurate and 3rd strike is stuck on this no matter what you do, even if you manage to put in the resolution switch. The later XBOX/PS2 ports also follow the 640p blowup, but filtering is the only way you'll get the sprites to match their proper geometry appearance in spite of being inaccurate to scanlines, but the PS2 has some weird thing in that if you add scanlines via OSSC or de-interlace (like a specific PVM model -i.e. ask Fagners), you can turn off one scan field and get the lines you need to make it look like the proper 244p signal it's supposed to be. XBOX is screwed on this, so run it at 480p filtered and x2 mode if you want to see the correct details.


Interesting stuff! Yeah the original res of the 3rd strike is 224p, right? so the ps2 version will get you the correct look if you can turn off a field...I don't actually own the ps2 version, just DC, XBOX and ps3/360 OE versions. This really explains why one super bar looks correct but the other has been truncated or expanded by one pixel.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:36 pm 



Joined: 07 Oct 2015
Posts: 67
We can officially add the Apple IIgs to the list of OSSC compatible machines. The default settings are wrong, but you can get a pixel perfect picture in 640x200 mode by cranking up the H-sample rate. This machine tends to be very trying with upscalers, since it runs a higher then usual dot clock and the dot clock various subtlety between video modes. For example, the OSSC loses sync when switching from 640x200 mode to text screens. The only annoying thing is I have to adjust the sample phase between 640x200 mode and 320x200 mode to eliminate jitter. Each mode needs a different sample phase.... how annoying.

Demos that use border effects cause sync issues as well (I had problems with this with the DVI2PCIe card too), but I can work around them, mainly be switching from Line5x to Line3x mode.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:35 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 11 May 2015
Posts: 367
Location: America
and another Video test.

OSSC+HD3000

Quick PS3 video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zI0dVxim554

(I just noticed some questions and comments directed at me in the thread, I'll reply once I get home. thanks!)

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 7:08 am 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Oct 2015
Posts: 61
Location: Salem OR
https://youtu.be/JusqkucU1dw
Genesis

https://youtu.be/N5oeCTbf0Rs
Nintendo 64
_________________
DC,GC,PS4Pro,Xbox 360>Onkyo 656>LG 65C7
DC,Xbox,SS,GEN32XCD,SNES,N64,PS1,PS3,3DO>OSSC>Vizio D65u-D2
Xbox,Xbox360,Odroid C2>Vizio D40u-D1
Alienware 13R3 with Samsung OLED


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:28 am 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 126
Location: UK
Bahn Yuki wrote:
https://youtu.be/JusqkucU1dw
Genesis

https://youtu.be/N5oeCTbf0Rs
Nintendo 64


F-zero X looks so good on that oled! You mentioned no motion blur/great motion resolution which makes me excited to get an oled tv (eventually), it's one of the strongest reasons for me keeping CRTs around.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 10:24 pm 



Joined: 31 Mar 2016
Posts: 63
@Bahn Yuki, fantastic videos. Went to check out how much your TV costs in in CDN dollars and my mind was blown! :shock:

I would expect nothing less than the quality you're getting for that price!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 5:26 am 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Nov 2013
Posts: 4719
Location: EU
CobraKing wrote:
@Bahn Yuki, fantastic videos. Went to check out how much your TV costs in in CDN dollars and my mind was blown! :shock:

I would expect nothing less than the quality you're getting for that price!

The first LG OLEDs years ago were easily twice that price so it is relatively okay.

Still no way big OLED displays will graduate from niche status though.
_________________
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 4:24 pm 



Joined: 07 Feb 2013
Posts: 173
can freesync 2.0 be something a scandoubler can make use of to make sure there to be as little delay as possible, if the tv supports it ofc?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 10:39 am 


User avatar

Joined: 11 May 2015
Posts: 367
Location: America
Gunstar wrote:
^Nice, the Wii looking good there!


thanks! The digitization and scanline capabilities of the OSSC, combined with the progressive processing of the HD3000 really bring out the best in the Wii. the details and the colors are super impressive with native Wii titles. and the visual quality when emulating either through virtual console or retro arch looks stunning as well.

Jademalo wrote:
Damn Blair, the scanlines on Streets of Rage look insanely good! Are they actually graded on the edges like that like real scanlines, or is that just an affect of the camera?


that's a good question, in 480p retro arch wii has its own custom scanline patterns. so that might've been what I was using instead of the default ossc scanline overlay (it's been a few months since I took these pictures) so it might look a little different. another cool thing I've found is that combining retro arche's custom scanline patterns while using the 480p 2x mode of the OSSC and then adding OSSC's own 480p 2x scanline pattern on top of that yields some really nice looking results (I'm assuming it's similar to what another user reported when using the OSSC combined with an SLG in 480p 2x mode)

but yeah, it definitely looks really nice. the HD3000 and the Dell monitor I was using at the time might have also played a part in giving the scanlines a nice soft edge.


Harrumph wrote:
Hi Blair, some months ago there were some questions in the thread on how you managed to get OSSC Lx3 working with the iScan Micro (you posted some images in the "4k blues" thread). It seems noone else has managed to do this. You mind clarifying how you did it?


so everybody's having trouble getting the micro to work with anything above line2x? that's interesting. makes me wonder if there some kind of EDID problem going on. ( the micro does have a tendency to get confused about what it should be doing) the only other major issue I had with combining the OSSC and the micro was in line 3X mode when using the Saturn the picture would shake vertically. I was able to fix that but I forgot how exactly I did it. another strange thing is that on some displays the micro would actually pass through 480i content instead of using its own (bad) interlaced processing. very strange behavior.

has anybody tried the micro on the latest firmware with any of the line4X and line5X options?

right now I have my micro hooked into my original dvdo HD as sort of an HDMI bridge.
(the original DVDO HD has some compatibility issues with its digital port that were later rectified on the HD+, but the micro is doing a great job fixing that particular issue with this older hardware)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 11:03 am 



Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 6688
Location: Bedford, UK
Bahn Yuki wrote:
https://youtu.be/JusqkucU1dw
Genesis

https://youtu.be/N5oeCTbf0Rs
Nintendo 64



I've watched a few of your videos and I can't seem to get over 1) How many times you recommend gear only to change it 2 weeks later. 2) Why do you walk around? Why not put your camera/phone in front of the TV and just let the display do the talking? You can't really focus on anything when your moving around all the time. Showing us the hardware isn't really adding any value to the video imho.
_________________
This industry has become 2 dimensional as it transcended into a 3D world.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:36 am 



Joined: 04 Jul 2010
Posts: 131
neorichieb1971 wrote:
I've watched a few of your videos and I can't seem to get over 1) How many times you recommend gear only to change it 2 weeks later. 2) Why do you walk around? Why not put your camera/phone in front of the TV and just let the display do the talking? You can't really focus on anything when your moving around all the time. Showing us the hardware isn't really adding any value to the video imho.


I've noticed this as well, but I haven't the mind to be stepping on anyone's toes over it.
_________________
I am not an alcoholic, I'm Drunk! Alcoholics go to AA meetings.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 5:48 am 


User avatar

Joined: 11 May 2015
Posts: 367
Location: America
quick video of Sega Saturn+XRGB-1 480p/DTV out into the OSSC and then OSSC 480p 2x mode, upscaled by the LGX and Nvidia 750ti

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=543jeh8yRLs (please set your video quality to highest possibly playback)

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 9:17 am 



Joined: 06 Feb 2013
Posts: 21
Pardon my crappy as hell cell phone capture of my Sega Saturn. The picture is much sharper and the colors/brightness are not off like in the photo. But I just run my Sega Saturn through my OSSC via RGB SCART and use line x4 with scanlines. It looks way better than that chain you're running it through. It's just that looks on par with composite to me.

Quick question though. It is pretty much known as fact that the simpler the chain and purer the video source the better the outcome. Why would you run the image through one line doubler then through another? Then you run it through two upscaling passes? I don't get it. Just use the OSSC line x4! ;P

Image
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 12:37 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 1698
Location: Kentucky
Uh, because line x4 only works on a small handful of TVs?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:26 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 11 May 2015
Posts: 367
Location: America
Zappyraccoon wrote:
better than that chain you're running it through. It's just that looks on par with composite to me.


really? It looks that bad? maybe I had the compression set too high when I downscaled. here are some images from the same set up with no downscaling full quality (except for a little JPEG compression). how do these look ? (also, did you remember to set video playback to 1080p 60fps when watching the clip?)

Quote:
Why would you run the image through one line doubler then through another? Then you run it through two upscaling passes? I don't get it. Just use the OSSC line x4! ;P


some people have expressed interest in getting the original XRGB working with the OSSC. so that they can use it with the 480p 2X scale function. it's only being upscaled once (LGX is the capture solution, the 750ti is doing the upscaling). my main television does support line4x but it looks absolutely terrible (massive ringing, and double the input delay as it doesn't work in game mode)


more videos and images of my previous post (this time in better quality, I hope)

Sega Saturn+XRGB-1 480p/DTV out into the OSSC and then OSSC 480p 2x mode, captured by the LGX and upscaled by the Nvidia 750ti

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0nRaHzUvfwg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lsPFUXSvyIE

(please set your video quality to highest possibly playback)

Image

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 3:56 pm 



Joined: 06 Feb 2013
Posts: 21
Ohh it's for compatability okay!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 1:55 am 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2009
Posts: 123
Location: Canada
Are the MD5s or any other hashes listed somewhere for new firmware? I'm battling a download corruption bug with my router, and while having to re-download a .zip or .exe that's corrupt isn't a big deal to me, getting a borked firmware would be.

Anyone be able to tell me the correct hash of 0.76? Thanks!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 1:58 am 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 123
HDgaming42 wrote:
Are the MD5s or any other hashes listed somewhere for new firmware? I'm battling a download corruption bug with my router, and while having to re-download a .zip or .exe that's corrupt isn't a big deal to me, getting a borked firmware would be.

Anyone be able to tell me the correct hash of 0.76? Thanks!


https://imgur.com/rEN2j8S.png

There's one freshly downloaded. Hopefully that helps!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 2:30 am 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2009
Posts: 123
Location: Canada
Jademalo wrote:
HDgaming42 wrote:
Are the MD5s or any other hashes listed somewhere for new firmware? I'm battling a download corruption bug with my router, and while having to re-download a .zip or .exe that's corrupt isn't a big deal to me, getting a borked firmware would be.

Anyone be able to tell me the correct hash of 0.76? Thanks!


https://imgur.com/rEN2j8S.png

There's one freshly downloaded. Hopefully that helps!


It does--thanks! In case your image goes offline and someone else is wondering the same thing, here's what I get (the MD5 matches yours)

File: ossc_0.76.bin
CRC-32: 390e12a7
MD4: 851813c00487ce07f76658b817c4b7c6
MD5: 1ce04b52f9b972d7e5fd087fa0e528c7
SHA-1: dc5b08165dfaa14c1d54e0bf6e52d46a30259a9e


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 11:20 pm 



Joined: 15 Aug 2015
Posts: 67
I just got my OSSC yesterday. Awesome. Every console I threw at it worked for up to 4X mode (5X wasn't supported).

I had one issue though. I was trying to use RGsB through the PS2 for progressive mode games. There was a lot of noise on the signal. Some weird diagonal lines. I don't know much about Sync on Green, so I don't know if it's my TV or the cables or my switcher.

I used Sync on Luma cables from retrogamingcables.co.uk, through a sync stripper, to an Extron matrix switcher, to the OSSC, to my TV. I had no noise like that on the PS2 through RGBs or any other console. Any ideas?

Here's the noise: http://imgur.com/a/9CZoK


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2017 2:11 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 1591
Location: Canada
Have you tried connecting the PS2 directly to the OSSC? That would rule out problems with anything in between. The OSSC can handle sync-on-green on all inputs, though you need to select that input type explicitly. Make sure you do that no matter how you've connected it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2017 9:44 am 



Joined: 22 Apr 2015
Posts: 76
I'm sure this has been asked a million times but does anyone have any kind of estimate on how long you have to wait to be able to buy the scaler? I believe I signed up for the list a few weeks ago and I'm in no rush at all. I know it will probably take a few months.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 4:41 am 



Joined: 31 Mar 2016
Posts: 63
^^^
Could be quite a while if you just signed up, BuckoA51 usually purchases them in lots of 500.

https://www.videogameperfection.com/for ... ot/page/4/


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 4:07 pm 



Joined: 15 Aug 2015
Posts: 67
Guspaz wrote:
Have you tried connecting the PS2 directly to the OSSC? That would rule out problems with anything in between. The OSSC can handle sync-on-green on all inputs, though you need to select that input type explicitly. Make sure you do that no matter how you've connected it.


Works perfectly when directly connected to the OSSC. I'm guessing it's must be either the sync stripper or the Extron. Oh well.

Edit: I found a decent solution so I can still use my extron. I used the Sync Strike from Arcade forge, converting Scart to VGA and using Sync On Green through the VGA port. There's actually a bit of quality loss that is somewhat noticeable, but the payoff for not having to switch Scart cables and to use Sync on Green is worth it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 5:35 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 1591
Location: Canada
You shouldn't need any sort of sync stripper with sync-on-green, since there is no signal on the composite video line for the sync stripper to process. However, if your PS2 outputs sync-on-luma for 240p/480i games, then that might be a different story.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 7:21 pm 



Joined: 15 Aug 2015
Posts: 67
Guspaz wrote:
You shouldn't need any sort of sync stripper with sync-on-green, since there is no signal on the composite video line for the sync stripper to process. However, if your PS2 outputs sync-on-luma for 240p/480i games, then that might be a different story.


It's luma. And the extron switchers only take csync, which I would need for games running in 480i or 240p. So I need the sync stripper.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 10:04 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 126
Location: UK
I'm getting incorrect scanlines in x3 mode (tested using a Snes and an N64) when using a 5:4 19" LCD - native res @1280x1024. Basically, you can see a few gaps at set distances and as far as I can tell it displays scanlines correctly in x2 mode. Am I right in thinking there's nothing I can do to fix that because it's the monitor that's scaling things incorrectly? It's a lot brighter at x3 with scanlines than x2 which is why it would be nice to get it looking correct in that mode.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:22 am 


User avatar

Joined: 19 Jan 2016
Posts: 76
Location: Sweden
Gunstar wrote:
I'm getting incorrect scanlines in x3 mode (tested using a Snes and an N64) when using a 5:4 19" LCD - native res @1280x1024. Basically, you can see a few gaps at set distances and as far as I can tell it displays scanlines correctly in x2 mode. Am I right in thinking there's nothing I can do to fix that because it's the monitor that's scaling things incorrectly? It's a lot brighter at x3 with scanlines than x2 which is why it would be nice to get it looking correct in that mode.


I would try Lx4 with the 256 V.Active tweak, should go perfectly into 1280x1024. Check this thread.
_________________
OSSC TV Compatibility report thread


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:56 am 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 126
Location: UK
Harrumph wrote:
Gunstar wrote:
I'm getting incorrect scanlines in x3 mode (tested using a Snes and an N64) when using a 5:4 19" LCD - native res @1280x1024. Basically, you can see a few gaps at set distances and as far as I can tell it displays scanlines correctly in x2 mode. Am I right in thinking there's nothing I can do to fix that because it's the monitor that's scaling things incorrectly? It's a lot brighter at x3 with scanlines than x2 which is why it would be nice to get it looking correct in that mode.


I would try Lx4 with the 256 V.Active tweak, should go perfectly into 1280x1024. Check this thread.


Harrumph you legend! That worked, thanks, I was considering getting another cheap test monitor but now I don't have to. Bookmarked that link to read through later, seems you've posted up a lot of great info there.

Btw I've tried getting 480px2 to look right on the same monitor but I think it might be off, do you have any suggested tweaks?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DIY video digitizer & scandoubler
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 2:46 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 19 Jan 2016
Posts: 76
Location: Sweden
NP, glad I could help.
I don't have a 480p capable console so I never tried it, but I suppose similarly increasing V.Active to 512 and adjusting V.Bacporch could work for 480px2 mode.
_________________
OSSC TV Compatibility report thread


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3706 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Magicalbottle, Marcosan30 and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group