shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 7:33 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1109 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 33, 34, 35, 36, 37  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 10:39 pm 



Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 838
Location: Ohio
leonk wrote:
something different today, nintendo component cable vs gcvideo hdmi.

Checkout the text at 5:50.

https://youtu.be/6TS32IHeorM

Awesome! The GCVideo mod's image quality is extremely close to the Official Nintendo GameCube Component Cables, if not slightly better.

My Life in Gaming also did a direct comparison between 480p Component and 480p HDMI. HDMI is sharper.

https://youtu.be/hVX81e6Ig-s?t=14m51s


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 12:25 am 



Joined: 26 Feb 2010
Posts: 347
Isn't it possible the component signal is being processed in a different way then HDMI? Also, while the HDMI looked sharper, the whites seems a little too bright.

Regardless, it is great to see that its working so well!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:01 am 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Feb 2015
Posts: 1382
Location: DFW area, Texas
philexile wrote:
Isn't it possible the component signal is being processed in a different way then HDMI? Also, while the HDMI looked sharper, the whites seems a little too bright.

Regardless, it is great to see that its working so well!


Yeah the official cables add in some sort of softening filter. Of that I'm certain after using forced 240p mode with the GBI GBP software. Even in that mode, edges were slightly diffuse.
_________________
Framemeister profiles: http://www.firebrandx.com/framemeisterprofiles.html

NES NTSC Palettes: http://www.firebrandx.com/nespalette.html

SNES Serial DB: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1HYLy_TTDop_FzuX6qnxuQI43upg4raXfno582taO744/pubhtml


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:11 am 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Oct 2012
Posts: 433
Location: Germany
FBX wrote:
Yeah the official cables add in some sort of softening filter. Of that I'm certain after using forced 240p mode with the GBI GBP software. Even in that mode, edges were slightly diffuse.

PAL Gamecube -> Official Component Cable -> OSSC

Using this setup, I'm able to get pixel perfect sharpness. So I have to dissent.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:40 am 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 882
So I'm now wondering if the analogue version of GCvideo is going to give a noticeably sharper image on a CRT than the official component cable?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 11:20 am 



Joined: 19 Mar 2010
Posts: 345
citrus3000psi wrote:
Seraphic wrote:
It looks like a very detailed modification, but you were able to get it working?
Is it easier to implement and install TOSLINK when using your internal GCVideo board?


Yes the mod works fine. The toslink only mod board will be an easier install.


Here is a shot of how the QSB work. This is an HDMI only board. I'm still waiting on the other boards to arrive.

Image


Will you be accepting consoles for install of your TOSLINK mod?

Also, would you foresee any video/audio sync issues using your TOSLINK mod and zeldaxpro's GC VIDEO Plug n Play 2.0?


Last edited by Seraphic on Sat Aug 12, 2017 11:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 11:32 am 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Feb 2015
Posts: 1382
Location: DFW area, Texas
Thomago wrote:
FBX wrote:
Yeah the official cables add in some sort of softening filter. Of that I'm certain after using forced 240p mode with the GBI GBP software. Even in that mode, edges were slightly diffuse.

PAL Gamecube -> Official Component Cable -> OSSC

Using this setup, I'm able to get pixel perfect sharpness. So I have to dissent.


NTSC Gamecube here. But I get slightly soft edges. Now I am using a Framemeister, but I ruled that out as the cause because PS2 component is razor-sharp through it.
_________________
Framemeister profiles: http://www.firebrandx.com/framemeisterprofiles.html

NES NTSC Palettes: http://www.firebrandx.com/nespalette.html

SNES Serial DB: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1HYLy_TTDop_FzuX6qnxuQI43upg4raXfno582taO744/pubhtml


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 12:53 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Posts: 247
Location: Italy
andykara2003 wrote:
So I'm now wondering if the analogue version of GCvideo is going to give a noticeably sharper image on a CRT than the official component cable?

I have both and recently compared them with a capture device (plus OSSC and upscaler). The official component cable actually does provide a very slightly better image, but it's something you can only spot by a direct A/B comparison and is most likely unnoticeable on consumer CRTs. On the other hand, in my case the GCVideo Lite output while still being component required a significantly different calibration with respect to the official cable (in terms of brightness, contrast and saturation/hue) and this might actually be more worth keeping in mind.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 1:12 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 882
Xer Xian wrote:
The official component cable actually does provide a very slightly better image, but it's something you can only spot by a direct A/B comparison and is most likely unnoticeable on consumer CRTs.

Thanks very much for that - I didn't expect such a concise answer!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:28 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 22 Feb 2013
Posts: 35
Location: New Jersey
noonan2678 wrote:

Quick update on this...

The eBay seller claims to be a reseller and not the "creator." He pushed back citing that he just sells them. Interestingly, his account has 12 feedback and all 12 are sales of the GC HDMI unit.
After some back and forth, he basically said that no one else had a problem and then refunded me the entire purchase price. So, I'm left with a fried, modded GC.

The problem is not with the original design, which was made available for free by someone else (sorry, forget who did that great work), it's with the execution of this unit specifically. I understand these things can
be challenging and appreciate all of the independent efforts to better the hobby. It's clear here though, that Zeldaxpro knew this thing would send 12V through the system if slightly off. That implementation
doesn't have to happen and even if it did, more time should have been spent to ensure that the unit is secure in the digital a/v out. I'm telling you guys, it moved around in there much easier than it should have.

Just be careful if you have one and consider this if you're in the market to buy one. I went ahead and just grabbed a component cable for a good price to be done with it.


So you're saying/confirming that ZeldaXPro did NOT produce the device you purchased, which fried your console?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 11:14 pm 



Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 838
Location: Ohio
FBX wrote:
philexile wrote:
Isn't it possible the component signal is being processed in a different way then HDMI? Also, while the HDMI looked sharper, the whites seems a little too bright.

Regardless, it is great to see that its working so well!


Yeah the official cables add in some sort of softening filter. Of that I'm certain after using forced 240p mode with the GBI GBP software. Even in that mode, edges were slightly diffuse.

There is no softening filter. It's just that analog is a lossy signal format, while digital is lossless.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 12:42 am 



Joined: 05 Jan 2017
Posts: 26
Agreed. Not sure if I would call it a softening filter, but it may have something to do with the conversion between digital to analogue.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 6:11 am 


User avatar

Joined: 23 Feb 2013
Posts: 122
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Greg2600 wrote:
So you're saying/confirming that ZeldaXPro did NOT produce the device you purchased, which fried your console?


No, saying he did but that the eBay seller is claiming to be his reseller and not ZeldaXPro himself. That alone seemed odd to me, which was why I noted it. He responded to communications with "we." Not sure who "we" could be when the eBay account has only sold 12 of these adapters.

Another note... Someone else through a Facebook group has just told me that his friend has also shorted out his console with the adapter. I haven't mentioned anything to him about posting something and don't want to give his info just yet, but
he has no reason to make this up (nor do I). As mentioned, the eBay seller has refunded me the entire purchase price + shipping. I'm sure "they" are aware of the issues with the device at this point.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 11:52 am 



Joined: 19 Mar 2010
Posts: 345
noonan2678 wrote:
Greg2600 wrote:
So you're saying/confirming that ZeldaXPro did NOT produce the device you purchased, which fried your console?


No, saying he did but that the eBay seller is claiming to be his reseller and not ZeldaXPro himself. That alone seemed odd to me, which was why I noted it. He responded to communications with "we." Not sure who "we" could be when the eBay account has only sold 12 of these adapters.

Another note... Someone else through a Facebook group has just told me that his friend has also shorted out his console with the adapter. I haven't mentioned anything to him about posting something and don't want to give his info just yet, but
he has no reason to make this up (nor do I). As mentioned, the eBay seller has refunded me the entire purchase price + shipping. I'm sure "they" are aware of the issues with the device at this point.


Are you guys talking about ZeldaXPro's PnP version 1.0 or 2.0? Also, when you buy from ZeldaXPro, he makes it very clear in the included directions to unplug the power cable before removing or inserting his GC PnP 2.0.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 1:42 pm 



Joined: 26 Feb 2010
Posts: 347
They are talking about 2.0.

The plug was not removed or inserted during operation. It doesn't fit correctly in the digital port and moves slightly while plugged in. This was all explained in the posts earlier in the thread.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 10:48 pm 



Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 12
I just bought a second cube in pretty rough but working condition and glued mine in.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:11 am 


User avatar

Joined: 23 Feb 2013
Posts: 122
Location: Boston, MA, USA
strayan wrote:
I just bought a second cube in pretty rough but working condition and glued mine in.


LOL - that's one way to do it. At least it won't slip around.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:34 pm 



Joined: 15 Aug 2017
Posts: 5
Hi, I've been following this topic off and on for years, and I was wondering if the BOM in github is current enough to work if I want to build my own board?


Citrus - any idea how much boards will be when/if you get them printed? I could vouch for two orders.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 1:28 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Dec 2013
Posts: 221
Location: Indiana
NevynPA wrote:
Hi, I've been following this topic off and on for years, and I was wondering if the BOM in github is current enough to work if I want to build my own board?


Citrus - any idea how much boards will be when/if you get them printed? I could vouch for two orders.


I'm going to assume you are talking about the HDMI/RGB DUAL board.

I'd say selling boards direct will be 75-125 and and install charge of 40-50

I'm not sure if I'll just sell boards directly. I will sell boards + install service though. Reason is that I need to come up with a way to test assembled boards first. Right now my only test method is soldering into the gamecube. Which isn't really feasible if I'm selling lots of boards, except if I'm doing the install. :wink:

I have a few ideas in mind, but nothing concrete yet.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 1:54 pm 



Joined: 15 Aug 2017
Posts: 5
citrus3000psi wrote:
NevynPA wrote:
Hi, I've been following this topic off and on for years, and I was wondering if the BOM in github is current enough to work if I want to build my own board?


Citrus - any idea how much boards will be when/if you get them printed? I could vouch for two orders.


I'd say selling boards direct will be 75-125 and and install charge of 40-50

I'm not sure if I'll just sell boards directly. I will sell boards + install service though. Reason is that I need to come up with a way to test assembled boards first. Right now my only test method is soldering into the gamecube. Which isn't really feasible if I'm selling lots of boards, except if I'm doing the install. :wink:

I have a few ideas in mind, but nothing concrete yet.


Ah, shame. I'm totally willing to do the soldering myself. I like yours better, but maybe I'll end up going with a Pluto IIx-HDMI to save a few bucks. Thanks for the reply!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 1:56 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Dec 2013
Posts: 221
Location: Indiana
NevynPA wrote:
Ah, shame. I'm totally willing to do the soldering myself. I like yours better, but maybe I'll end up going with a Pluto IIx-HDMI to save a few bucks. Thanks for the reply!


I will release the design files, so people can build there own. I'll talk to matt at VG Perfection. He may be interested in doing a run.

If you want HDMI only, I already released the necessary stuff to build your own. The HDMI only design is cheaper as they have fewer components and is smaller. I'm charging 125 to build/install the hdmi only board in the GC. I only plan on doing a handful, as I'm hand soldering these one by one. Just to recoup costs from designing these.

I think there is getting to be a lot of confusion about what product is what. So I'd like to start using this terminology for my board designs. (These are still GC-Video at heart, not trying to take any credit away from Unseen)

GCHDMI = HDMI only Board for Gamecube (viewtopic.php?p=1268419#p1268419)
GCDual = HDMI/RGB Board for Gamecube
WiiHDMI = HDMI only Board for Wii
WiiDual = HDMI/RGB only board for Wii


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:22 pm 



Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 838
Location: Ohio
citrus3000psi wrote:
NevynPA wrote:
Ah, shame. I'm totally willing to do the soldering myself. I like yours better, but maybe I'll end up going with a Pluto IIx-HDMI to save a few bucks. Thanks for the reply!


I will release the design files, so people can build there own. I'll talk to matt at VG Perfection. He may be interested in doing a run.

If you want HDMI only, I already released the necessary stuff to build your own. The HDMI only design is cheaper as they have fewer components and is smaller. I'm charging 125 to build/install the hdmi only board in the GC. I only plan on doing a handful, as I'm hand soldering these one by one. Just to recoup costs from designing these.

I think there is getting to be a lot of confusion about what product is what. So I'd like to start using this terminology for my board designs. (These are still GC-Video at heart, not trying to take any credit away from Unseen)

GCHDMI = HDMI only Board for Gamecube (viewtopic.php?p=1268419#p1268419)
GCDual = HDMI/RGB Board for Gamecube
WiiHDMI = HDMI only Board for Wii
WiiDual = HDMI/RGB only board for Wii

Will the RGB signal on the WiiDual board be able to do 480p?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:53 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Dec 2013
Posts: 221
Location: Indiana
GeneraLight wrote:
Will the RGB signal on the WiiDual board be able to do 480p?


Yes


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 4:09 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 882
Nice - so what would be the best/cleanest signal type from the board to use with my CRTs - they can take component or VGA?


Last edited by andykara2003 on Wed Aug 16, 2017 4:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 4:10 pm 



Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 838
Location: Ohio
citrus3000psi wrote:
GeneraLight wrote:
Will the RGB signal on the WiiDual board be able to do 480p?


Yes

So I can get rid of my Wii component cables? Will it be C-Sync RGB or RGBHV? I'm guessing it'll be a sharper and more accurate than YPbPr?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 4:16 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Dec 2013
Posts: 221
Location: Indiana
andykara2003 wrote:
Nice - so what would be the best/cleanest way to get an analogue signal from the board to my CRTs - they can take component or VGA?


GeneraLight wrote:
So I can get rid of my Wii component cables? Will it be C-Sync RGB or RGBHV? I'm guessing it'll be a sharper and more accurate than YPbPr?


We are kind of jumping the gun here with questions, since these are far out on the horizon. The Wii version will be just like the GC version. RGBs/RGBHV/YPbPr.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 4:26 pm 



Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 838
Location: Ohio
citrus3000psi wrote:
andykara2003 wrote:
Nice - so what would be the best/cleanest way to get an analogue signal from the board to my CRTs - they can take component or VGA?


GeneraLight wrote:
So I can get rid of my Wii component cables? Will it be C-Sync RGB or RGBHV? I'm guessing it'll be a sharper and more accurate than YPbPr?


We are kind of jumping the gun here with questions, since these are far out on the horizon. The Wii version will be just like the GC version. RGBs/RGBHV/YPbPr.

So the Wii version will have a hole for HDMI and another hole for RGBs/RGBHV? I'll be able to use YPbPr, HDMI and RGB all at the same time?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 4:26 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 882
citrus3000psi wrote:
We are kind of jumping the gun here with questions, since these are far out on the horizon. The Wii version will be just like the GC version. RGBs/RGBHV/YPbPr.

Sure, apologies :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 5:43 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Dec 2013
Posts: 221
Location: Indiana
GeneraLight wrote:
So the Wii version will have a hole for HDMI and another hole for RGBs/RGBHV? I'll be able to use YPbPr, HDMI and RGB all at the same time?


There will be a mini HDMI connector, placed in the same location as in this picture: http://i.imgur.com/3GEFzlS.jpg

The RGBs/YPbPr from the GC-Video board will be tapped into the Wii's multiout connector. You will have to cut the traces for the Wii's default YPbPr signals. Now, you are welcome to do your own thing, and wire whatever to wherever. As there will be solder pads available on the board.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 6:09 pm 



Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 838
Location: Ohio
citrus3000psi wrote:
GeneraLight wrote:
So the Wii version will have a hole for HDMI and another hole for RGBs/RGBHV? I'll be able to use YPbPr, HDMI and RGB all at the same time?


There will be a mini HDMI connector, placed in the same location as in this picture: http://i.imgur.com/3GEFzlS.jpg

The RGBs/YPbPr from the GC-Video board will be tapped into the Wii's multiout connector. You will have to cut the traces for the Wii's default YPbPr signals. Now, you are welcome to do your own thing, and wire whatever to wherever. As there will be solder pads available on the board.

Looks great! I have no idea on soldering and cutting traces, so I'll just pay you to install it when it's ready. :)

Sounds the GC-Video Board will have much better YPbPr and RGB signals than what's offered from the Wii's deafault YPbPr and RGB signals.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1109 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 33, 34, 35, 36, 37  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], doonut, Google [Bot], jayde6, Kagigod, Link83, werk91 and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group