shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Mon Apr 24, 2017 9:17 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Extron Emotia Power Supply Question
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 10:04 am 



Joined: 25 Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Hey all -

I got an Emotia II from eBay a while back that came missing a power supply. I've been searching for an affordable one that will work for a while and thought maybe this would do the trick. http://www.ebay.com/itm/190755022437?_trksid=p5197.c0.m619 What do you guys think? I know it needs a 5 pin DIN male plug which this power supply has -

According to the manual which I have saved as a pdf, the power supply is listed as 120-240 VAC, 50/60hz 1.2 A

This one on ebay is listed as Input 120-250v, 50/60hz 0.35 A , Output 2.0 A

Thanks for any help you can provide.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron Emotia Power Supply Question
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:36 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10300
Location: Germany
The PSU on eBay is just a 5V PSU. You need a Multi-voltage PSU with 5V, +12V and -12V.

And as a reminder: the Emotia 2 will *not* convert to 240p, just to 480i.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron Emotia Power Supply Question
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 4:32 pm 



Joined: 12 Sep 2009
Posts: 611
When I did my Emotia, I ended up with a non-working power supply. I cut the cord off of it and used some barrier strip to join it up to a ATX to AT Power supply adapter.

Like this one:

http://www.outletpc.com/c8264.html?utm_ ... 4AodVnYARQ

Mine had the green line tied to ground so the PSU would always start up right away, but with that one you can wire a switch to the green and black leads.

Now I just power up my Emotia with an ATX Power supply, which works out because there's usually something else nearby that needs 5 or 12v, and it can piggy back off of that PSU. Plus it's cheap if you already have a PSU laying around that you don't use.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron Emotia Power Supply Question
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 7:10 pm 



Joined: 25 Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Thank you both for your help - and I was mistaken - It's not the Emotia II I have, but rather an Emotia GX. It's been in storage forever and I just went downstairs to pull it out. I knew from memory that it wasn't just Emotia, so I was thinking it was the II and then I found a .pdf for the manual for the Emotia II online, and I was thinking that's what I had.

Thanks for the power supply tip, although i'm not handy enough to cut the cord from a 5 pin DIN and connect it to the other supply and have any idea what I was doing.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron Emotia Power Supply Question
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 9:47 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10300
Location: Germany
Have somebody else do it for you. The Emotia GX is a wonderful machine, a real shame not to use it because of a missing PSU.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron Emotia Power Supply Question
PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 4:31 am 



Joined: 05 Dec 2011
Posts: 239
Yup, the Emotia is great. I would no longer even consider playing Mega Man 9 on Wii or Third Strike Online on PS3 without running it through an Emotia first.

Running it with a computer power supply is not that difficult, I've done it many times. If you could figure out how to use a computer and get onto this forum, you can connect some wires together. Man up.

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=39950
_________________
My Analog A/V setup: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=43992

Ultimate Shmup Stick! JLF mod: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=41451


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron Emotia Power Supply Question
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:20 am 



Joined: 25 Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks for the link to the tutorial. You're right, it doesn't seem too daunting at all so I think i'll give it a try.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron Emotia Power Supply Question
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:52 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 22 Aug 2011
Posts: 436
Location: Portugal
What i need to do to my scart cable to conect my Extron Super Emotia to my CRT TV? i can connect it just fine to my philips CM8833 monitor using a 4 BNC (RGB+Sync) to scart, but using that same cable on my CRT tv i can't get no image at all.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron Emotia Power Supply Question
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:19 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10300
Location: Germany
You can put some voltage to Pin 8 to activate this particular Scart input and you put some voltage to Pin 16 to activate RGB (instead of composite) on this input. Unfortunately the voltages required are different on different TV sets. 5V to Pin 8 and from there through a 200 ohms resistor to Pin 16 is kind of a standard configuration used on many RGB cables.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron Emotia Power Supply Question
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:30 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 22 Aug 2011
Posts: 436
Location: Portugal
And what about the UMSA - Ultimate SCART Adapter? if i conect the Super Emotia to it with an 4 BNC to vga cable, and then the UMSA to my scart TV would it work?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron Emotia Power Supply Question
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:52 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10300
Location: Germany
should work as well. The Emotia's output is RGBs already, but that shouldn't matter to the UMSA.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron Emotia Power Supply Question
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 4:21 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 22 Aug 2011
Posts: 436
Location: Portugal
Thanks Fudoh, worked great.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], MSNbot Media and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group