shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Wed Aug 16, 2017 5:30 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 8:55 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1225
Location: Plymouth, Devon, UK
It's pretty annoying buying a used board and not being able to initialise it fully. Do you think there is a hidden developer code for doing so? Maybe the mame guys have found something (christ why did I bring that up). It seems completely dumb to not think about it when developing the game. How hard would a clear hiscore table option be to put in? Not that difficult if you're able to set the rest of the settings back to default.

It sucks that the only way is probably reflashing the board, how about glitching it somehow? turning it off half way through a save and corrupting the eprom data? (I can't remember if its stored in eprom, flash or nvram on CV1000).

I'd bet my sexuality theres a hidden code to do it, you can demonstrate it on mame quite easily and make it re-init as if it was a new board, surely this can be performed on real hardware too. :(

Normal boot
Image

Initialising on boot as if it was a new board
Image

Cmon tech bods, someone must know something :P


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:16 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 29 Jan 2005
Posts: 3245
Location: Phoenix
Get good enough to beat those scores.
-ud
_________________
Righteous Super Hero / Righteous Love


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:34 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1225
Location: Plymouth, Devon, UK
undamned wrote:
Get good enough to beat those scores.
-ud


Yeah, I guess :( Good luck with that kern.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 1:45 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 1863
Location: Norway
CAVE CV1000B/D boards store their score in two ways:

. In the RTC/EEPROM (RTC-9701JE)
. In the U2 FLASH chip

The simplest one is the RTC. Buy one, desolder the old one and replace it. The initialization should commence.

The other method is a bit trickier, it works on the assumption that the EEPROM has a checksum. This may be verified by modifying the NVRAM file and seeing if you get a re-initialize.

When the board powers up the EEPROM is read and checksum verified. If you at this point destroy the data stream by pulling the data line of the EEPROM to GND through a resistor you might fool the code into thinking that the EEPROM is corrupted and force a reinitialize. Pin 9 is data out, try it and tell us how it goes :D
_________________
WTB: IREM Mystic Riders PCB
http://world-of-arcades.net
The future of ST-V rests upon our work and your work


Top
 Online Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 2:17 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1225
Location: Plymouth, Devon, UK
:? Scary.

Isn't the RTC battery driven? Mind you a lot of the boards don't even have a battery so maybe not. It's a pity it's not that simple.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 2:55 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 1531
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
ImageImage
ImageImage
_________________
Truth - Compassion - Tolerance


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 5:43 pm 



Joined: 08 Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Location: Tamworth, UK
Remove battery. Short pin 9 (DO) to pin 12 or 13 (GND) and power on. Wait until EEPROM test, watch for the word "INITIALIZE" and remove the resistor.

This works, and the game will re-initialise the EEPROM.


Last edited by idc on Fri Dec 02, 2011 6:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 5:46 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1225
Location: Plymouth, Devon, UK
woo, now all I need is balls to try it :D


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 8:48 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 1863
Location: Norway
idc wrote:
Remove battery. Short pin 9 (DO) to pin 12 or 13 (GND) and power on. Wait until EEPROM test, watch for the word "INITIALIZE" and remove the resistor.

This works, and the game will re-initialise the EEPROM.


Good suggestion to remove the battery, may I be so bold to ask the suggested value of the resistor ?
_________________
WTB: IREM Mystic Riders PCB
http://world-of-arcades.net
The future of ST-V rests upon our work and your work


Top
 Online Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 9:06 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1225
Location: Plymouth, Devon, UK
You think a piece of wire would work ok too?

I think it'd be cool if someone made a plastic thing to fit over the U2 chip that had metal contacts to touch those two pins. A man can but dream.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:52 pm 



Joined: 08 Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Location: Tamworth, UK
rtw wrote:
Good suggestion to remove the battery, may I be so bold to ask the suggested value of the resistor ?


100 Ohm did it for me. :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2011 4:55 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 4514
Location: SF Bay Area
Will this work across all Cave SH3 boards or only certain ones? Checksum/initialization looks to be different between Yagawa games and IKD games.

idc wrote:
100 Ohm did it for me. :)


Which board(s) did you successfully do this on?
_________________
Arcadefever


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2011 4:56 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1225
Location: Plymouth, Devon, UK
Don't most of the yagawa SH3 have a half decent init function in the test menu? I think most you can erase scores on.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2011 4:59 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 4514
Location: SF Bay Area
Ah, you're right. It's only IKD SH3 games that lack an initialize score function.
_________________
Arcadefever


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2011 5:04 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1225
Location: Plymouth, Devon, UK
Wonder if it's all the IKD ones or theres some that do have it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2011 11:42 pm 



Joined: 08 Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Location: Tamworth, UK
Dave_K. wrote:
Will this work across all Cave SH3 boards or only certain ones? Checksum/initialization looks to be different between Yagawa games and IKD games.

Which board(s) did you successfully do this on?


This was done on Espgaluda 2, with great success and rapturous applause, in order to reset the ranking tables. Image

It should also work on Mushihime-Sama for the same purpose, although I've been unable to confirm in practice as I don't have this PCB).


Last edited by idc on Fri Sep 27, 2013 9:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 8:21 am 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 4514
Location: SF Bay Area
Mushihemesama Original scoreboard before:

Image

Mushihemesama Original scoreboard after:
Image

Thank you rtw + idc! (And to kernow for starting this thread.)

BTW: this did not re-lock ultra mode, and I also did not remove the battery.
_________________
Arcadefever


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 11:25 am 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 1863
Location: Norway
Dave_K. wrote:
BTW: this did not re-lock ultra mode, and I also did not remove the battery.


The battery is just a precaution, since it powers the RTC part of the rtc-9701 you don't want to short it.

If ultra did not re-lock I am guessing you have the 1 dot version ? Would you mind checking ?

http://www.world-of-arcades.net/Cave/Mu ... isions.htm
_________________
WTB: IREM Mystic Riders PCB
http://world-of-arcades.net
The future of ST-V rests upon our work and your work


Top
 Online Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 11:48 am 


User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1225
Location: Plymouth, Devon, UK
@davek did you use a resistor or piece of wire? I've got the datasheet for the chip but it'd sure be nice to have the actual photo from the cv1000 board labelled with the correct pins to touch. Can't say I'm not tempted. mmh.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:13 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 14 Feb 2005
Posts: 795
Location: UK
I'm tempted too, particularly on my bugfixed Mushi.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:44 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1225
Location: Plymouth, Devon, UK
:?


Last edited by kernow on Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:47 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:18 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 1863
Location: Norway
kernow wrote:
This right?


NO!

That's the wrong chip (please remove your post to avoid confusion)!

Go here: http://www.world-of-arcades.net/Cave/Ha ... rdware.htm

Look at the picture at the bottom, mouse over the device at U10 :D
_________________
WTB: IREM Mystic Riders PCB
http://world-of-arcades.net
The future of ST-V rests upon our work and your work


Top
 Online Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:27 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1225
Location: Plymouth, Devon, UK
Mouse over doesn't seem to work for me on there, but I have now found it :D sorry about that.

edit: works now.


Last edited by kernow on Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:44 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 1863
Location: Norway
Image

Or...

Image
_________________
WTB: IREM Mystic Riders PCB
http://world-of-arcades.net
The future of ST-V rests upon our work and your work


Top
 Online Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:49 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1225
Location: Plymouth, Devon, UK
It's safe enough right? no real risk of killing the board if you're careful.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 5:23 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 4514
Location: SF Bay Area
kernow wrote:
@davek did you use a resistor or piece of wire?


I used a 97 ohm precision resistor that I had laying around. US Dime used as perspective...about as big as Roosevelt's ear. :D

Image

I put one end in the Gnd pin of the missing serial connector to make it easier to focus on placing the other end on pin 9.

Image

kernow wrote:
It's safe enough right? no real risk of killing the board if you're careful.


These parts are tiny, and pin 10 is vcc, so do this mod at your own risk! But for the overly cautious I used an exacto knife to place small squares of electrical tape to try isolating pin 9.

Image

rtw wrote:
If ultra did not re-lock I am guessing you have the 1 dot version ?


Ah yes, this PCB is the bug fix version (single dot). :mrgreen:
_________________
Arcadefever


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 5:40 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 14 Feb 2005
Posts: 795
Location: UK
I have to send some stuff off to VectorGlow in the new year so I might see if he'll do this on a couple of PCBs for a few quid extra. Too scared :D


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 6:05 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1225
Location: Plymouth, Devon, UK
That serial/RJ45 connector isn't a hole on mine, just a solder plug, just tried it with some wire and it didn't work so I'll have to wait until I get a resistor I guess.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 6:39 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1225
Location: Plymouth, Devon, UK
Yay! initialised, removed the battery, and just used a thin piece of wire and taped up the other pins. woot.

Taping up the other pins to isolate the pin you want was a great idea. :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cave SH3 games that have no hiscore table erase.
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 7:37 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 23 Mar 2011
Posts: 153
Location: Capital District, NY
Used U13 and the GND point Dave_K. used and it worked on my Mushihimesama board. Used a piece of plain ol' wire.
I did lose Ultra mode though. Unlocking it again worked. I have the original no dot revision.
_________________
http://wiki.arcadeotaku.com/w/User:Korszca
http://www.youtube.com/user/Korszca


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Blair, doonut, johndp977, nmalinoski, pyrotek85 and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group