shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 5:43 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5214 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 169, 170, 171, 172, 173, 174  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 8:15 pm 



Joined: 11 Dec 2014
Posts: 274
GeneraLight wrote:
Will it ever be possible for someone to mod in Full RGB Range for the Wii U? The Wii U only outputs Limited RGB Range.

Just change your TV's black level setting.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 8:33 am 



Joined: 20 Jul 2017
Posts: 4
Guspaz wrote:
VGA converters tend to expect 640x480, and that one doesn't list 720x480, although that doesn't mean it won't work.

If you can wait, HD Retrovision's next product is expected to be a Dreamcast component cable that will support 480p.


Nice, I'll keep an eye out for that!

Xerxes3rd wrote:
I'd been thinking of trying the same approach. It should work as long as that converter only does colorspace conversion, since the Dreamcast timings are 480p timings anyway.


Yeah, the box looks almost identical to one that Fudoh linked in another thread a few years back, which is why I thought it might be a good choice. Still difficult to be sure what's inside though.

bobrocks95 wrote:
Here's the DC HDMI thread by the way: http://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=59339


Looks very interesting, thanks.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 8:58 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10504
Location: Germany
@Xerxes3rd

no, this won't help you. Since it's not a pure transcoder, it will rescale your image and it won't fully sample the DC's input. You need a real trancoder like the Audio Authority units. Or just use the OSSC instead which will directly convert to HDMI.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 10:37 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 871
I have a Metz 480p CRT that has a beautiful image but my virtually brand new consumer trinitron has whiter whites. In the settings of the Metz there's a setting called "peak white level". Could raising this a notch or two be a way of increasing the prominence of the whites? Or would that not be advisable?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 11:57 pm 



Joined: 23 Dec 2015
Posts: 159
Where can I find a solid AC adapter for my iScan? 6V 1.5A. The cheap Chinese wall warts on eBay are dirty and don't provide amperage to spec, and every time I tried one of those, it either got way too hot or had horizontal interference.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 6:49 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10504
Location: Germany
Which iScan do you have ? Many of these units run fine with 5V PSUs. You can find easily strong and solid 5V PSUs (e.g. the Adafruit 5V/10A one at $25).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 12:08 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 11 May 2015
Posts: 496
Location: America
Fudoh wrote:
limited and full range aren't used in analogue video like they are in the digital domain. When a VP uses these terms it usually refers to the 7.5 IR offset some countries used for analogue video (think Japan vs. USA). Since the usage is all over the place though you really have to check for yourself if one setting gives you better near black details..


that makes sense, with the PlayStation 2's analog signal directly connected to the scaler. the "video/limited" setting looks correct. when outputting from OSSC the "computer/full" setting is best. (at least that's what my eyeballs are telling me).

Fudoh wrote:
On the output side it doesn't matter. You can output any type of input in either full or limited range. This has to match your display, not your source. The source will be mapped accordingly. I'm strictly against using limited range RGB though. Either you're using YCbCr, then it's automatically "limited" range or you use full range RGB to provide DVI compatibility. Limited range RGB is bullshit.


I agree, it's unfortunate that so much misinformation still exists around how to properly set up videogame consoles with a TV or monitor. as most of the advice you see online and elsewhere is to always set everything to "limited" (hopefully that's changing)

andykara2003 wrote:
I have a Metz 480p CRT that has a beautiful image but my virtually brand new consumer trinitron has whiter whites. In the settings of the Metz there's a setting called "peak white level". Could raising this a notch or two be a way of increasing the prominence of the whites? Or would that not be advisable?


you should probably have a white level test pattern on screen when you adjust it, but I can't think of anything bad that would happened except you might get some clipping if you overdo it. another thing you might want to check is "color temperature" if your whites are too yellow/orange for your tastes. (again you probably need a color temperature test pattern to get the desired result). if after doing some calibration you aren't able to achieve satisfactory results it might be that the phosphors on the tube have worn down a bit, or it might just need some maintenance (like a recap). worst-case scenario one of the electron guns is dying, but you would probably see other symptoms indicating that.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 12:44 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 871
Blair wrote:
another thing you might want to check is "color temperature" if your whites are too yellow/orange for your tastes

Thanks Blair - last night I notched up the peak white just one point to be safe and reduced the red a touch which results in a cleaner looking image with purer whites. I prefer a slightly cooler look for games so I don't know why I didn't do it before!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 1:06 pm 



Joined: 23 Dec 2015
Posts: 159
Fudoh wrote:
Which iScan do you have ? Many of these units run fine with 5V PSUs. You can find easily strong and solid 5V PSUs (e.g. the Adafruit 5V/10A one at $25).

iscan Pro. Thanks


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 4:29 pm 



Joined: 27 Jul 2017
Posts: 3
I'm new to this forum and I'm really needing some help trying to connect my pc to my Extron VSC 500 to the Extron RGB 203rxi to a Sanyo Crt. I can use the VSC to Tv just fine but when I connect the 203 I get no picture and the menu is blurry. I've also tried connecting the 203 directly to the pc and to the tv but I also get the same thing. I'm using a 9800gt with Dvi to Vga adapter to the VSC then Vga to the 203 then Component out to the tv. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 9:54 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10504
Location: Germany
@accaris: 5V should work fine on the Pro.

@tthaxton1: you're connecting luma to the green/Y channel input, right ? And you're using the same BNC connector to output the signal again ?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 10:41 am 



Joined: 27 Jul 2017
Posts: 3
@tthaxton1: you're connecting luma to the green/Y channel input, right ? And you're using the same BNC connector to output the signal again ?[/quote]

I think I have it completely wrong. I was running a Vga cable from the Vsc loop through to the RGB box. Should I use a 5 BNC component to vga cable instead to connect to the rgb box? Also can all Crt tvs support the signal from the rgb box? When I connect the pc directly to the Rgb box without using the Vsc I get a very distorted picture. The tv is a 2004 model Sanyo.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 10:51 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10504
Location: Germany
On the VSC500 the BNC outputs get you the processed 15khz picture. The "VGA" output is a loop output which has the same signal as your video card outputs already. So, YES, you have to use the BNC outputs.

What I don't get though is: above you wrote that without the interface (PC -> VSC -> TV), it works for you. How's that ? Which input on your TV are using here ?

The interface is just an interface, it passes the same line frequencey as it gets. You input HD, you get HD, you input ED, you get ED, you input SD, you get SD.

You get 15khz 480i from the VSC and you can use the interface to trick your TV into thinking it's 15khz 240p instead. That's what you want, right ?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 10:59 am 



Joined: 27 Jul 2017
Posts: 3
Yes thats what I'm trying to get. When I only use the vsc I'm using Vga from the pc to vsc then component to tv and its fine. I understand now that the Rgb is only outputting the resolution from the card. I will get the bnc to component cable later and try again. Thank you for the help. I guess the resolution directly from the card is not supported.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 2:00 pm 



Joined: 26 Nov 2011
Posts: 144
What devices can interlace 240p to 480i? Little practical use in the ATSC/HDTV era, but it would've been required for live commercial terrestrial NTSC broadcasting from old consoles. I've never heard of an FCC approved 240p program that aired in the US anyway.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 2:41 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 11 May 2015
Posts: 496
Location: America
theclaw wrote:
What devices can interlace 240p to 480i? Little practical use in the ATSC/HDTV era, but it would've been required for live commercial terrestrial NTSC broadcasting from old consoles. I've never heard of an FCC approved 240p program that aired in the US anyway.


well, back when I used to record video-game intros and endings as a kid I used a VCR, I'm pretty sure those recordings convert 240p to 480i. as far as doing it in real time and in high-quality I have to imagine scan converters capable of that existed in the broadcast industry for decades. but I don't ever remember seeing a video game direct captured live during the 70's, 80's or the 90's. either it was pre-recorded onto tape (Johnny arcade/Video Power) or they just have somebody with a video camera shooting the screen over somebody's shoulder (Various News Programs/Nick arcade).

here are some vintage programs that Incorporated videogame footage

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yt4KG9ib8S4 (NUTS FOR NINTENDO special on ABC news 20/20 from 1988)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MTzyz2TgGls (Parents Upset Over New Nintendo Console - Super Nintendo - Circa 1991)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=peQKic8JNaU (Video Power With Johnny Arcade 1990)

as far as video formats go, the only time I remember seeing 240p was with VCD's and other types of digital non-standard (not DVD/mpeg2) media types. I know some game consoles could play VCDs like the Sega Saturn and Sega Dreamcast but I don't know what resolution the output was.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sat Jul 29, 2017 11:15 pm 



Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Posts: 180
Anyway to get into the service menu of a Panasonic BT-M1950Y? I need to adjust H/V Position and Size mode and can't do it enough through the regular Size/Centering menu (I know this is a curved tube, but the black margins around the edges are way too large).

...can't find the Maintenance/Service manual for this model no matter where I look.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2017 10:12 am 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 871
Does anyone know of any higher end VGA switch boxes/selectors? I only need 3 outputs (probably could get away with just 2).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2017 12:51 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2015
Posts: 1931
Location: Québec City
andykara2003 wrote:
Does anyone know of any higher end VGA switch boxes/selectors? I only need 3 outputs (probably could get away with just 2).

Extron MVX series VGA matrixes


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2017 1:17 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 871
Thanks for that - lots on ebay!

Are there also any other higher end types that are a bit smaller? Perhaps a really good, but smaller consumer unit? I only really need 2-3 inputs and one output


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2017 1:40 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 10504
Location: Germany
Both Extron and Kramer had smaller units as well. Extron has a tiny 2-port switch in the Extron MLS series. Kramer has nice 4-port units (e.g. the Kramer VP-41, or the 411DS if you want audio as well).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2017 1:45 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 871
Thanks very much for that - I'll keep an eye out for those..


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2017 3:15 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jun 2012
Posts: 205
Location: UK
andykara2003 wrote:
Does anyone know of any higher end VGA switch boxes/selectors? I only need 3 outputs (probably could get away with just 2).

Sounds like you're looking for a splitter more. If you're after a normal vga switcher I can certainly vouch for CYP CPCD-41AR. Its 4 in /1 output up to 1080p and switches audio too. I'm currently using it for component switcher without any issues. It's pricey normally, I got it from a Cash Generator store in the UK for 10£... Don't think they knew what they're selling. Extron have good ones too, some with two outputs.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2017 3:56 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 871
Damnit sorry I mistyped - I just needed 1 out, 2 in. Just found an Extron unit for £25 so all good.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2017 8:24 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 11 May 2015
Posts: 496
Location: America
andykara2003 wrote:
Damnit sorry I mistyped - I just needed 1 out, 2 in. Just found an Extron unit for £25 so all good.


I've had good luck with these Panlong 2-Port VGA Switchs, 2 In, 1 out

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00M0F4V26/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2017 9:41 pm 



Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Posts: 180
Dochartaigh wrote:
Anyway to get into the service menu of a Panasonic BT-M1950Y? I need to adjust H/V Position and Size mode and can't do it enough through the regular Size/Centering menu (I know this is a curved tube, but the black margins around the edges are way too large).

...can't find the Maintenance/Service manual for this model no matter where I look.


If this helps anybody, I bought the Service/Maintenance Manual for the Panasonic BT-M2090Y (which I believe is the UK's version of this monitor). Can anybody confirm this is the same model as the BT-M1950Y? (USA and Europe commonly have slightly different model numbers for the same exact monitor).

Here's the manual if it helps anybody else:

https://archive.org/download/PanasonicB ... Manual.pdf

Still can't get the H Space adjusted so there's much overscan on the left and right but I think this is on purpose as numerous JVC's (who made this monitor for Panasonic) seem to be this same exact way.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2017 2:27 pm 



Joined: 10 Jul 2010
Posts: 29
Is there any suggested list of caps and resistors that are commonly used in projects?

I need to get a single resistor from mouser and figure I should pick up some more stuff if I'm only ordering something for 10 cents.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 2:58 am 



Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 818
Location: Ohio
Which BVM expansion boards will allow me to display YPbPr in 480p and 480i?

BKM-41HD
BKM-42HD
BKM-48X
BKM-20D
BKM-21D
BKM-22X
BKM-24N
BKM-25P
BKM-26M
BKM-27T
BKM-28X


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 2:13 pm 



Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Posts: 180
GeneraLight wrote:
Which BVM expansion boards will allow me to display YPbPr in 480p and 480i?


Which BVM do you have? Two of mine take two different series of boards (not compatible with each other).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 5:18 pm 



Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 818
Location: Ohio
Dochartaigh wrote:
GeneraLight wrote:
Which BVM expansion boards will allow me to display YPbPr in 480p and 480i?


Which BVM do you have? Two of mine take two different series of boards (not compatible with each other).

Don't have them, but D24E1WU and D32E1WU


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5214 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 169, 170, 171, 172, 173, 174  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: doonut, gordon-creAtive, poizonous and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group