shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Thu Apr 27, 2017 2:59 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 6:53 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 773
I bought a cheap auto-selecting Kinivo HDMI switch but the thing keeps losing signal intermittently. Does anyone know of a quality HDMI switch with the same auto-switching function that's reliable?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 7:08 am 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Mar 2015
Posts: 131
Location: Netherlands
I used this one for a few years, never had an issue, auto switching works perfectly and can also override with a button or remote;

http://www.konigelectronic.com/en_us/1095293


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 9:45 am 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 773
Thanks - looks better than the one I have, although according to the Amazon reviews it seems a bit hit or miss as to whether you get a good unit. Some seem to have various problems like unexpectedly switching inputs.

It looks to be in a category above the very cheap £15-£20 boxes, but does anyone know of a decent box that's a step beyond that? i.e. a unit that is universally super reliable but comes in at under say £100?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 4:13 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Sep 2014
Posts: 58
Location: Anaheim, CA
Not really exactly what you're looking for.

I've had this 8x1 for a while now, love it. Doesn't auto select though.

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=4067


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 8:48 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 773
Nice one :) - but definitely looking for auto select.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 08, 2017 5:39 pm 



Joined: 25 Jun 2016
Posts: 21
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B005S0YNNM

And it has the option to turn auto select off in case you are playing a game with resolution changes so it won't "seek" whenever the resolution changes causing a blank screen until it detects the resolution change. It just stays on the channel.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:37 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 773
Thanks wolf - we don't seem to get these in the UK though.. Same with Scottmog's suggestion
I actually bought the one PascalP suggested but this one still cuts out here & there :/

After all this, I'd rather do without auto select & just have reliable switching. I would have thought there's be a solid unit under £100 that guarantees 100% reliability with no dropped signal?

If anyone could help further I'd be really grateful...


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:54 pm 



Joined: 14 Jan 2017
Posts: 9
I use this one currently with no problems

https://www.amazon.com/Fosmon-HD1832-In ... witch&th=1


Now a couple things you may or may not know. It is best to have an active hdmi switcher that is powered. I had so many issues with the passive one I had depending on the console because PS4 for instance doesn't output enough current through the hdmi port to power the switch and create the handshake with the tv. PS3 did however which makes it all the more annoying.

Anyways this thing has a small remote which I honestly don't use cause I can change the input by pressing a button on the switcher. The IR port sucks anyways. But it does indeed auto switch to whatever the last thing turned on was. So if you are playing PS4 and your Wii U powers on to check for updates then it will lose connection and with PS4 and switch to Wii U. That is the only inconvenience I have noticed. Otherwise if you turn you tv on and power on your console or whatever is just comes up and works.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 3:19 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 773
Thanks for that :) It looks like some switches work for some people but not others. A lot of users seem to have similar problems to mine with your one, although it obviously works well for you.

OK so I'm now definitely looking at a higher end *non* autoswitching unit - purely a manually controlled unit that's high quality and rock solid if anyone could help. Having gone through this hassle, I'm happy to pay more for reliability.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 2:56 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 23 Feb 2013
Posts: 115
Location: Boston, MA, USA
I've had zero issues with this one:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01BV ... UTF8&psc=1

It's auto-switching, but can be controlled manually as well (never had to use it that way). I have all the modern consoles connected to it, I've tried a Pi3, Analog NT, Bluray, etc. Not one issue at all. If you're still up for an auto one, give it a shot. Nothing to lose, really.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 3:09 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 1780
Location: Maryland, USA
pyroman512 wrote:
I use this one currently with no problems

https://www.amazon.com/Fosmon-HD1832-In ... witch&th=1

I have one of these. It started having intermittent loss of signal a bit over a month in.

Switched back to an older Monoprice 4x1 switch. I don't think it auto selects, but it's much more reliable so far despite being years old.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 3:21 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 773
Exactly - It looks like this is a unit, like the other ones I've seen/bought that works great for a lot of people and not with a few. Unfortunately I seem to be one of the few that are having problems with the glut of these cheapish £20-£40 Chinese built units. Perhaps my boxes are just having a problem with my setup particularly.

I had a Switch, Wii U PS4, PS3 and Xbox one connected to the Kinivo switch which blanks out every so often. Got a replacement & the same thing happened. Got the Konig mentioned above which did the same thing. I'd like to test the iogear and Monoprice units but we can't get them in the UK and shipping is expensive from the US.

I had a word with Fudoh & he directed me to the more pro units like the Kramers which are expensive new but might turn up cheaper second hand.

Does anyone know of something in my setup that might be upsetting these switcher's autoswitch function? It's odd as these cheaper units seem to work great for a lot of people..


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 3:37 pm 



Joined: 09 Apr 2012
Posts: 1819
andykara2003 wrote:
Exactly - It looks like this is a unit, like the other ones I've seen/bought that works great for a lot of people and not with a few. Unfortunately I seem to be one of the few that are having problems with the glut of these cheapish £20-£40 Chinese built units. Perhaps my boxes are just having a problem with my setup particularly.

I had a Switch, Wii U PS4, PS3 and Xbox one connected to the Kinivo switch which blanks out every so often. Got a replacement & the same thing happened. Got the Konig mentioned above which did the same thing. I'd like to test the iogear and Monoprice units but we can't get them in the UK and shipping is expensive from the US.

I had a word with Fudoh & he directed me to the more pro units like the Kramers which are expensive new but might turn up cheaper second hand.

Does anyone know of something in my setup that might be upsetting these switcher's autoswitch function? It's odd as these cheaper units seem to work great for a lot of people..

Yes. Nintendo Switch consoles upset auto HDMI switchers.

I've heard of lots of people with issues at least. Can't say if it's been fixed with firmware updates or not though.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 7:10 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 1570
Location: Canada
From reports on yesterday's firmware update, not yet.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:16 pm 



Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 581
Location: Ohio
Do digital switchers have slight image degradation like analog switchers do?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:56 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 773
ZellSF wrote:
Yes. Nintendo Switch consoles upset auto HDMI switchers.


Thank you!! Apparently the official advice is to turn off the "match TV power state" setting. It seems it doesn't work for everyone but I'll give it a try..


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 12:57 pm 



Joined: 25 Jul 2008
Posts: 890
Location: Leeds
GeneraLight wrote:
Do digital switchers have slight image degradation like analog switchers do?

No ... maybe a tiny bit signal degradation, but nothing to even think about in typical use.
(Plus the effect would be more like signal/no-signal, image found/not-found, on/off ... not degrading the actual image quality with noise etc.).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:26 pm 



Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 581
Location: Ohio
gray117 wrote:
GeneraLight wrote:
Do digital switchers have slight image degradation like analog switchers do?

No ... maybe a tiny bit signal degradation, but nothing to even think about in typical use.
(Plus the effect would be more like signal/no-signal, image found/not-found, on/off ... not degrading the actual image quality with noise etc.).

Right. Digital either works or it doesn't. No degradation.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 10:38 pm 



Joined: 09 Apr 2012
Posts: 1819
That's not entirely accurate, lots of cases where you can have digital "snow". Digital isn't either you got an image or you don't, you can definitely get an image with issues. Sometimes they might even be subtle.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:45 pm 



Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 581
Location: Ohio
ZellSF wrote:
That's not entirely accurate, lots of cases where you can have digital "snow". Digital isn't either you got an image or you don't, you can definitely get an image with issues. Sometimes they might even be subtle.

But switchers won't cause those problems for HDMI, right?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:45 am 



Joined: 09 Apr 2012
Posts: 1819
GeneraLight wrote:
ZellSF wrote:
That's not entirely accurate, lots of cases where you can have digital "snow". Digital isn't either you got an image or you don't, you can definitely get an image with issues. Sometimes they might even be subtle.

But switchers won't cause those problems for HDMI, right?

They could. Good switches shouldn't of course.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reliable auto-selecting HDMI switch?
PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 2:27 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Nov 2013
Posts: 4710
Location: EU
ZellSF wrote:
andykara2003 wrote:
... Does anyone know of something in my setup that might be upsetting these switcher's autoswitch function? ...

Yes. Nintendo Switch consoles upset auto HDMI switchers.

Is it that Switches won't let switchers switch ? Or that Switches autoswitch switchers when they shouldn't switch ?
_________________
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Extrems, gundamalpha, Kagigod, kdesktop and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group